Unity Biotechnology
- Ticker
- UBX
- Beat
- biopharma
- Size
- Public Company
- Revenue
- $0
- as of Jun 2023
- Cash
- $8.0M
- as of Mar 2025
- Burn
- $7.3M/qtr
- as of Mar 2025
- Runway
- ~1 qtr at this rate
- as of Mar 2025
- Researched · Stale
- 118 days ago
UNINVESTABLE — DEAD COMPANY. Unity dissolved (Delaware cert. filed 26 Sep 2025), delisted from Nasdaq (16 Aug 2025, now OTC Pink as UNBX), board cut 8→1, and the board itself expects ZERO distribution to shareholders. The senolytic science had a real signal (BEHOLD 48-wk durability, NEJM Evidence) but the lead asset UBX1325 missed the ASPIRE Phase 2b primary endpoint (non-inferiority met only at 88% CI vs the >90% bar) with ~$17M cash and no partner — the textbook single-asset, undercapitalised
1 mentions across our dossiers
“Competitors: the longevity-biotech cohort — Altos Labs, Retro Biosciences, Unity Biotechnology (shuttered Sep 2025), BioAge, Rubedo, Gero (Lens 3/7).”Calico · RIVAL · from Calico’s dossier
Weekly closes
No Friday close is on the record for UBX yet. The weekly job prices the covered universe; a name it cannot price is listed as missing rather than estimated.
The reported figures
Unity Biotechnology’s figures as the company reported them in its filings. Quarters are calendar quarters, so a company whose year ends in January shows each fiscal quarter under the calendar quarter it falls in. An empty slot is a quarter we hold no figure for.
Q1 ’25 · as of Mar 2025
CashDebt
Q1 ’25 · as of Mar 2025
A rising count is dilution: each existing share owns less of the company.
Latest filing: sec.gov
The Unity Biotechnology dossier
The verdict
"UNINVESTABLE — DEAD COMPANY. Unity dissolved (Delaware cert. filed 26 Sep 2025), delisted from Nasdaq (16 Aug 2025, now OTC Pink as UNBX), board cut 8→1, and the board itself expects ZERO distribution to shareholders. The senolytic science had a real signal (BEHOLD 48-wk durability, NEJM Evidence) but the lead asset UBX1325 missed the ASPIRE Phase 2b primary endpoint (non-inferiority met only at 88% CI vs the >90% bar) with ~$17M cash and no partner — the textbook single-asset, undercapitalised biotech death spiral. The only residual is a possible UBX1325 IP sale, on which the landlord holds a 25% monetisation clawback. Equity = a confirmed zero; the value here is the cautionary lesson, not a position."
Primary sources
Source documents — open to read in full
Phase A — Understand the business
Company Overview
What it was. Unity Biotechnology was the flagship, best-capitalised senolytics company — therapeutics designed to selectively eliminate senescent cells ("zombie" cells that stop dividing but secrete inflammatory factors, the SASP) to treat age-related disease. Founded ~2011 (Judith Campisi, Jan van Deursen, Nathaniel "Ned" David among the scientific founders), it IPO'd on Nasdaq in May 2018 raising $75.9M at peak longevity-hype valuation, backed by ARCH Venture Partners, Fidelity, EcoR1, 6 Dimensions and famously by Jeff Bezos and Peter Thiel as early believers.
Business model (now moot). Classic single-modality clinical-stage biotech: no product, no revenue, burning venture/IPO capital toward a binary clinical readout, with the exit being either approval+commercialisation or a pharma partnership/acquisition. Unity reached neither. There were no customers, no commercial supply chain, no recurring revenue — n/a — pre-revenue, development-stage throughout its life.
The arc, three acts:
- Act I — Osteoarthritis (the first bet, failed). Lead candidate UBX0101 (a p53/MDM2 inhibitor delivered by intra-articular knee injection). Phase 2 read out Aug 2020: no statistically significant difference vs placebo on WOMAC-A pain across any dose (183 patients, 0.5/2.0/4.0 mg). Stock collapsed; program killed; Unity "narrowed near-term focus to ophthalmology and neurology."
- Act II — Ophthalmology pivot (the second bet, the real one). UBX1325 (foselutoclax), a small-molecule Bcl-xL inhibitor delivered by intravitreal injection to clear senescent retinal vascular cells, for diabetic macular edema (DME) and wet AMD. Genuinely encouraging Phase 1 / Phase 2 (BEHOLD) data with 48-week durability presented at ARVO 2024 and a NEJM Evidence publication.
- Act III — ASPIRE miss → liquidation. The Phase 2b ASPIRE active-controlled study vs aflibercept (Eylea) missed its primary non-inferiority endpoint (May 2025), cash was ~$17M, no partner materialised → dissolution (Sep 2025).
Key contract/payment terms: none — there was never a commercial contract structure. The only economically live contract at the end is the Lease Termination Agreement (24 Sep 2025): a $3.65M cash payment to exit the South San Francisco office/lab early, lease effective end 31 Mar 2026, with a 25% clawback to the landlord on any future monetisation of Unity's assets. That clawback is the single most important term for appraising residual IP value (Lens 11).
Supply Chain
For a pre-revenue, now-dissolved biotech the "supply chain" is the R&D-to-clinic input chain, not a commercial one. Named/known stakeholders along it:
- Discovery inputs: the founding science platform (senescent-cell biology; founders Campisi/van Deursen via Buck Institute / Mayo lineage). Bcl-xL chemistry was internal.
- Drug substance/product (UBX1325): small-molecule API → intravitreal formulation. Specific CMC CDMO partners not publicly disclosed —
n/a — not disclosed. - Clinical execution: ASPIRE / BEHOLD were multi-centre retinal-clinic studies; the comparator aflibercept (Eylea, Regeneron) was sourced as active control. Clinical sites were the de-facto "distribution" of the trial.
- End "customer" (never reached): retinal specialists / DME patients, via an ophthalmic-franchise partner Unity openly said it needed but never secured ("further development of UBX1325 would benefit from a company with an existing ophthalmic franchise" ).
Chokepoint / single-source dependency that killed it: Unity itself was the single point of failure — one wholly-owned lead asset, one indication, one pivotal-ish readout, financed by a near-empty treasury with no committed partner. When ASPIRE missed, there was no second leg to stand on. That is the defining supply-chain (really, capital-supply) failure.
Competitive Advantages (moats)
Claimed moats (in life):
- First-mover + IP in senolytics — Unity held foundational senescent-cell-clearance IP and was the most clinically advanced senolytics company by stage.
- Mechanistic selectivity — UBX1325's Bcl-xL inhibition preferentially eliminated senescent retinal vascular cells while sparing healthy tissue (preclinical + clinical safety: no intraocular inflammation, RAO, endophthalmitis, or vasculitis across studies).
- Local-delivery thesis — intravitreal dosing sidestepped the systemic Bcl-xL thrombocytopenia toxicity that has dogged navitoclax-class senolytics. This was genuinely differentiated.
Why the moat did not protect the equity: clinical-stage IP is worth zero without capital to prove efficacy. Unity's "moat" was scientific, not economic — there were no switching costs, no network effects, no pricing power, because there was no product. Bargaining power was strongly negative: as a delisted micro-cap with a missed endpoint and months of RunwayHow long the cash lasts at the current rate of spending. It shortens the moment spending rises, which is why a figure taken from a quiet quarter flatters., Unity had no leverage over a potential acquirer/partner — the textbook "motivated seller" with no BATNA. The asset's selectivity story remains real and may transfer to a buyer, but it never accrued to UBX shareholders.
Verdict on moat: real science moat, non-existent economic moat. In biotech, the second is the only one that protects shareholders, and Unity never built it (no approval, no revenue, no durable balance sheet).
Segments
n/a — single development-stage asset, no revenue, no reportable segments. Unity never had product revenue to break out by line or geography. The only meaningful "segment" decomposition is by program / by phase, which is the +clinical Lens 5 below. Historical operating losses ran on R&D + G&A with zero top line across the company's entire public life.
Phase B — Measure performance (: B is reframed pipeline / catalysts / cash)
Pipeline by phase (swaps "Earnings Result")
The asset table is the company. Final state of the pipeline at wind-down:
| Program | Indication | Modality / target | Furthest phase reached | Outcome | Status now |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UBX1325 (foselutoclax) | Diabetic macular edema (DME); also explored wet AMD | Intravitreal small-molecule Bcl-xL inhibitor (senolytic) | Phase 2b (ASPIRE) | Missed primary endpoint (non-inferiority vs aflibercept met only at 88% CI on avg of wks 20+24; needed >90%). +5.5 ETDRS letters at 36 wks; favourable safety | Halted; up for partnership/sale |
| UBX1967 | (ophthalmology backup) | Molecularly distinct Bcl-xL senolytic | Preclinical | Never advanced | Shelved |
| Neurology programs | Neurodegeneration (senolytic + novel cognitive mechanisms) | Early discovery | Pre-IND / research | Never reached clinic at scale | Discontinued |
| UBX0101 (dead pre-pivot) | Osteoarthritis (knee) | Intra-articular p53/MDM2 inhibitor | Phase 2 | Failed (no separation from placebo, WOMAC-A, Aug 2020) | Killed 2020 |
The pleiotropic / delivery axis (per +clinical guidance): Unity's bet was local senolysis (intravitreal) specifically to escape the systemic thrombocytopenia that limits Bcl-xL inhibition — a real and clever de-risking of the mechanism. The probability-of-success on UBX1325 was effectively reset to "partner-dependent" after ASPIRE: the molecule has a clean safety record and a plausible efficacy signal in a CST<400µm subgroup, but no financed path to a registrational trial. PoS as a standalone Unity asset = 0 (company dissolved); PoS in a well-capitalised acquirer's hands = non-trivial but unquantified.
Earnings Calls → founder/management messaging trend (reframed: there are no live calls)
Unity stopped being a normal reporting company in mid-2025. The messaging arc across its final disclosures is the tell:
- Q4 2024 / early 2025: still positioning ASPIRE as a value-inflection readout; emphasising safety and durability.
- 5 May 2025 (the pivot release): tone flips from "advancing a pipeline" to "evaluating strategic alternatives while reducing operational cash burn"; explicit admission it needs an ophthalmic-franchise partner to continue UBX1325. Classic capitulation language.
- June–Sept 2025: the disclosures become wind-down mechanics — board reduced 8→1 (27 Jun 2025), dissolution recommended, lease terminated, certificate filed.
Recurring phrase that vanished: "extend healthspan / diseases of aging" (the founding mission) disappears entirely, replaced by "reducing operational cash burn," "strategic alternatives," "plan of complete liquidation and dissolution." The sentiment trajectory is a straight line from missionary optimism (2018) to liquidation boilerplate (2025) — about as bearish a tone-shift as a corporate communications record can show.
Catalyst calendar + mechanism comps (swaps the P/E comps table)
Catalyst calendar — fully in the past; the only forward "catalyst" is an asset sale of uncertain timing:
| Date | Event | Effect |
|---|---|---|
| Aug 2020 | UBX0101 OA Phase 2 fail | Killed lead program; pivot to eye |
| Oct 2022 | 1-for-10 reverse split | Survival/compliance move |
| 2024 (ARVO) | BEHOLD 48-wk durability + NEJM Evidence | Positive — peak of the UBX1325 story |
| 5 May 2025 | ASPIRE 36-wk: primary endpoint miss | Terminal — triggered strategic review |
| 14 Mar 2025 | Nasdaq stockholders'-equity deficiency notice (<$10M) | Listing jeopardy |
| 27 Jun 2025 | Board cut 8 → 1 director | Wind-down signal |
| 9 Jul 2025 | Nasdaq trading suspended → OTC Pink (UNBX) | Delisting begins |
| 16 Aug 2025 | Officially delisted | Off Nasdaq |
| 18 Sep 2025 | Shareholders approve liquidation (450M for / 150M against) | Dissolution authorised |
| 24 Sep 2025 | Lease Termination Agreement ($3.65M; 25% asset clawback to landlord) | Cash out the door |
| 26 Sep 2025 | Certificate of Dissolution filed (Delaware) | Company legally dissolving |
| ~31 Mar 2026 | Lease end / wind-down continues | Residual claims resolution |
Mechanism comps (by target, not by multiple — the only sound comp for a pre-revenue senolytic):
| Company | Mechanism / lead | Stage / status | Capital signal |
|---|---|---|---|
| Unity Biotechnology | Bcl-xL (intravitreal), UBX1325 | Dissolved 2025 | ~$295M raised, all burned |
| Rubedo Life Sciences | GPX4 modulator (RLS-1496), AI-discovered senolytics | Phase 1b/2a IND cleared (Sep 2025) | $40M raised 2025 |
| Cleara Biotech (NL) | FOXO4-DRI peptide senolytic | Preclinical/early | Novartis deal up to €280M (Nov 2025) |
| Life Biosciences | Multiple aging mechanisms (Sinclair-linked) | Preclinical/early | Well-funded private |
| Calico (Alphabet) | Aging biology broadly | Research → some clinical | $3B+ AbbVie partnership |
| Oisin Biotechnologies | LNP suicide-gene senolytic | Preclinical | Private |
Read: the senolytics field is alive and attracting pharma validation (Novartis/Cleara, AbbVie/Calico) and fresh venture (Rubedo). Unity, the pioneer and the only one to take a senolytic deep into Phase 2 in a real indication, is the field's cautionary casualty — proof that being first and most-advanced means nothing without a financed path through a pivotal trial. Multiples (EV/Sales, P/E, ROE): n/a and not meaningful for a pre-revenue, dissolved issuer.
Stock-Price Catalysts (>5% moves) (+ Cash / runway, the metric that actually mattered)
The >5% moves over the life of the stock cluster entirely on binary clinical/financing events:
- Aug 2020 — UBX0101 OA fail: shares in "freefall" (Fierce Biotech headline); the single biggest down-move.
- 2024 — positive BEHOLD/ARVO durability: relief rallies on the UBX1325 story.
- 5 May 2025 — ASPIRE miss + strategic review: terminal leg down.
- Jul 2025 — trading suspension / delisting: ~−11% on the closure/delisting news.
Pattern revealed: UBX was a pure clinical-binary / financing-survival stock. The market reacted to exactly two things — trial readouts and runway/listing solvency. There was no business, no earnings, no macro sensitivity beyond the biotech-funding-winter beta. This is the cleanest possible illustration of a "data-or-die" single-asset name.
Cash / runway — the real scoreboard (the +clinical metric):
- $16.9M cash, equivalents & marketable securities at 31 Mar 2025 (down from $23.2M at 31 Dec 2024) → guided "into Q4 2025" runway.
- 14 Mar 2025: Nasdaq notice — stockholders' equity below the $10M continued-listing minimum.
- Lifetime capital raised ~$294.9M across 8 rounds (IPO $75.9M + $55M Series C + $116M Series B + $80M Aug-2020 follow-on, etc.) — effectively all consumed with zero approved product.
- Expected residual distribution to shareholders: $0.
The runway-to-catalyst question — did cash reach the next value-inflection? — answers itself: no. Unity reached ASPIRE, missed, and had neither the cash nor the partner to run the registrational study that a near-miss demands.
Phase C — Judge people & books (+clinical: + Science & exclusivity)
Management
- CEO: Anirvan Ghosh, Ph.D. — neuroscientist, Biogen R&D veteran (ex-head of research), joined Unity as CEO ~2020 to drive the ophthalmology pivot. Track record: scientifically credible; oversaw the UBX1325 program that generated genuine Phase 1/2 signal — but ultimately presided over the dissolution. Terminated employment 15 May 2025, retained as part-time advisor.
- CFO/Head of Corp Dev: Lynne Sullivan — terminated 15 May 2025 → advisory. CLO/Head of Ops: Alexander Nguyen — terminated 15 May 2025 → advisory.
- Board: appointed Yehia Hashad, M.D. (EVP R&D / CMO at Bausch + Lomb) to the board and science committee in 2025 — an ophthalmology heavyweight, added far too late to change the outcome. Board reduced from 8 to 1 director on 27 Jun 2025.
Skin in the game / insider ownership: n/a (no our figures on the shelf; the registry has no CIK so Form 4The filing an insider must make within two business days of buying or selling their own company’s shares. data wasn't ingested). Founders (Ned David et al.) and ARCH had meaningful early stakes that were wiped to zero in the dissolution like all other holders.
Capital-allocation history — the indictment: raised ~$295M, made two concentrated binary bets (OA, then DME), and returned nothing to shareholders. Multiple restructurings (Feb 2022; −29% headcount May 2023; total RIF 2025) bought time but never fixed the core problem: insufficient capital for a single high-cost ophthalmic asset in a closed funding window. ROE/ROIC: deeply, persistently negative (perpetual operating losses, no revenue) — directionally documented, exact figures n/a.
Founder vs professional manager: began founder-scientist-driven (mission: "extend healthspan"); the pivot era was run by a professional R&D executive (Ghosh). Neither archetype could overcome the structural problem. The honest read: management was scientifically competent but strategically over-concentrated and under-financed for the bet they were making — and arguably should have sought a partner or merger from a position of more strength (post-BEHOLD, pre-ASPIRE) rather than after the miss.
Forensic Red Flags
Accounting forensics: Unity's books were the simple, brutal kind — no revenue, large recurring operating losses, a shrinking cash balance, escalating going-concern risk. There is no revenue-recognition, channel-stuffing, or receivables/inventory game to forensically dissect because there was nothing to recognise. The "red flag" was never accounting aggressiveness; it was solvency. SBC and non-GAAP adjustments existed as in any biotech but are immaterial against the central fact of the cash burn. Going-concern doubt was effectively confirmed by the dissolution itself.
Regulatory findings (required sub-section).
- SEC enforcement (EDGAR LR/AAER): the on-disk
regulatory/regulatory-findings.mdreports 0 SEC findings — but note the file's stated reason is wrong: it claims "Unity has no CIK… not required to file with the SEC." In fact Unity was a full SEC registrant, CIK 0001463361 (the script simply failed to resolve the CIK; the registry storescik: null). The substantive conclusion is nonetheless almost certainly correct: no SEC Litigation Releases or AAERs naming Unity Biotechnology were surfaced via the file or via web search. - Non-SEC enforcement: web search (
"Unity Biotechnology" (FTC OR DOJ OR FDA OR consent decree OR settlement OR fine OR penalty) enforcement) surfaced no material enforcement actions, fines, or consent decrees. The FDA interactions were ordinary IND/clinical-trial matters, not enforcement. - 10-K Item 3 (Legal Proceedings): the most recent Form 10-KA company’s audited annual report to the US regulator. The most complete thing it publishes. is not on the shelf (
filings=0, CIK unresolved), so the company's own legal-proceedings disclosure could not be quoted. From public coverage, no material ongoing litigation beyond ordinary wind-down/lease matters was reported; the Lease Termination Agreement ($3.65M, 25% asset clawback) is a contractual settlement, not litigation. - Conclusion: No material regulatory or legal enforcement findings — verified via the on-disk regulatory file (0 SEC LR/AAER), web search (FTC/DOJ/FDA/consent-decree), and public coverage as of 2026-06-29. The material non-clinical liability is the lease obligation and dissolution claims waterfall, which is exactly what consumes any residual value.
Science & exclusivity (+clinical add to Phase C)
- Mechanism validation: strong on biology, ambiguous on clinical efficacy. Senescent-cell clearance is a real, peer-reviewed pathway (founders Campisi/van Deursen are the field's leading scientists); UBX1325's Bcl-xL selectivity and intravitreal-delivery safety were validated in Phase 1, BEHOLD (48-wk durability), and a NEJM Evidence publication. The efficacy question is where it broke — ASPIRE showed a signal but not statistical non-inferiority to the standard of care.
- IP estate / exclusivity: foundational senolytics and Bcl-xL-ophthalmology IP exists and is the only saleable residual asset. But its value to a buyer is encumbered by the landlord's 25% monetisation clawback and discounted by the failed pivotal readout.
- Payer/reimbursement path: never reached —
n/a, no approval.
Phase D — Project & stress-test (+clinical: rNPV / residual-value, not EPS)
Residual value / rNPV (swaps "Forward Projection / EPS")
There is no forward EPS to model — the company is dissolving. The only valuation question is residual recovery to equity, and the answer is essentially zero.
Liquidation waterfall (qualitative, the inputs are public; exact reserve figures n/a):
- Cash at dissolution (a few $M, post the ~$17M Mar-2025 balance net of H1-2025 burn).
- Less: taxes, professional/wind-down fees, insurance run-off, $3.65M lease termination, and dissolution claims reserves (Delaware requires reserving for known + potential claims for up to 3 years).
- Less/plus: any proceeds from a UBX1325 IP sale, of which the landlord takes 25% before equity sees a cent.
- Residual to common: the board's own stated expectation is that there will be NO amounts available for distribution to stockholders.
rNPV of the lead asset, hypothetically (for a buyer, not for UBX holders): a clean-safety, possibly-efficacious intravitreal senolytic for DME could carry a modest risk-adjusted value in a partner's hands — but Phase 2b-miss + need for a full registrational program + competitive anti-VEGF/Eylea-biosimilar pricing pressure put PoS low and required investment high. Any sale price is speculative and, net of the 25% clawback and claims waterfall, does not change the ~$0 equity recovery.
Forecast log (Brier): not logged. Per the --watchlist rule, no our model create in the breadth loop — and there is no live binary readout to forecast (the company is dissolving). The only forward-resolvable proposition, "UBX shareholders receive a liquidating distribution > $0," resolves almost certainly NO per the board's own guidance; not worth a tracked forecast.
Bull vs Bear
Bull case (entirely retrospective / for the asset, not the equity): UBX1325 is a mechanistically novel, clean-safety, locally-delivered senolytic with a real efficacy signal in DME (+5.5 letters, CST<400µm subgroup outperformance) and 48-week durability that could meaningfully reduce intravitreal injection burden vs anti-VEGF — if a deep-pocketed ophthalmology player (think Regeneron, Roche/Genentech, Bausch + Lomb, AbbVie/Allergan) buys the IP and funds a registrational trial. The senolytics field is being validated by pharma right now (Novartis/Cleara €280M; AbbVie/Calico $3B+). The science was never the problem.
Bear case (the reality): the equity is already a zero. Three permanent impairments, all realised: (1) endpoint miss on the only pivotal-grade asset; (2) capital exhaustion in a closed biotech funding window; (3) legal dissolution with delisting and no expected shareholder distribution. There is no multiple too high or too low — the enterprise is being liquidated.
Pre-mortem (already happened): 18 months ago the thesis was "ASPIRE confirms non-inferiority, Unity partners UBX1325 from strength." Instead: ASPIRE missed the statistical bar by a whisker, Unity had ~$17M and no partner, the board chose dissolution over a dilutive death-spiral raise, and shareholders were zeroed. The autopsy is filed.
Contrarian view of what the market is "refusing to see": the only contrarian angle left is not about UBX equity (which is correctly priced at ~zero) but about the field: the market may be over-extrapolating Unity's failure to "senolytics don't work." That's likely wrong — Unity failed on capital and a single statistical endpoint, not on a refutation of senescent-cell biology. The lesson for MenFem's biopharma coverage is "single-asset, undercapitalised, closed-window = death, regardless of platform quality" — and to look at the financed senolytics names (Rubedo, Cleara/Novartis) for any forward exposure, never the pioneer's corpse.
Devil's Advocate (short-seller)
Short-seller view — but the short is already over: there is nothing left to short; the equity has gone to OTC-shell status and the structural break is complete. The dismantling, retrospectively: the way Unity "made money" was selling equity against clinical hope — and that machine breaks the instant a readout misses with an empty treasury and no partner. Revenue concentration was 100% on one unapproved asset; the moat was scientific, not economic, so it protected nothing. The most dangerous competitor was never another senolytics company — it was standard-of-care anti-VEGF (Eylea/Lucentis + biosimilars), which set a non-inferiority bar UBX1325 couldn't clear, in a market about to get cheaper. The worst "capital-allocation move" was structural rather than fraudulent: betting ~$295M of cumulative capital on a concentrated single-asset path without securing a partner from strength. The single scenario that permanently impaired the business — endpoint miss + no runway + no partner — was always the dominant risk, and it is exactly what occurred. Plausibility, in hindsight: 100%.
Management Questions (reframed as wind-down / post-mortem questions, ordered by information value)
Most relevant to a buyer of the IP or a forensic observer (the board is now ~1 director + advisors):
- What is the precise status and asking price of the UBX1325 IP, and is any party in diligence? (highest info value — the only residual.)
- How does the 25% landlord clawback apply across different monetisation structures (outright sale vs licence vs milestone deal)?
- What are the total expected dissolution claims and reserves, and the resulting (near-certain $0) range of distributable assets?
- Given BEHOLD's 48-wk durability, why was ASPIRE powered/designed such that a near-miss (88% vs >90% CI) became terminal rather than a basis for a confirmatory study?
- Was a partnership or merger seriously pursued before the ASPIRE readout (from strength), and if so why did it fail?
- What is the disposition of UBX1967 and the neurology IP — abandoned, or part of any asset package?
- What going-concern / dilution alternatives (PIPE, royalty deal, reverse merger) were evaluated and rejected before choosing dissolution?
- What are the survival-of-claims obligations under Delaware dissolution, and the timeline to final wind-up?
- Are there outstanding clinical or safety obligations to ASPIRE/BEHOLD trial participants?
- What directors'-and-officers' / indemnification exposures persist through the wind-down?
- Were there acquisition approaches Unity declined at higher valuations earlier in the pivot era?
- What is the patent-maintenance status of the core senolytics estate during dissolution (are key filings being kept alive for a buyer)?
- How were advisory-role compensation arrangements for the departed C-suite structured against shareholder interests?
- What lessons did the board draw about capital-strategy timing in a funding winter?
- Is there any scenario in which UNBX shell has reverse-merger value separate from the IP?
Company details
| Industry | Biopharma |
| Size | Public Company |
| Website | Visit Unity Biotechnology |
Others in biopharma
5 namesWhere Unity Biotechnology sits against the other names we cover on this beat. Each line is that company’s verdict, not a summary of it.
Eli Lilly
LLYThe machine kept accelerating and the stock barely moved.
Cash $8.9B
Equillium, Inc.
EQThe science got better and the share structure got worse
Cash $57.2M · Runway ~3.4yr at this rate
Viking Therapeutics
VKTXThe burn peaked, the science advanced, and the board responded by authorizing a $500M buyback it cannot fund while signing a new ATM to sell the same…
Cash $502M · Runway ~1.0yr at this rate
Zealand Pharma
ZEAL.COA de-risked balance sheet ($2.3B cash, two partnered Phase-3 obesity assets) wrapped around a lead drug the market has already judged "undifferentiate…
Roche
ROG.SWCheapest of the EU big-three on a real ~36% core margin and a 39-year dividend record, priced as if the Ocrevus 2028/29 cliff has no bridge