This research is 72 days old. No newer filing has landed, but check the primary sources before acting on a number.
World's first commercial invasive BCI and the first BCI company to file a public listing — but it's a profitable-instinct EEG hardware vendor wearing a moonshot's valuation; the 4bn-yuan mark is paid for the NEO halo, not the Rmb108m EEG P&L, and NEO did zero revenue. WATCHING into the STAR Market print; the trade is the IPO mispricing, not the science.
Research
The Neuracle dossier
Researched June 30, 2026
The verdict
World's first commercial invasive BCI and the first BCI company to file a public listing — but it's a profitable-instinct EEG hardware vendor wearing a moonshot's valuation; the 4bn-yuan mark is paid for the NEO halo, not the Rmb108m EEG P&L, and NEO did zero revenue. WATCHING into the STAR Market print; the trade is the IPO mispricing, not the science.
Full research
Phase A — Understand the business
Company Overview
NeuraCle is, in plain terms, a 15-year-old research-and-medical EEG hardware company that has bolted a world-first implantable-BCI moonshot onto the top of a real but small instruments business. Two layers, and conflating them is the single most common analytical error on this name:
The business that pays the bills (≈100% of revenue): research-grade and medical-grade electroencephalography (EEG), evoked-potential, and transcranial-stimulation systems sold to hospitals and universities. 32–128-channel wired/wireless amplifiers; clients include Tsinghua, the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Shanghai Jiao Tong, and historically UCSD. NeuraCle held >30% of China's BCI-research instrument market as of 2018. This is a normal medical-device vendor: recurring institutional buyers, hardware + software + service.
The business that sets the valuation (0% of revenue so far):NEO, a minimally-invasive implantable BCI for hand-function restoration in cervical spinal-cord-injury (SCI) quadriplegics — the first invasive BCI anywhere in the world cleared for commercial sale (China NMPA, 2026-03-13).
Customers / contract structure: EEG side = hospitals + research institutions, transactional capital-equipment sales, no take-or-pay, low concentration but small absolute size. NEO side = a brand-new, reimbursed-procedure model: implant + cranial transmitter + pneumatic glove + rehab, billed as an episode of care against a freshly-created insurance code (see Lens 5/11).
Suppliers/competitors: see Lens 2/3. The third product line — minimally-invasive implants for drug-resistant epilepsy and neuro-rehab — is the bridge technology between the EEG legacy and NEO.
Supply Chain
Map: silicon & passives → electrode/encapsulation fab → NeuraCle (system integration + decoding software) → implanting hospital → SCI patient (+ pneumatic glove OEM). Named nodes where sourceable:
Upstream — neural-signal chipset & ADC front-ends: not publicly disclosed by vendor; NEO's value-add is the epidural electrode array (8 channels) + skull-mounted wireless transmitter. The deliberately low channel count (vs Neuralink's >1,000) means NEO is far less dependent on bleeding-edge semiconductor supply than penetrating-array peers — a genuine, underrated supply-chain advantage in an export-controlled environment.
Co-development partner (the real "supplier" of the IP):Tsinghua University neural-engineering group — NEO is a Tsinghua-NeuraCle joint development; the academic anchor is widely reported as Tsinghua Prof. Hong Bo (洪波)'s lab, with first-in-human surgery at Xuanwu Hospital, Beijing (Oct 2023) and second at Tiantan / Temple of Heaven Hospital (Dec 2023).
Clinical channel: the multicenter confirmatory trial ran across Chinese tertiary hospitals; Beijing classified the procedure Class-A insurance at 4 designated hospitals. The implanting-hospital network IS the distribution chain for NEO.
Downstream effector:pneumatic / soft robotic glove translates decoded intent to grasp — a separable hardware component (likely third-party or in-house OEM; not individually named in English sources → n/a).
Chokepoint: the binding constraint is not components — it's trained neurosurgical implant sites + reimbursement coverage breadth, i.e. a clinical-throughput chokepoint, not a silicon one. That inverts the usual frontier-hardware risk profile.
Competitive Advantages (moats)
Regulatory first-mover (the headline moat, and a real one): NEO is the only invasive BCI on Earth approved for commercial sale. In medical devices, the first NMPA Class-III approval in a brand-new category buys a multi-year clinical-evidence and reimbursement-code head start — payers, hospitals, and KOLs anchor on the first cleared device. China's NHSA even created the pricing/insurance category in March 2025, before any product existed to fill it — NeuraCle walked into a pre-built reimbursement lane.
"Strategically low-tech" design as a moat (contrarian framing): the epidural (on-dura, non-penetrating) architecture is deliberately lower-bandwidth than Neuralink/Synchron. That trades signal resolution for lower haemorrhage/glial-scarring risk and better long-term signal stability — which is precisely what a regulator and a reimbursement system reward first. The moat isn't "best electrodes"; it's "first electrodes a health system will actually pay for."
Installed EEG base / academic embeddedness: 15 years and >30% research-market share (2018) inside exactly the institutions that run BCI trials = a distribution + credibility flywheel peers lack.
State tailwind: BCI is named in China's 14th/15th Five-Year-Plan priority-industry list; explicit policy + funding support.
Bargaining power: weak over upstream component vendors (small buyer), strong-and-growing over hospitals for NEO (sole approved supplier), weak over patients/payers (price-capped, see Lens 5). Durability test: the approval moat is real but time-boxed — NeuroXess, StairMed, and state-backed NeuCyber are 1–3 years behind with higher-bandwidth systems (Lens 13). The moat is a head start, not a fortress.
Segments
No our figures exists (research_layer: unavailable) — segment view is /, prospectus-derived:
Revenue is ~100% non-invasive EEG / neuro-instruments across the reporting period; NEO (invasive) contributed Rmb 0 through end-2025.
Within non-invasive, the split is research-grade EEG (universities/CAS) vs medical-grade EEG (hospital epilepsy/tumour/CVD monitoring) — the prospectus does not break the two out in English-language coverage → n/a.
Geography: overwhelmingly domestic China, with historical research-instrument exports (e.g. UCSD) immaterial to the P&L → n/a on a precise geo split.
Trend (the analytically important bit): revenue is non-monotonic — Rmb 75.21m (2023) → Rmb 65.97m (2024, −12% YoY) → Rmb 108m (2025, +64% YoY). The 2024 decline matters: it says the legacy EEG business is mature/lumpy, not a secular grower, and the 2025 spike likely rides NEO-driven brand halo + pre-IPO commercial push rather than a structurally re-accelerating instruments line. Anyone underwriting "64% grower" off one year is mis-reading a cyclical instruments business.
Phase B — Measure performance (+private overlay: Funding/valuation, cap table, traction)
Tsinghua Holdings Capital (lead); Zhongguancun Dev Sail/Frontier Funds, Baidu Ventures, Cowin
Series B
2021-03
"over Rmb 100m" ("过亿元")
multi-investor
Series C
2022-12
"several hundred million Rmb" (数亿元)
Songhe Capital 松禾资本 (lead); Sequoia China + prior holders following
(later/pre-IPO)
—
—
post-money ≈ Rmb 4.0bn at latest round
Cumulative external funding: reported variously as ">Rmb 100m across three rounds" (older count) and "$103m / 23 investors" (PitchBook-style aggregate) — the discrepancy is rounds-counted vs total-raised; the $103m ≈ Rmb 750m all-in figure is the more complete number. Treat exact cumulative as ~Rmb 0.7–1.0bn `` given the 数亿元 C-round + pre-IPO top-ups.
The headline financial fact:2025 revenue Rmb 108m (~$15–16m); cumulative net losses ~Rmb 328m (2023–25); "unrecovered losses" Rmb 467m at end-2025. The company is deeply loss-making and burning — normal for the stage, but it means the IPO is a survival-and-scale raise, not a victory lap.
Burn signal: raising Rmb 2.5bn = >23× current annual revenue tells you the model is "fund a decade of R&D off the public market," not "harvest a profitable device."
No earnings calls (private). Substitute = founder/management public posture and how the narrative has shifted:
The consistent, disciplined message: NEO is "minimally invasive," "safe," "first to commercial use" — they lean into the regulatory/safety story, not a Musk-style capability flex. The recurring frame in Chinese coverage is the "low-tech path to a first". This is on-brand for a medical-device company courting regulators and a STAR Market audience.
Tone shift over time: 2021–22 funding-round language = "platform technology / industrialization of minimally-invasive BCI" (clinical-stage framing) → 2026 = "world's first, reimbursed, listing" (commercial + capital-markets framing). The narrative has matured from science to scale — appropriate, but it raises the bar the numbers must eventually clear.
A telling humility note from the broader Chinese-BCI cohort (and implicitly NeuraCle's positioning): state-backed peers publicly concede they "trail Neuralink by ~3 years" on raw capability — NeuraCle's whole pitch is that time-to-approval beat time-to-best-tech.
Cap Table & Secondary Marks (swaps "Comps")
Syndicate quality (the IPO-proximity tell):Tsinghua Holdings (institutional/strategic anchor), Sequoia China, Songhe Capital, Baidu Ventures, Cowin, plus China Merchants fund references. This is a credible, partly state-adjacent, partly tier-1-VC book — exactly the syndicate that gets a STAR Market deal through. No disclosed crossover-fund (Fidelity/T. Rowe/Coatue) entry — consistent with a China-domestic listing rather than a U.S. IPO.
Founders: Xu Honglai (PhD BME) + Huang Xiaoshan (BSc BME); ownership percentages not disclosed in English sources → n/a. Founder + Tsinghua-Holdings control is the presumptive structure.
Valuation multiples (EV/Sales etc.): n/a for private peers; for NeuraCle, a ~Rmb4bn mark on Rmb108m revenue ≈ ~37× trailing sales on a zero-margin-product business, which only makes sense as an option on NEO, not a multiple on the EEG P&L.
No stock yet; the value-step events (each materially re-rated the private mark or the narrative):
Oct 2023 — first-in-human NEO implant (Xuanwu Hospital).
Dec 2022 — Rmb several-hundred-million C-round (Songhe lead).
Jul 2024 — first peer-reviewed-grade result (medRxiv preprint, C4 SCI grasp recovery).
2026-03-13 — NMPA commercial approval (the franchise-defining event).
2026-03-22 / 03-24 — insurance code assigned / procurement listing (reimbursement unlocked, days after approval).
2026-06-11 — STAR Market IPO application accepted (becomes the world's first listed BCI co. if it clears).
Traction & Unit Economics (+private add)
Installed NEO base: 32 patients implanted by end-2025; 36 total implant procedures across the program since Oct 2023 (4 feasibility + 32 confirmatory), 18-month follow-up, no serious device-related adverse events, all patients achieved home-based brain-controlled grasp. Flagship case Dong Hui regained finger control / legible handwriting after ~11 months.
Episode economics (early, ``): clinical cost Rmb 300k–500k per case (~$44k–74k); Shanghai municipal insurance covers 30%, capped at Rmb 150k ($22k); patient out-of-pocket Rmb 100k–300k+. Gross margin on NEO: n/a. EEG-line gross margin: n/a (prospectus not surfaced in English).
Read: 32 implants × high-touch surgery = revenue rounding-to-zero in 2025 (consistent with the "Rmb 0 invasive revenue" disclosure — most/all were trial, not commercial sales). The unit economics question — can NEO clear a positive contribution margin at a price patients can afford after a 30% cap — is the unanswered commercial question.
Phase C — Judge people & books
Management
Founders:Xu Honglai (徐弘垲) — PhD, Tsinghua biomedical engineering; Huang Xiaoshan (黄肖山) — BME, Tsinghua; co-founded 2011 out of the Tsinghua Neural Engineering Lab. Public sources alternately tag each as "founder/CEO" — the CEO of record in recent profiles is Huang Xiaoshan, with Xu as scientific co-founder; treat as a founder duo.
Track record: built a >30%-share research-EEG business from scratch over a decade and then delivered a genuine world-first regulatory milestone — that is a real, quantified, hard-to-fake accomplishment (regulators, not press releases, validated it). Founder archetype, deeply technical, Tsinghua-networked — the right profile for a long-horizon deep-tech medical company.
Capital allocation: patient, staged (A→B→C over 2019–22, then approval-then-IPO). 15 years to first commercial approval signals discipline and the brutal time-to-revenue of this field. No evidence of value-destructive M&A or promotional behaviour in English sources.
Skin in the game: founder + Tsinghua Holdings control presumed; exact insider ownership n/a.
Red flags (governance): the usual China-listing items to verify at the prospectus — related-party flows with Tsinghua/Tsinghua Holdings (founder-affiliate + investor + IP co-developer is a related-party triangle worth scrutiny), and the standard VIE/dual-entity structure across the Shanghai/Changzhou/Medical shells. None alleged; flagged for diligence.
Forensic Red Flags
No filings on the shelf (research_layer: unavailable) — this is ``/prospectus-derived and explicitly unaudited per English sources:
Revenue quality: the 2024 revenue decline (−12%) then 2025 +64% rebound is the first thing a forensic analyst flags — verify the 2025 jump isn't channel-stuffing/pull-forward ahead of the IPO. EEG instrument sales are lumpy and capital-budget-driven; one big year ≠ a trend.
Losses vs revenue:cumulative losses ~Rmb 328m on ~Rmb 250m of three-year revenue = the company has lost more than it has sold. "Unrecovered losses" of Rmb 467m must be cleared before dividends — standard STAR Market disclosure, but it underlines that profitability is years away.
NEO revenue recognition (forward risk): as commercial NEO sales begin, watch how episode revenue, the glove/hardware, and rehab services are recognized, and how reimbursement receivables from provincial insurers age. None of this exists yet → the cleaner the early disclosure, the better.
R&D capitalization: Rmb 1.54bn of the raise is earmarked R&D; watch whether development costs get capitalized vs expensed to flatter losses post-listing.
SBC / dilution: pre-IPO option pools and the listing DilutionIssuing new shares, so each existing share owns a smaller slice of the same company. are not quantified in English sources → n/a.
Regulatory findings (required). Per regulatory/regulatory-findings.md (generated 2026-06-30): NeuraCle has no SEC CIK; zero EDGAR Litigation Releases / AAERs are possible or found. Non-SEC web search ("Neuracle" (FDA OR DOJ OR FTC OR consent decree OR penalty)): no adverse enforcement, fine, recall, or consent decree surfaced — to the contrary, the only "regulatory" news is affirmative: NMPA approval (2026-03-13), NHSA insurance-code assignment, and provincial procurement listing. No Form 10-KA company’s audited annual report to the US regulator. The most complete thing it publishes. Item 3 exists (no U.S. filer). Conclusion: no material adverse regulatory or legal findings — verified via SEC EDGAR EFTS (LR/AAER, N/A-no-CIK) and web search as of 2026-06-30. Caveat: a Chinese-language prospectus litigation/contingencies section was not machine-read; flag for human diligence.
Stage:S-1-equivalent FILED and ACCEPTED — STAR Market application accepted 2026-06-11, CITIC Securities sponsor. On the SKILL's 1–5 readiness scale this is a 5 (IPO imminent / filing live) — the most IPO-proximate name a +private dossier can describe. From listing-guidance (Feb) to acceptance took ~4 months, an unusually fast cadence reflecting state priority.
Raise / use of proceeds:Rmb 2.5bn (~$345–370m) — Rmb 1.54bn R&D / Rmb 410m manufacturing capacity / Rmb 550m working capital.
Milestones that gate the listing → first trade: (1) SSE/CSRC review rounds + inquiry letters (where the revenue-quality and related-party questions get tested); (2) registration; (3) pricing — the contested step, since a ~Rmb4bn private mark on a zero-NEO-revenue P&L will be stress-tested by the STAR Market's profitability/forecast scrutiny; (4) first trade → world's first publicly-listed BCI company.
Estimated window: STAR reviews typically run ~6–12 months post-acceptance; absent a hitch, a late-2026 / H1-2027 listing is the base case.
The base "forecast" that matters here is binary, not an EPS line:Does NEO convert from 32 trial implants to a self-sustaining reimbursed-commercial ramp within ~24 months of approval? Lean: NEO commercial revenue is immaterial (<Rmb 50m) through FY2026 and the EEG line stays the whole P&L — i.e., the listing is underwritten on optionality, and the first 1–2 post-IPO prints will disappoint anyone expecting NEO to inflect quickly. (No our model create — unattended --watchlist run; logged as a watch-item only.)
Write-back: NeuraCle is absent from research/private-watch.json — recommend adding it at readiness 5, catalyst "STAR Market IPO (filed 2026-06-11)," dossier = this file so our model ranks it as the most tradeable BCI private. (Not edited in this run per wave boundaries.)
Bull vs Bear
Bull. NeuraCle owns the only commercial-approved invasive BCI on the planet in the largest single neuro-rehab patient pool on the planet (China's SCI population), walked into a pre-built reimbursement category, has state policy explicitly behind the sector, and is about to become the only way to buy listed pure-play BCI equity — a scarcity asset that index/thematic flows will chase. The epidural "good-enough + safe + cheap-ish" design is exactly the wedge a health system adopts first; first approval compounds into evidence, KOL, and payer lock-in while penetrating-array rivals are still in trials. Optionality on epilepsy, depression, and broader neuro indications sits on top, all leveraging the same platform + the embedded EEG channel.
Bear. Strip the halo and you're paying ~37× sales for a lumpy, sub-$20m, occasionally-shrinking EEG instruments business whose moonshot earned exactly zero revenue, has 32 patients, and loses more than it sells. The bull case rests on a commercialization ramp that has not started and faces a brutal funnel: tiny eligible population (SCI, 18–60, residual arm function), Rmb 300–500k all-in cost with only ~30% capped reimbursement (huge out-of-pocket → demand-throttled), few trained implant centers, and higher-bandwidth domestic rivals (StairMed Rmb1.1bn-funded, NeuroXess, state-backed NeuCyber) 1–3 years behind with arguably better long-run tech. The "world-first" is a deliberately-lower-tech device; if outcomes plateau at "assisted grasp" while penetrating arrays restore richer function, NeuraCle's first-mover lane gets leapfrogged.
Pre-mortem (18 months out, thesis broke): the STAR listing priced near ~Rmb4bn, NEO commercial uptake stalled at low-double-digit implants/year on affordability + center bottlenecks, FY26/27 prints showed the EEG line flat-to-down with NEO still ~zero, a better-funded rival posted superior trial data, and the stock de-rated 50–70% as the "first listed BCI" novelty premium bled out. The science worked; the business model didn't clear its own cost.
Are multiples too high? On the legacy P&L, unambiguously yes. The mark is an all-or-nothing option on NEO's reimbursed ramp, not a valuation — appropriate to price as an option, dangerous to own as a compounder.
Contrarian view (what the market is refusing to see): the bullish tape treats "world's first" as a technology win; it is really a regulatory + reimbursement win on modest technology — which is more durable near-term (payers reward it) but less durable long-term (rivals can match modest hardware and then exceed it). The under-priced risk is not that NEO fails clinically; it's that NEO succeeds clinically and still can't clear a viable contribution margin at a price Chinese patients can pay after the cap.
Devil's Advocate (short-seller)
What structurally breaks the model: the device is expensive, the indication is narrow, the reimbursement is capped, and the implant footprint is tiny — a product can be a scientific landmark and a commercially uneconomic one simultaneously. Revenue today is 100% concentrated in a flat EEG instruments line; if that's the real business, ~Rmb4bn is a 3–4× over-valuation.
Revenue concentration / shift: all eggs in (a) a mature EEG line that already shrank in 2024, and (b) a single just-approved device with one indication. Any wobble in either leaves nothing.
Why the moat is weaker than bulls think: the moat is a time-boxed regulatory head start on a low-bandwidth design, not defensible IP on best-in-class electrodes. NeuCyber (state-backed), StairMed (Rmb1.1bn), NeuroXess are the dangerous trio — better-funded and/or higher-channel; the most dangerous is state-backed NeuCyber, because in China a government-favored champion can out-fund and out-policy a private first-mover.
Capital allocation / governance flags: the Tsinghua-Holdings-as-investor + Tsinghua-as-IP-codeveloper + founders-from-Tsinghua triangle is a related-party knot; the multi-shell (Shanghai/Changzhou/Medical) structure wants scrutiny; the 2025 +64% revenue jump straight into an IPO is exactly the pattern shorts probe for pull-forward.
What must hold for the mark: that NEO ramps to a real reimbursed commercial business within ~2–3 yearsand that NeuraCle stays ahead of better-funded rivals. If growth disappoints 20–30%, the option-value collapses to roughly the EEG line's worth (~Rmb 1–1.5bn ``), implying 50%+ downside from the private mark.
Single permanent-impairment scenario: a serious adverse event (infection, hardware failure, signal loss) in a commercial NEO patient, or a competitor's penetrating array clearing approval with markedly better function — either could strand NeuraCle as the "first but obsolete" device. Plausibility: low-to-moderate near-term, rising with time.
Management Questions (ordered by information value)
NEO did zero revenue in 2025 on 32 implants — what is the monthly commercial implant run-rate since the March approval, and what's the realistic FY2026 NEO revenue?
At Rmb 300–500k all-in with ~30% capped reimbursement, what is NEO's gross/contribution margin per case, and at what annual volume does it break even?
How many hospitals are trained and credentialed to implant NEO today, and what's the realistic site-expansion cadence — the true throughput ceiling?
The EEG instruments line declined in 2024 then jumped 64% in 2025 — decompose that: how much is durable demand vs. pre-IPO pull-forward?
What's the eligible-patient funnel (SCI, 18–60, residual arm function, can afford out-of-pocket) you actually address in China, in numbers?
Walk through every related-party arrangement with Tsinghua / Tsinghua Holdings — IP licensing, royalties, equity, board — and the arm's-length terms.
Cash runway at current burn pre-IPO, and exactly how the Rmb 1.54bn R&D / 410m capacity / 550m working-capital tranches phase out.
How do you stay ahead of higher-channel rivals (StairMed, NeuroXess, state-backed NeuCyber) when your epidural design is deliberately lower-bandwidth?
What's the next indication (epilepsy? depression?), its timeline to approval, and how much it leverages the existing platform vs. new clinical risk?
18-month follow-up showed no serious AEs in 36 — what's your long-term explant/failure/signal-degradation expectation as the base ages and grows?
Will post-IPO R&D be capitalized or expensed, and what's the path to clearing the Rmb 467m unrecovered losses?
What is the multi-entity (Shanghai / Changzhou / Medical) and any VIE structure, and how do economics and IP sit across them?
International ambitions — given U.S./EU export and data-security scrutiny of Chinese neurotech, is there any ex-China path, or is this a China-only equity?
What insider/founder ownership and lock-ups apply post-listing?
If NEO commercialization is slower than planned, what's the plan B that justifies a ~Rmb4bn valuation on a sub-Rmb150m-revenue base?
Company details
Industry
Neurotech & BCI
Others in bci5 names
Where Neuracle sits against the other names we cover on this beat. Each line is that company’s verdict, not a summary of it.