Skip to content
WebsiteCompare
Synchron logo

Synchron

Run Synchron? Claim this page and reply to readers.

The safest, most surgically scalable path into the brain and the only BCI Apple made a native input — but it bet the company on "good enough" 16-electrode bandwidth, and its own third-gen "whole-brain" pivot is a confession that the moat it is famous for may be the ceiling it has to escape.

Beat
bci neuroscience
Stage
Series D
Last valuation
~$1B
Raised
$345M
Researched · Fresh
135 days ago
This research is 135 days old. No newer filing has landed, but check the primary sources before acting on a number.

Company details

IndustryNeurotech & BCI
Funding
StageSeries D
Valuation~$1B
Raised$345M
Lead investors
Double Point VenturesARCH Venture PartnersKhosla VenturesBezos ExpeditionsQatar Investment AuthorityAustralian National Reconstruction Fund
WebsiteVisit Synchron
dossier age
135 days
researched 18 Jun 2026 · ring fills at 180
pick a section
Each column is a section of the dossier
Its height is how many times the section names a filing: 3 mentions across 14 sections. A dashed foot names none.
  1. Understand the business: Company Overview, 320 words, no filing mention
  2. Understand the business: Supply Chain (named stakeholders), 318 words, no filing mention
  3. Understand the business: Competitive Advantages (moats), 316 words, no filing mention
  4. Understand the business: Segments, 154 words, no filing mention
  5. Measure performance (clinical-stage swap: pipeline & catalyst, not earnings): Pipeline by phase, 314 words, no filing mention
  6. Measure performance (clinical-stage swap: pipeline & catalyst, not earnings): Founder interviews / sentiment trend (swap for earnings calls), 123 words, no filing mention
  7. Measure performance (clinical-stage swap: pipeline & catalyst, not earnings): Cap table, secondary marks & mechanism comps (swap for P/E comps), 270 words, no filing mention
  8. Measure performance (clinical-stage swap: pipeline & catalyst, not earnings): Funding / product catalysts that moved perception (swap for 5% stock moves), 174 words, no filing mention
  9. Judge people & books: Management, 223 words, no filing mention
  10. Judge people & books: Forensic Red Flags (re-pointed to trial-integrity, runway, governance), 309 words, 1 filing mention
  11. Project & stress-test: IPO-readiness & path-to-tradeable (clinical+private swap for EPS projection), 271 words, 2 filing mentions
  12. Project & stress-test: Bull vs Bear, 468 words, no filing mention
  13. Project & stress-test: Devil's Advocate (short-seller), 287 words, no filing mention
  14. Project & stress-test: Management Questions (ordered by information value), 350 words, no filing mention
Research

The Synchron dossier

The verdict

The safest, most surgically scalable path into the brain and the only BCI Apple made a native input — but it bet the company on "good enough" 16-electrode bandwidth, and its own third-gen "whole-brain" pivot is a confession that the moat it is famous for may be the ceiling it has to escape.

Phase A — Understand the business

Company Overview

Synchron builds a minimally invasive, endovascular brain-computer interface — the Stentrode. Founded 2016 by Dr. Thomas (Tom) Oxley (neurologist, CEO) and Dr. Nicholas Opie (founding CTO, now on the board), headquartered in New York City with engineering in the Bay Area / San Diego and roots at the University of Melbourne. It is a clinical-stage medical-device company with no revenue today — funded entirely by venture capital.

The product, in plain terms. The Stentrode is a self-expanding nitinol stent embedded with ~16 thin-film platinum-iridium electrodes, threaded up through the jugular vein and parked in the superior sagittal sinus, a blood vessel that runs right next to the motor cortex. It reads motor-intent signals through the vessel wall, relays them to a unit implanted in the chest, and wirelessly streams to an external decoder. The whole point: no craniotomy — it's a ~2-hour catheter-lab procedure with 1–2-day discharge, not open brain surgery.

What it does for a patient. A severely paralysed person (ALS, stroke, spinal-cord injury) can run a tablet hands-free — "point-and-click," cursor control, type at ~5–10 words per minute. The signature demo: ALS patient Mark Jackson, implanted 2023, shown navigating an iPad and composing text in an Aug-2025 video.

Customers / payment structure. Like Neuralink, this is an implantable-device model — hospitals/health systems buy the device + procedure, economically dependent on third-party reimbursement (CMS + private payers) that does not yet exist. Sacra models a ~$60,000 average selling price for the Stentrode plus software/support. There is no recurring contract, no take-or-pay, no booked revenue — every "revenue" figure is a forward model.

The crucial strategic difference vs. the field: Synchron deliberately optimizes for lowest invasiveness + surgical scalability (it rides existing catheter-lab infrastructure that every major hospital already has — no specialized neurosurgical robot, no dedicated OR) and accepts lower signal bandwidth as the price. That single trade defines the entire bull and bear case (Lenses 3, 12, 13).

Supply Chain (named stakeholders)

supply-chain.md is an empty scaffold, so this is reconstructed from web + technical disclosures; treat as /.

Upstream → Synchron → patient:

  • Nitinol stent substrate + thin-film Pt/Ir electrodes — Synchron had to build the manufacturing process from scratch (printing stents, mounting electronics on a self-expanding mesh for permanent implant, creating electrode transition zones) — no merchant supplier makes this. Single-source dependency = itself (vertical integration by necessity, same pattern as Neuralink's threads).
  • Implantable hermetic electronics / chest unit + wireless telemetry — implantable-grade enclosure and rechargeable cell; the implantable-electronics supplier base is a small regulated set. The CTO hire signal matters here: Riki Banerjee (CTO, from Sept 2021; ex-Medtronic Neuromodulation, 12 yrs commercializing DBS / sacral / spinal-cord-stim implants) — Synchron deliberately imported Medtronic's implantable-device manufacturing DNA.
  • Compute / decoding stack (the new, differentiating layer) — Nvidia: Synchron runs neural decoding on Nvidia Holoscan (edge inference, from Jan 2025) and unveiled Chiral, a "cognitive AI brain foundation model" trained on de-identified neural data, at Nvidia GTC March 2025. Apple: Synchron is the first BCI integrated into Apple's new BCI HID input protocol (announced May 2025) — Stentrode signals become a native input to iPadOS/visionOS. This is supply chain and distribution moat (Lens 3).
  • Clinical sites (the real distribution channel) — named: Mount Sinai Health System (NYC), UB Neurosurgery / Gates Vascular Institute, UPMC (with Carnegie Mellon University College of Engineering) for COMMAND; pivotal trial to enroll across 4+ US sites in 2026. Throughput is gated by interventional-radiology / cath-lab availability — a far larger installed base than neurosurgical ORs.
  • End customer / payer — paralysis patients clinically; CMS + private insurers economically (unsecured).

The binding chokepoint is reimbursement + pivotal-trial readout, not silicon. Synchron's structural advantage is that its delivery rides infrastructure that already exists at scale — the bottleneck is the FDA and the payer, not the OR or a vendor.

Competitive Advantages (moats)

  1. Surgical scalability / lowest invasiveness (the core, durable moat). Endovascular delivery via a standard catheter lab means no craniotomy, no bespoke surgical robot, ~20-min median device deployment, 100% deployment success in COMMAND, 1–2-day discharge. This is the one moat rivals structurally cannot copy without abandoning their own architecture — Neuralink/Precision/Paradromics are all more invasive by design. It expands the addressable patient pool (frail ALS/stroke patients who'd never qualify for or accept open surgery) and the deployable-site count (every hospital with an IR suite, not just academic neurosurgery centers).

  2. Regulatory lead + the only "first PMA" claim (real, time-sensitive moat). Synchron holds the first FDA IDE for a permanently implanted BCI and Breakthrough Device designation; COMMAND met its primary safety endpoint; a successful 2026 pivotal trial would let it file the first PMA for an implantable BCI. "Works on day one" without long per-patient algorithm training is Oxley's stated edge over the high-bandwidth rivals.

  3. Apple + Nvidia as a distribution / software moat (genuinely differentiated, newest). Being the first BCI natively supported by Apple's BCI HID protocol is a distribution coup no competitor has — it means the Stentrode plugs into the world's most polished consumer-device accessibility stack rather than a proprietary tablet. Chiral (the neural foundation model on Nvidia) is a bet to convert Synchron's lower per-channel data into competitive decoding via better software — turning a hardware weakness into a software-scaling story.

  4. Investor/brand gravity (strong, but second to Neuralink). Khosla, Gates Frontier, Bezos Expeditions, ARCH, Greenoaks, Double Point — a tier-1 + strategic syndicate that signals quality and gives multi-year RunwayHow long the cash lasts at the current rate of spending. It shortens the moment spending rises, which is why a figure taken from a quiet quarter flatters.. Less media-dominant than Musk's Neuralink, which cuts both ways (Lens 10).

Bargaining power: weak today (pre-revenue, payer-dependent, single product). The Apple/Nvidia tie-ups are the asymmetry — Synchron needs them less than a generic device maker would because they confer distribution, but it does not yet have pricing power over anyone.

Segments

our figures is empty (pre-revenue) — no segment revenue exists; n/a — private, not disclosed. The economically meaningful "segments" are indication TAM tranches (the closest analogue to a product mix for a clinical-stage device):

Indication trancheUS candidate poolStatus / noteSource
ALS (initial)~30,000–40,000Lead indication; COMMAND cohort
+ Stroke / broader motor impairment~250,000–300,000"5–7× more annual candidates than ALS"
Europe (CE-mark path)~400,000 severe paralysisInternational expansion optionality
Future neuromodulation (depression, chronic pain, epilepsy)>$10B marketEnabled only by the third-gen "whole-brain" device

Geography: R&D split NY (Cognitive AI division) + new San Diego engineering hub for the third-gen device; clinical footprint US-first (Mount Sinai/UB/UPMC), Australia roots, Europe via CE-mark later. Trend: the center of gravity is shifting from "validate the 16-electrode device" to "build a high-channel third-gen interface" — i.e., the company itself is migrating up the bandwidth curve (see Lens 5, 12, 13).


Phase B — Measure performance (clinical-stage swap: pipeline & catalyst, not earnings)

Pipeline by phase

There is no earnings print. The clinical pipeline is the company.

Program / deviceIndicationStageKey result / next milestoneSource
Stentrode (gen-1) — COMMANDSevere bilateral upper-limb paralysis (ALS-led)Feasibility complete (Early Feasibility Study)6 US patients, 12-mo follow-up; primary safety endpoint MET — zero device-related SAEs; 100% deployment, ~20-min median deploy; DMO/cursor control demonstrated
Stentrode (gen-1) — SWITCHEarlier Australian feasibilityCompleteJAMA Neurology publication (Jan 2023); first-in-human safety
Pivotal trial (gen-1 commercial device)Motor / communication restorationBeginning enrollment 2026, 4+ US sitesThe study that gates the first-ever BCI PMA; outcome decides 2026→2028-30 commercialization
Third-gen "high-channel whole-brain interface"Broader cortical coverage; opens neuromod TAMIn development (NY Cognitive AI div + San Diego eng hub)Explicitly designed to close the fidelity/electrode-count gap vs. cortical rivals
Chiral (neural foundation model, software)Cross-patient decoding generalizationUnveiled GTC Mar 2025Self-supervised decoding to cut per-patient calibration

Independent durability signal (de-risking, peer-reviewed): a medRxiv preprint (25 Sep 2025) on the chronically implanted endovascular array — 5 ALS subjects (3 at 12mo, 2 at 6mo), 16-channel, 2,000 Hz/channel, home sessions ~2×/week — found high-gamma motor modulation stable over the observation window (~45% of band-power channels statistically stable; impedance drift minimal at ~0.049 / −0.020 kΩ/day), online command-control accuracy high and even improving up to ~6.0%/year (not statistically significant). Authors caveat: short follow-up; ALS cortical degeneration may confound; no non-ALS data yet. This is the strongest external evidence that the "low-bandwidth-but-stable" thesis holds — the durability question (which dogs intracortical arrays) is, on early data, less of a problem for the endovascular approach.

What moved the "tape": the $200M Series D (announced 6–8 Nov 2025, led by Double Point Ventures, ~$1B valuation, $345M total raised) — funds the pivotal trial + the third-gen device. The other "print" is the Apple BCI HID protocol (May 2025) — a category-defining distribution win.

Founder interviews / sentiment trend (swap for earnings calls)

No earnings calls. Reading the founder/management narrative trend (Oxley interviews, press) over 2024→2026:

  • 2024 (COMMAND results): tone = safety & scalability proven — "zero SAEs, no craniotomy," the de-risking story.
  • 2025 (Apple/Nvidia + Series D): tone shifts to platform & distribution — Chiral, Holoscan, "BCI as a native input," "nearly $1B valuation".
  • 2026 (pivotal-trial run-up): tone = first-to-market regulatory race — "first PMA," "works on day one," and — tellingly — the public embrace of a third-gen "high-channel whole-brain" device.

The phrase they started saying: "whole-brain interface" / "more applications." What that signals: management is explicitly acknowledging the bandwidth ceiling of gen-1 and pivoting the long-term story toward higher channel counts — a confidence tell and a concession (Lens 13).

Cap table, secondary marks & mechanism comps (swap for P/E comps)

Funding & valuation trajectory (all, unaudited):

RoundDateAmountLeadCumulativeValuationSource
Series B2020~$40M area—~$70Mn/a
Series CDec 2022$75MARCH Venture Partners$145Mn/a
Series DNov 2025$200MDouble Point Ventures~$345M"nearly $1B"

Syndicate quality (IPO-proximity read): ARCH (lead C), Double Point Ventures (lead D), Khosla Ventures, Gates Frontier, Bezos Expeditions, Greenoaks, Reliance Digital Health, Moore Strategic Ventures, NeuroTechnology Investors, METIS, Project X. Strong strategic + frontier-VC mix; no obvious crossover-fund (Fidelity/T. Rowe/Coatue) entry yet — consistent with ipo_readiness 3/5 (late-stage, not pre-IPO). No public secondary marks.

Mechanism / valuation comps — the BCI cohort (private marks,; never fabricated — n/a where unsourced):

CompanyApproachElectrodes / bandwidthLatest valuation / raiseSource
SynchronEndovascular (no craniotomy)16 ch, population-level; ~5–10 WPM~$1B (Series D $200M, Nov 2025); $345M total
NeuralinkIntracortical threads + robot1,024 ch~$9B pre-money (Series E $650M, Jun 2025); ~$12.7B secondary (Aug 2025)
Precision NeuroscienceCortical-surface film (non-penetrating)1,024 ch / 1 cm² film; FDA-cleared~$102M raised (as of 2024)
ParadromicsHigh-density intracortical1,600+ ch (Connexus); claims >200 bpsFirst-in-human Jun 2025; funding n/a
Blackrock NeurotechUtah arrayslower ch, 30+ subjects (longest clinical history)n/a
Merge Labs (Altman/OpenAI)early/stealthn/a$850M val, $252M raised, OpenAI-led (Jan 2026)

Read: Synchron is valued at ~1/9th of Neuralink and ~1/12th on secondaries despite arguably being the regulatory front-runner and the only one inside Apple's input stack. The market is pricing bandwidth and Musk-brand over surgical scalability and time-to-PMA. That gap is the contrarian case (Lens 12).

Funding / product catalysts that moved perception (swap for >5% stock moves)

No public stock. The events that materially re-rated Synchron in private/secondary perception:

  • Jan 2023 — JAMA Neurology publication (SWITCH) → first peer-reviewed safety credibility.
  • Sep 2024 — COMMAND positive 12-mo results → de-risked safety; "first to meet primary endpoint."
  • May 2025 — Apple BCI HID protocol → category-defining distribution; the single biggest narrative catalyst.
  • Mar 2025 — Nvidia GTC / Chiral → "AI-scaling the decode" story.
  • Aug 2025 — Mark Jackson iPad demo video → tangible proof for a lay audience.
  • Nov 2025 — $200M Series D @ ~$1B → runway to pivotal trial + gen-3.
  • 2026 — pivotal-trial run-up + third-gen "whole-brain" reveal → the next re-rating hinges here.

Pattern: Synchron re-rates on (a) safety milestones and (b) platform/distribution partnerships more than on raw bandwidth claims — the opposite of Neuralink (which trades on bandwidth spectacle). A clean pivotal-trial start + first PMA filing would be the catalyst that could close the valuation gap; a pivotal stumble or a competitor's PMA would be the de-rater.


Phase C — Judge people & books

Management

  • Track record: Dr. Tom Oxley (Founder/CEO) — Australian interventional neurologist; conceived the endovascular-BCI approach and took it from a Melbourne lab idea (with Opie + DARPA/Australian funding) to the first FDA IDE for a permanent BCI and the first company to clear a BCI primary endpoint. Genuine scientist-founder with the domain credibility (he is the clinical-translation authority on endovascular neural interfaces). Quantified delivery: 0→6 US implants with zero device-related SAEs, JAMA publication, Apple/Nvidia partnerships, $345M raised.
  • Tenure & skin in the game: founder since 2016, still CEO — high founder alignment; equity stake not publicly disclosed (n/a — private). Co-founder Nicholas Opie transitioned from CTO to the board (orderly succession, not a flight).
  • Capital-allocation history: disciplined for a frontier hardware co — raised in line with clinical milestones (C funded COMMAND; D funds pivotal + gen-3), imported Medtronic implantable-device manufacturing leadership (Riki Banerjee, CTO) rather than learning it the hard way. No evidence of value-destructive moves.
  • Red flags: none material surfaced. The reasonable governance watch-items for a late-stage private: founder-CEO concentration of vision, and the third-gen "whole-brain" pivot drawing focus/capital away from finishing the gen-1 pivotal (execution risk, not integrity risk).
  • Founder vs. professional manager: scientist-founder paired with a professional device-industry CTO — arguably the ideal archetype for a clinical-stage implantable: visionary clinical founder + Medtronic-grade manufacturing operator.

Forensic Red Flags (re-pointed to trial-integrity, runway, governance)

No financial statements to forensically dissect — so the analogue risks for a clinical-stage private:

  • Trial-design integrity: COMMAND is a 6-patient single-arm Early Feasibility Study — appropriate for the stage, but small N, no control arm, open-label means efficacy is suggestive, not confirmatory. The pivotal trial is the real test and has not read out. Endpoint framing ("no device-related SAE resulting in death/permanent increased disability") is a safety bar; the efficacy bar in the pivotal will be scrutinized.
  • Durability evidence: the medRxiv (Sep 2025) data is reassuring (stable signal 6–12mo) but authors themselves flag short follow-up, ALS-confound, and no non-ALS data. Multi-year stability is unproven.
  • Going-concern / runway: $200M D funds the pivotal + gen-3; a clinical-stage device co with zero revenue and a multi-year path to PMA will need further raises or an IPO — dilution/funding risk is structural.
  • SBC / dilution: private, not disclosed (n/a).

Regulatory findings (required sub-section). Read companies/synchron/regulatory/regulatory-findings.md (generated 2026-06-18):

  • SEC (EDGAR LR + AAER): 0 findings — Synchron has no CIK (private, not an SEC filer); no EDGAR enforcement search is possible.
  • Non-SEC enforcement (web search "Synchron" (FTC OR DOJ OR FDA OR CFPB OR consent decree OR settlement OR fine OR penalty) enforcement): no material enforcement actions, lawsuits, consent decrees, or FDA warning letters surfaced as of 2026-06-18. On the contrary, Synchron's FDA relationship is a positive (IDE + Breakthrough Device). The relevant forward regulatory exposure is the emerging neural-data-privacy regime (states legislating on neural data; an industry-wide overhang, not a Synchron-specific finding).
  • Item 3 Legal Proceedings: n/a — no Form 10-KA company’s audited annual report to the US regulator. The most complete thing it publishes. (private).
  • Conclusion: No material regulatory or legal findings — verified via SEC EDGAR EFTS (LR, AAER → 0 hits, no CIK), web enforcement search, and the absence of any SEC filing, as of 2026-06-18. All findings web-sourced and unaudited per public sources.

Phase D — Project & stress-test

IPO-readiness & path-to-tradeable (clinical+private swap for EPS projection)

There is no EPS to forecast (pre-revenue). The two questions that matter are (a) does cash reach the next value-inflection catalyst, and (b) when does this become a tradeable security?

Runway-to-catalyst: the $200M Series D (Nov 2025) is explicitly scoped to fund the 2026 pivotal trial + first-gen commercial prep + the third-gen device. The next value-inflection is pivotal-trial enrollment/interim safety (2026–27), then PMA filing. Whether $200M alone carries Synchron through a multi-year pivotal + a gen-3 build is doubtful — plan for at least one more private round (Series E) before any IPO.

IPO-readiness (grounding private-watch.json: stage late, readiness 3/5):

  • What unlocks an S-1: (1) a clean pivotal-trial readout (the binary that de-risks the whole equity story), (2) a credible CMS/reimbursement pathway (CPT/DRG codes), (3) the first PMA filing/approval. Until at least the first lands, the equity story is "promising clinical-stage device," not "imminent commercial."
  • Estimated window: realistic limited commercial availability 2028–2030; an IPO is most likely 2028–2030, gated on the pivotal readout and PMA progress. Readiness 3/5 stands — late-stage, well-syndicated, but no crossover-fund entry and no S-1 signal yet.
  • Be-early payoff: the watch-file entry should be updated — lead investor corrected to Double Point Ventures (Series D), and dossier path set to this file so our model shows Synchron dossier-warm.

No Brier forecast logged (per --watchlist rule — our model create skipped). The forecast worth tracking when promoted: "Synchron begins pivotal-trial enrollment by 2026-12-31" (p ≈ 0.7 ) and "Synchron files/secures a BCI PMA before Neuralink, by 2028-12-31" (p ≈ 0.45 ).

Bull vs Bear

Bull case. Synchron is the safest, most scalable, and most distribution-advantaged way into the brain. The endovascular approach sidesteps the single biggest barrier to BCI scale — neurosurgery — and rides catheter-lab infrastructure that already exists in every major hospital, so it can deploy to far more patients at far more sites than any craniotomy-dependent rival. It is the regulatory front-runner (first IDE, first to meet a primary endpoint, on track for the first PMA) and the only BCI Apple made a native input, with Nvidia/Chiral attempting to software-scale the decode. Early durability data (medRxiv 2025) suggests the low-bandwidth signal is stable over time — the very problem that haunts intracortical arrays may be less severe here. At ~$1B vs. Neuralink's ~$9–12.7B, the market is mispricing time-to-market and distribution relative to raw bandwidth. If the pivotal reads out clean and a reimbursement path appears, this is a category-defining medical-device franchise bought cheap.

Bear case (permanent-impairment risks).

  1. The bandwidth ceiling is structural, not temporary. 16 electrodes reading through a vessel wall = population-level signal, ~5–10 WPM, "clicks and scrolling." Neuroscientist Nick Ramsey: "to decode speech you need at least 100 electrodes." If the killer app for BCI turns out to be high-fidelity communication / rich control (speech, robotic limbs), Synchron's architecture may be permanently boxed into the low end while Neuralink/Precision/Paradromics (1,024–1,600+ ch) own the high-value use cases.
  2. The third-gen "whole-brain" pivot is a confession. Management publicly building a high-channel device concedes gen-1 is not enough for the bigger TAM — and that pivot is unproven, capital-hungry, and re-opens the invasiveness question the company's entire brand was built on avoiding.
  3. Reimbursement is unsolved and slow. No CMS precedent for a permanent BCI; a Class-III PMA + coverage decision is a multi-year, binary-funding-risk path with zero revenue in the meantime.

Pre-mortem (18 months out, thesis broke): the pivotal trial slips or the efficacy signal underwhelms at larger N; meanwhile Precision Neuroscience (already FDA-cleared, also "minimally invasive," but 1,024 channels) takes the "low-risk and high-bandwidth" high ground, collapsing Synchron's core differentiator — and a competitor files a BCI PMA first, erasing the "first" claim that anchors the valuation.

Multiples: at ~$1B with no revenue, the valuation is entirely option value on the pivotal + reimbursement. Cheaper than peers, but "cheap" on a pre-revenue device co is meaningless if the pivotal disappoints.

Contrarian view (what the market refuses to see): the market treats bandwidth as destiny and prices Synchron as the also-ran. But the first commercially reimbursed BCI will likely be the safest, most scalable, most OS-integrated one — not the highest-bandwidth one. "Good enough, on day one, in any cath lab, native to your iPad" may beat "spectacular, but needs a robot, a craniotomy, and per-patient training." If so, Synchron is the most underpriced name in the cohort.

Devil's Advocate (short-seller)

Dismantling the bull case:

  • Revenue concentration risk doesn't exist yet — because there's no revenue. The entire thesis is a single binary: the pivotal trial. One bad readout and the equity story is gutted; there is no diversified business to cushion it.
  • The moat is the ceiling. Synchron's whole identity — endovascular, low-invasiveness — is exactly what caps it at ~16 electrodes. The moment a competitor delivers both low-risk and high-bandwidth (Precision's surface film already claims 1,024 ch with a less-invasive-than-Neuralink placement, and is FDA-cleared), Synchron's differentiator evaporates. Precision is the most dangerous competitor bulls underestimate — not Neuralink.
  • The Apple integration is reversible and non-exclusive. Apple's BCI HID is an open protocol — it will support any compliant BCI, not just Synchron. The "first" is a marketing lead, not a contractual moat; Neuralink/Precision can plug into the same protocol.
  • The gen-3 pivot screams "gen-1 isn't a big enough business." Building a high-channel device means more invasiveness, new trials, new regulatory clock, more dilution — and competes with the very rivals who are already years into high-channel intracortical work.
  • Assumptions that must hold for ~$1B: pivotal succeeds; FDA grants PMA; CMS/payers create reimbursement; and "low-bandwidth point-and-click" is a large enough standalone market to justify the price before gen-3. If growth/efficacy disappoints 20–30%, this is a down-round candidate.
  • Worst capital-allocation risk: spreading thin across gen-1 pivotal and gen-3 and a Cognitive-AI software division and two engineering hubs — classic frontier-startup over-extension on a single $200M round.
  • The single scenario that permanently impairs it: the pivotal trial fails to show clinically meaningful efficacy (safety was never the question; usefulness at scale is) — there is no second product to fall back on.

Management Questions (ordered by information value)

  1. What is the primary efficacy endpoint of the 2026 pivotal trial, the enrollment target, and the statistical bar you must clear for a PMA — and how confident are you the 6-patient COMMAND efficacy generalizes to that N?
  2. What is your concrete CMS/reimbursement pathway (CPT/DRG strategy and timeline), and what coverage assumption underwrites your ~$60K ASP?
  3. Is $200M enough to reach PMA, or do you need a Series E / IPO before commercialization — and what is the expected burn through the pivotal?
  4. On the third-gen high-channel "whole-brain" device: how many electrodes, does it remain fully endovascular (no craniotomy), and what new regulatory clock does it start?
  5. Nick Ramsey says speech needs 100+ electrodes — is rich communication/speech off the table for the endovascular architecture, and does gen-3 change that?
  6. Precision Neuroscience is FDA-cleared, minimally invasive, and 1,024-channel — why doesn't that collapse your low-invasiveness differentiator?
  7. The Apple BCI HID protocol is open/non-exclusive — what is your durable advantage once Neuralink and Precision integrate with the same stack?
  8. What does Chiral actually buy you in decode performance per channel, and how dependent is your roadmap on the Nvidia relationship?
  9. What is the multi-year (5–10yr) signal-stability and device-durability picture beyond the 6–12-month data, and how do you de-risk ALS-cortical-degeneration confounds with non-ALS cohorts?
  10. How do you manufacture and scale the Stentrode (yields, cost curve toward the $60K ASP), and where are the single-source dependencies?
  11. What is the realistic commercial-availability timeline (you've said 2028–2030) and what are the gating items?
  12. How do you sequence ALS → stroke → neuromodulation indications, and what evidence does each new indication require?
  13. What is your capital-allocation split across gen-1 pivotal vs. gen-3 vs. the Cognitive-AI division — and the risk of over-extension?
  14. How are you positioned on the emerging neural-data-privacy regulation (state laws), and what's your data-governance posture for the de-identified neural data training Chiral?
  15. Under what conditions would you IPO vs. stay private / be acquired (Medtronic, Boston Scientific, a hyperscaler), and what's the most likely path to liquidity?

Orbit · who it trades with and competes with
15 on the rings · 1 trade · 14 rival
26 mentions across our dossiers
Focus · BCI neuroscience
Synchron
private company
No published house view
TholoBbrief←→step through the orbitESCcloseclick a company to open ittap a company to read it, tap again to open it