Skip to content
Neurotech & BCIPrivate

StairMed

Beat
bci
Researched · Fresh
117 days ago
This research is 117 days old. No newer filing has landed, but check the primary sources before acting on a number.

China's only fully-invasive (intracortical) BCI in the clinic and the best-capitalized BCI name in the country — a credible Neuralink analogue whose real near-term value is the closed-loop DBS line attacking a proven multi-billion Parkinson's/epilepsy market, not the 256-channel BMI moonshot; the bet is "does the uFINE ultra-flexible electrode hold up in a 40-patient registration trial and does NMPA's Green Channel actually compress the path to 2028 revenue," on a name with zero public financial

Orbit · who it trades with and competes with
2 on the rings · 0 trade · 2 rival
9 mentions across our dossiers
Focus · BCI
StairMed
private company
No published house view
TholoBbrief←→step through the orbitESCcloseclick a company to open ittap a company to read it, tap again to open it
Research

The StairMed dossier

The verdict

China's only fully-invasive (intracortical) BCI in the clinic and the best-capitalized BCI name in the country — a credible Neuralink analogue whose real near-term value is the closed-loop DBS line attacking a proven multi-billion Parkinson's/epilepsy market, not the 256-channel BMI moonshot; the bet is "does the uFINE ultra-flexible electrode hold up in a 40-patient registration trial and does NMPA's Green Channel actually compress the path to 2028 revenue," on a name with zero public financials and an undisclosed valuation.

Phase A — Understand the business

Company Overview

Business model. StairMed is a platform-plus-device medtech: it owns a proprietary ultra-flexible-electrode manufacturing capability (it bills itself as the "唯一生产商" — sole producer — of ultra-flexible micro-nano electrodes) and builds full-stack implantable systems on top of it — the implant, the wireless signal-acquisition/decoding chip, and the application terminal. The eventual revenue model is device sales + procedure ecosystem into hospitals, the classic Class III implantable medical-device motion (think Medtronic DBS economics), not a SaaS/recurring model. Two product engines: the invasive BMI (motor restoration / communication for paralysis & ALS) and the closed-loop DBS (neuromodulation for movement disorders).

Products / services.

  • 256-channel wireless invasive BMI ("WRS02" per the April-2026 release). Implant is roughly 1-yuan-coin diameter (~26mm), <6mm thick, placed through a 3–5mm cranial puncture, electrode tip 5–8mm into cortex. Decodes motor intent; in the first trial a quadruple-amputee patient learned to play racing games and operate a touchpad "comparable to an average person" after 2–3 weeks of training.
  • Closed-loop DBS system. "Ultra-low-damage," micro-scale, flexible; management claims performance "comparable to leading international systems." 4 patients implanted in clinical research; formal trials 2027; indications Parkinson's, epilepsy, other neuro disorders.
  • Next-gen roadmap: a "thousands-of-channels" BMI generation is flagged as the future product.

Customers. End market = paralysis / spinal-cord-injury / ALS patients (BMI) and movement-disorder patients (DBS), reached through Chinese tertiary hospitals (the first BMI implant was at "a leading medical institution in Shanghai"). No commercial customers yet — every implant to date is a clinical-trial subject. our figures on the shelf is empty (no disclosed concentration).

Suppliers. Not publicly disclosed. The defensible input (the uFINE electrode) is made in-house in a 2,000 m² Shanghai facility with ~300 m² of clean rooms; the wireless ASIC, packaging, and battery/telemetry stack are presumably contract-fabbed in the Chinese semiconductor/medtech supply base, but specific suppliers are n/a — private, not disclosed.

Contract structure / payment terms. None yet — pre-revenue, trial-stage. Future model is one-time device + implant reimbursement; the China precedent (Neuracle's NEO got assigned a health-insurance billing code on approval) is the template StairMed will chase.

Supply Chain

Upstream → StairMed → end customer, named where sourced:

  • Upstream science / IP origin: CAS Shanghai Institute of Microsystem and Information Technology (SIMIT) — the academic lab where the uFINE electrode was developed (founder Zhao Zhengtuo's institutional home); the tech-transfer lineage is the company's origin.
  • Core component (electrode): manufactured in-house (vertical integration of the one hard-to-copy part) — Shanghai clean-room facility. This is the deliberate chokepoint StairMed owns rather than depends on.
  • Other components (wireless ASIC, telemetry, hermetic packaging, battery): not disclosed; assume domestic Chinese medtech/semiconductor contract supply. n/a — not disclosed
  • Clinical channel: Shanghai tertiary hospital(s) for first-in-human; the mid-2026 registration trial is multi-center (named sites not yet public).
  • Regulatory gatekeeper: NMPA (National Medical Products Administration) — StairMed holds the Green Channel for Innovative Medical Devices designation, the single most important node in its path to revenue.
  • Capital supply chain (the binding input for a pre-revenue name): a deep, blue-chip syndicate — see Lens 7. Alibaba + Tencent + OrbiMed + Qiming + Lilly Asia Ventures (Eli Lilly's Asia arm) + Oriza Seed + Source Code Capital + SDIC Unity Capital.

Chokepoints / single-source dependencies: (1) the uFINE electrode — the moat and the manufacturing bottleneck; yield/scale at the "tens of patients" → commercial step is unproven. (2) NMPA approval timing — single-regulator dependency; one negative trial or policy shift on invasive devices (regulators are "expected to tighten oversight of invasive devices") stalls the whole BMI line. (3) Clinical-site throughput — only a handful of Chinese centers can do this surgery today.

Competitive Advantages (moats)

  1. The uFINE electrode (process + IP moat). Ultra-flexible, ~1/100 hair-width, ~1/5 Neuralink size, hundreds-of-times softer, engineered to prevent immune/glial scarring for long-term recording stability. This is a genuine materials-science edge, peer-reviewed (uFINE human-cortex single-neuron recording, bioRxiv 2025), and StairMed claims to be the sole producer of such electrodes in China. The biocompatibility-vs-channel-density tradeoff is the central technical battleground of invasive BCI, and StairMed is competing on the less-scarring axis rather than pure channel count.
  2. Regulatory pole position. The only invasive Chinese BCI with NMPA Green Channel access — a structural head-start in the one jurisdiction whose approval pathway is materially faster than the FDA's, and whose government has named BCI a five-year-plan priority industry (alongside quantum and humanoid robots).
  3. Clinical lead within China's fully-invasive cohort. First (and as of mid-2026 essentially only) Chinese fully-implanted intracortical BMI in human trials — "the world's second after Neuralink." First-mover clinical data is the scarcest asset in this field.
  4. Capital + syndicate moat. Best-funded Chinese implantable-BCI name (RMB 1.1bn trailing-year). A strategic investor base (Alibaba/Tencent compute & distribution; Lilly Asia for pharma/regulatory know-how) is bargaining power that a pure-VC cap table doesn't confer.
  5. Two shots on goal. The DBS line gives StairMed a second, faster, larger near-term market (movement disorders is a proven ~multi-billion global category dominated by Medtronic/Abbott/Boston Scientific) to monetize the same electrode/closed-loop stack while the BMI moonshot matures.

Bargaining power. Over suppliers: high on the electrode (makes its own), low/unknown on chips. Over customers (hospitals/payers): nil today, contingent entirely on NMPA approval + reimbursement-code assignment. Over capital: currently strong (heavily oversubscribed-looking syndicate), but it is a cash-burning pre-revenue name that must keep raising — that dependency caps its leverage.

Segments

No reported revenue → no revenue/EBITDA/geography segmentation exists. our figures on the shelf is an empty template. The meaningful "segmentation" is by product program, framed as future addressable markets:

ProgramStagePatients implantedNext gateMarket it attacks
256-ch invasive BMI (WRS02)Registration trial starting3 (2025) + 4 (early 2026)~40-pt multi-center trial, mid-2026 → commercial ~2028Paralysis / SCI / ALS motor & communication restoration
Closed-loop DBSClinical research4Formal trials 2027Parkinson's, epilepsy, movement/neuro disorders
Next-gen "thousands-of-channels" BMIR&D / roadmap0undisclosedHigh-bandwidth BMI (research/enhancement)

. Geography: 100% China today; export is a long-dated, geopolitically-gated optionality (US/EU would require separate FDA/CE pathways and faces an adverse data-security climate around Chinese neural devices).


Phase B — Measure performance (+private overlay: funding/valuation & traction swapped in)

Funding & Valuation Trajectory

Round history, seed → latest (all, unaudited — RMB↔USD at the rates each source used):

RoundDateSizeLead(s)Notable participantsSource
Angel~2021–22"tens of millions" RMBFountainBridge Capital (angel)—
Series AJune 2023 (announced 30 Jun 2023)"数亿元" — hundreds of millions RMBOrbiMed (Aobao Capital) + Oriza Seed (Yuanhe Origin)—
Series BFeb 10–11, 2025RMB 350M (~$48M)Qiming Venture Partners, OrbiMed, Lilly Asia VenturesFountainBridge
StrategicApr 2, 2026RMB 500M (~$72.8M)AlibabaTencent, FountainBridge, OrbiMed, Oriza Seed, Qiming, Lilly Asia Ventures, Source Code Capital, SDIC Unity Capital

Trailing-twelve-month total: >RMB 1.1bn (~$160M) — explicitly "the largest [funds raised] of any Chinese implantable-BCI company."

Cumulative-to-date conflict (surfaced, not silently resolved): PitchBook lists ~$82.1M total raised and CB Insights a similar figure — these clearly predate / exclude the April-2026 strategic round. The April release's own ">RMB 1.1bn in the past year" is the more current figure for the trailing window. Treat $82M as the pre-strategic cumulative and ~$160M as the trailing-12-month inflow; a clean all-time cumulative is n/a — not consistently disclosed.

Valuation: n/a — not disclosed in any sourced release or the municipal announcements. (Caplight/PitchBook maintain secondary-mark profiles but no public figure surfaced in this run.)

Burn signals: classic deep-tech medtech burn — clean-room manufacturing + parallel BMI and DBS clinical programs + chip development. No disclosed burn rate or RunwayHow long the cash lasts at the current rate of spending. It shortens the moment spending rises, which is why a figure taken from a quiet quarter flatters.. The ~$160M trailing raise implies management is funding a multi-year, multi-program clinical push; the cadence (A 2023 → B early-2025 → strategic mid-2026) shows accelerating raise frequency and size, consistent with ramping clinical spend and a step-up in ambition (adding DBS, adding the megaround investors).

Founder/Leadership Signal

No earnings calls (private). The "sentiment" read comes from how leadership talks publicly, and the tone is confident, milestone-driven, and state-aligned:

  • Founder messaging frames BMI as "a point of convergence between life sciences and information technology" and leans on the Neuralink-comparison ("world's second into clinical trials," electrodes "1/5 of Neuralink's") — deliberately positioning StairMed as China's national champion answer to Neuralink.
  • The shift over time: 2023 messaging was about animal milestones (long-term macaque implant); 2025 pivoted to first-in-human + "China's first prospective trial"; 2026 expanded to two product lines + "multi-center registration" + DBS. That is a healthy, escalating, deliverable-backed narrative — they keep hitting the next stated gate, which is the single best soft-signal for a pre-revenue name.
  • Recurring phrases: "ultra-flexible," "ultra-low-damage / minimally invasive," "full-stack," "sole producer," "world's second after Neuralink." What's notably absent: any hard revenue, valuation, or unit-economics talk — appropriate for the stage, but it means every projection is faith in the clinical/regulatory path, not in a P&L.

Cap Table & Strategic Syndicate

Syndicate quality (the be-early tell): unusually strong and strategic, not just financial:

  • Alibaba + Tencent — their first joint BCI investment; brings cloud/compute, AI, and consumer-distribution gravity, and signals BCI has crossed into Chinese-Big-Tech strategic priority.
  • Lilly Asia Ventures (Eli Lilly) — a strategic pharma on the cap table since Series B; meaningful for the DBS/neuro-therapeutic path and a partial validation of the medical thesis (Lilly does not casually back devices).
  • OrbiMed (top-tier global healthcare crossover, in since Series A), Qiming, Source Code Capital, Oriza Seed, FountainBridge, SDIC Unity Capital (state-backed). Crossover/strategic presence (OrbiMed, Lilly, Alibaba/Tencent) is exactly the "IPO-proximity / institutional-grade" signature the +private overlay looks for.

Peer landscape (no P/E comps — private; framed by approach, channels, capital):

CompanyApproachChannelsClinical / regulatory statusCapitalSource
StairMedFully invasive (intracortical), ultra-flexible2567 BMI implants; NMPA Green Channel; reg-trial mid-2026>$160M trailing yr
Neuralink (US)Fully invasive (intracortical threads)1,024 (N1); 1,680-ch S2 in devMultiple human implants; FDA breakthrough~$1.85B raised; $9.6B val (2025)
Neuracle / NEO (CN, Tsinghua)Epidural (on dura, 8 sensors)8 (epidural)World-first commercial invasive-BCI NMPA approval, Mar 2026; insurance coden/a
NeuroXess (CN)Flexible-electrode implant256Motor + language decoding; Nanchang "super-factory" for scaleHSG/Sequoia-China backed (sister co. Zhiran)
NeuCyber/Beinao-1 (CN, CIBR)Invasiven/aApproval expected ~2028state-linked
Synchron (US)Endovascular (Stentrode, no craniotomy)low10 human implants (US+AU)>$270M
Precision Neuroscience (US)Surface (subdural film)high-densityFirst-in-human; minimally invasive$170M raised
Paradromics (US)Intracortical (Connexus)highFirst-in-human Jun 2025n/a

Read: StairMed is channel-matched to the leading flexible-electrode players (256) — well below Neuralink's 1,024, but Neuralink and StairMed are the two fully-invasive names actually putting devices in human cortex at scale-of-intent. Within China, Neuracle won the commercial race but with a far-lower-bandwidth epidural device; StairMed and NeuroXess are the high-bandwidth invasive race, and StairMed leads on capital while NeuroXess leads on manufacturing-scale footprint.

Catalysts / Value-Inflection Events (price-move analogue for a private name)

The events that re-rate a private medtech are funding, clinical, and regulatory milestones. Pattern of what has "moved the mark":

  • Jun 2023 — Series A + first long-term awake-macaque implant → established scientific credibility.
  • Feb 2025 — Series B ($48M) + first-in-human implant (quadruple amputee playing games) → the single biggest narrative step; "largest Chinese implantable-BCI round" headlines.
  • Apr 2026 — Alibaba/Tencent strategic round + DBS line reveal → Big-Tech validation + a second market.
  • Mar 2026 — competitor Neuracle's NMPA commercial approval (industry catalyst): de-risks the category (proves NMPA will approve invasive BCI + assign a billing code) but raises the competitive bar and lands the same day as the BCI-favorable five-year plan.

What the "market" reacts to for this name: clinical first-in-human proof, marquee strategic investors, and NMPA milestones — not channel-count one-upmanship. The next mark-movers are mechanical and dated (see catalysts in the Position seed).


Phase C — Judge people & books

Management

  • Founders / archetype. Co-founded 2021 by Zhao Zhengtuo (赵郑拓) — the scientist-founder, from CAS SIMIT, inventor of the uFINE ultra-flexible electrode (peer-reviewed body of work on flexible neural arrays) — and Li Xue (李雪), who appears in the leadership/founder role and is quoted as the strategic voice ("BMI is... a point of convergence between life sciences and information technology"). This is the deep-tech ideal: a world-class technical founder paired with a business/strategy lead, spun out of a top national research institute.
  • Track record. Zhao's is scientific — translating SIMIT electrode research into the first awake-macaque long-term implant and then into human cortex (the uFINE clinical recordings). No prior company-building/exit track record is sourced for either founder; this is a first-time operating team executing on frontier science — high technical credibility, unproven commercial/scale execution.
  • Skin in the game / ownership. Founders presumably retain meaningful equity (2021 spinout, four rounds in), but the cap-table split is n/a — private, not disclosed. Registered capital was a nominal RMB 1M (a Chinese-company-registration formality, not economic ownership).
  • Capital-allocation history. Short but disciplined-looking: raised in escalating rounds tied to delivered milestones (macaque → human → registration trial), and broadened from one product to two (BMI + DBS) rather than over-promising a single moonshot — a pragmatic, market-aware allocation that hedges the BMI's long timeline with DBS's nearer, larger market.
  • Red flags (governance). Standard China-private opacity: no audited financials, no disclosed valuation, no public board composition. The dual-founder-name reporting (Zhao vs Li Xue across sources) reflects thin English-language disclosure rather than a known dispute. No related-party or comp red flags surfaced.

Forensic Red Flags

No financial statements exist to forensically examine — there is no income statement, balance sheet, or cash-flow statement in the public domain, so the usual revenue-recognition / receivables / SBC / goodwill analysis is n/a — private, unaudited, not disclosed. The forensic posture for a name like this is instead about disclosure quality and claim verifiability:

  • Claims are partly third-party-validated (peer-reviewed uFINE recordings; named tier-1 investors who diligence; municipal-government confirmation of the round) — better than a pure-press-release company.
  • Unverifiable performance claims: "DBS comparable to leading international systems" and electrode "hundreds of times softer" are company-stated, not independently benchmarked — treat as marketing until trial data lands.
  • Patient-count provenance: "3 + 4" BMI implants and "4" DBS implants come from company releases, not a trial registry readout — directionally credible (corroborated by Global Times' amputee case) but not audited.

Regulatory findings (required sub-section). Read regulatory/regulatory-findings.md (Step 0 output): StairMed has no CIK and is not an SEC filer, so EDGAR EFTS returned 0 Litigation Releases and 0 AAERs — no US securities-enforcement exposure is possible.

  • Non-SEC web search ("StairMed" (FTC OR DOJ OR FDA OR consent decree OR settlement OR fine OR penalty) enforcement): no material enforcement, litigation, recall, or penalty hits surfaced for StairMed in this run. As a China-domiciled device maker, its binding regulator is NMPA, where its only material status is positive (Green Channel designation).
  • Item 3 / Legal Proceedings: n/a — no Form 10-KA company’s audited annual report to the US regulator. The most complete thing it publishes. exists (private, non-filer).
  • Net: No material regulatory or legal findings — verified via SEC EDGAR EFTS (LR, AAER), web search, and confirmation of non-filer status as of 2026-06-30. Forward risk (not a finding): a Chinese invasive neural-device maker is exposed to US data-security/CFIUS-style scrutiny and export friction if it ever pursues Western markets, and to NMPA tightening of invasive-device oversight at home — both are policy risks, not current actions.

Phase D — Project & stress-test

IPO-Readiness & Path-to-Tradeable (+private overlay — replaces Forward Projection; no rNPV model fabricated)

Stage: clinical-stage, pre-revenue, Series-B-plus / strategic-round maturity. The +private overlay's job is the path-to-tradeable, not an EPS line — and no EPS/our model forecast is logged (no revenue base exists to project; per --watchlist rules a Brier forecast is only logged on genuine conviction, and the honest forecastable here is a binary clinical/regulatory event, not an EPS threshold).

Milestones that unlock liquidity (S-1-equivalent / STAR-board listing):

  1. Mid-2026: start the ~40-patient multi-center BMI registration trial — enrollment itself is the next mark-mover.
  2. 2026 year-end: "several dozen" cumulative BMI implants — the dataset that supports an NMPA submission.
  3. 2027: DBS formal trials begin — opens the larger near-term commercial market.
  4. ~2027–2028: NMPA approval + reimbursement code for the BMI (the Neuracle template) → first revenue → the gate to a credible IPO. Management's stated commercial launch ~2028.

Estimated tradeable window: an IPO is plausibly a 2027–2029 event, most likely on a Chinese exchange (STAR Market / Hong Kong), gated on first NMPA approval + early revenue traction; a Western listing is unlikely given the geopolitics.

Readiness assessment: Above-average for a pre-revenue BCI — strongest Chinese capital base, strategic syndicate (Alibaba/Tencent/Lilly), regulatory pole position, two products, and a peer (Neuracle) having just proven the NMPA-approval-to-billing-code path. The gating uncertainty is clinical durability at n=40 and whether ultra-flexible electrodes scale in manufacturing yield. Write-back: research/private-watch.json is absent in this research root; if/when created, seed StairMed as stage: clinical-registration, ipo_readiness: medium-high, catalyst: 40-patient BMI registration trial (mid-2026) → NMPA submission, dossier: companies/stairmed/the previous dossier.

Bull vs Bear

Bull case. StairMed is the national-champion fully-invasive BCI of the world's most favorable BCI regulatory-and-policy regime, sitting on a genuine materials-science moat (uFINE) that attacks the field's hardest problem — chronic biocompatibility — and is better capitalized than any Chinese peer with a strategic syndicate (Alibaba/Tencent compute + Lilly pharma) that compounds its advantages. Crucially, it is not a single-moonshot bet: the closed-loop DBS line targets a proven, multi-billion-dollar, reimbursed movement-disorder market (Medtronic's home turf) on a 2027 timeline — a far nearer and more bankable revenue engine than the BMI, using the same electrode platform. With NMPA's Green Channel and a competitor (Neuracle) having just de-risked the category's approval-and-reimbursement path, StairMed has a credible line to 2028 commercial BMI revenue and an IPO inside this decade. If the 40-patient trial replicates the first-in-human results, this is a category-defining Chinese medtech.

Bear case. (1) Clinical durability is unproven at scale — a vivid n=1 amputee demo is not a 40-patient registration dataset; ultra-flexible electrodes' long-term signal stability and the safety of a fully-invasive cortical implant are exactly what could fail under scrutiny, and that would impair the whole BMI thesis permanently. (2) Commercial reality of BCI is brutal — even Neuracle's approved device serves a tiny eligible population at uncertain price/reimbursement; the TAM for fully-invasive BMI is small and slow for years, so the "2028 revenue" could be trivial. (3) It's a perpetual cash-burner with no disclosed valuation — every future round dilutes, the mark is unknowable, and a funding-market freeze (or a single bad safety event in any invasive-BCI player) could starve it.

Pre-mortem (18 months out, thesis broke): the mid-2026 registration trial enrolls slowly or surfaces a chronic-electrode degradation or surgical-safety signal; NMPA pauses to "tighten invasive-device oversight"; the BMI timeline slips past 2028; the DBS program turns out to be a me-too against entrenched Medtronic/domestic DBS players with no pricing power; and a down/flat strategic round at a haircut resets the narrative. The Big-Tech logos become a governance/control overhang rather than a tailwind.

Are multiples too high? Unknowable — valuation undisclosed. The relevant discipline: at >$160M-in-12-months of inflow the implied post-money is likely in the high-hundreds-of-millions-to-low-billions USD, which for a pre-revenue device company is a pure option on clinical + regulatory success, not a cash-flow-supported price.

Contrarian view (what the market is refusing to see): the consensus frames StairMed as "China's Neuralink" — a BMI moonshot. The under-priced truth is that the DBS line is the real near-term value: a closed-loop neuromodulation device into a proven multi-billion reimbursed market, where StairMed's low-damage-electrode edge is directly monetizable years before the BMI matters. The market is paying for the moonshot and getting the cash-flow business for free — if DBS executes. The symmetric contrarian risk: the market is also ignoring that Chinese invasive-neural-device makers may be structurally locked out of Western markets, capping the terminal TAM well below the Neuralink comparison implies.

Devil's Advocate (short-seller)

Dismantling the bull case:

  • The moat may be narrower than claimed. "1/5 the size, hundreds of times softer" is self-reported; NeuroXess fields a 256-channel flexible-electrode implant too and is ahead on manufacturing scale (Nanchang super-factory). If flexible electrodes commoditize across Chinese players, StairMed's edge collapses to capital + regulatory timing — both of which are copyable/contestable.
  • Revenue concentration risk before there's revenue: the entire thesis concentrates on one regulator (NMPA) and one country. Any invasive-device policy tightening, or a safety event at any competitor (Neuralink, Neuracle, NeuroXess), contaminates the category's approval climate.
  • The most dangerous competitor bulls underestimate is Neuracle, not Neuralink — it already has the only commercial approval + a reimbursement code, capturing the first Chinese patients and the first real-world data, even with a lower-bandwidth epidural device that may prove "good enough" for the funded indications. "Good enough + approved + reimbursed" beats "higher bandwidth + experimental."
  • Capital-allocation skepticism: running two capital-intensive clinical programs (BMI + DBS) as a first-time team risks under-resourcing both; the DBS "comparable to international systems" claim is unbenchmarked and faces Medtronic/Abbott/Boston Scientific + domestic DBS incumbents with scale and reimbursement relationships.
  • Assumptions that must hold for today's (implied) price: (a) the 40-patient trial replicates n=1 results with chronic stability; (b) NMPA approves on roughly the stated timeline with a usable reimbursement code; (c) the eligible population × price is large enough to matter by ~2028; (d) future rounds clear at flat-or-up marks. Break any one and the option is worth far less.
  • If growth/clinical disappoints by 20–30% (slower enrollment, partial endpoint, slipped timeline): for a pre-revenue option, that's not a 20–30% haircut — it can be a step-change down-round as the implied probability of the terminal payoff drops.
  • Single scenario that permanently impairs: a chronic safety/efficacy failure of the invasive cortical implant in the registration trial (electrode degradation, infection, or signal loss at n=40) — plausible enough to be the central risk, and it would impair the flagship BMI line for years.

Management Questions (ordered by information value)

  1. What is the chronic (12-month+) signal-stability and biocompatibility data for the uFINE electrode in your human implants, and how does it degrade over time?
  2. What are the primary and secondary endpoints, enrollment criteria, and target completion date of the mid-2026 40-patient registration trial, and what result constitutes success for NMPA?
  3. What is your expected NMPA approval timeline and reimbursement-code pathway for the BMI — and what is the eligible-patient population and per-device price you're underwriting to for the 2028 commercial launch?
  4. How does the DBS program differentiate clinically and commercially from Medtronic/Abbott/Boston Scientific and domestic Chinese DBS — and what is its standalone revenue timeline and margin profile?
  5. What is your current cash runway (months), monthly burn, and the milestone you intend to hit before the next raise?
  6. What was the post-money valuation of the April 2026 strategic round, and what ownership do founders/employees retain?
  7. What is your electrode manufacturing yield and capacity today, and what does it need to be — and cost — to serve "several dozen" then thousands of patients?
  8. What strategic rights (board seats, IP, distribution, RoFR, data access) did Alibaba, Tencent, and Lilly Asia Ventures receive, and how do you keep them aligned rather than controlling?
  9. Which is your primary value driver to 2028 — BMI or DBS — and how are you allocating R&D dollars and clinical bandwidth between them?
  10. What is your realistic addressable market outside China, given data-security/CFIUS scrutiny of Chinese neural devices, and is a Western (FDA/CE) pathway even part of the plan?
  11. How do you rank against NeuroXess specifically on channel count, electrode performance, and manufacturing scale — what do you have that they can't replicate?
  12. What is your IP estate (granted patents vs CAS-licensed IP), and what are the terms/exclusivity of any SIMIT/CAS technology license underpinning the electrode?
  13. What adverse events or surgical complications have occurred across your BMI and DBS implants to date, and how were they resolved?
  14. What is your realistic IPO timeline and venue (STAR / Hong Kong), and what milestones gate it?
  15. What is the next-gen "thousands-of-channels" system's timeline, and does pursuing it risk over-extending the team before the 256-channel device is commercial?

Others in bci

5 names

Where StairMed sits against the other names we cover on this beat. Each line is that company’s verdict, not a summary of it.