This research is 63 days old. No newer filing has landed, but check the primary sources before acting on a number.
A genuinely top-quartile copper growth franchise (Salobo/Sossego, sub-zero net C1 cost) shackled to a structurally impaired Canadian nickel book and a $25-30B decade capex bill — at the $26B Manara mark it is ~8x a doubling EBITDA and cheap on copper alone, but the mooted $40B IPO is a copper multiple on a book that is still ~40% nickel; it re-rates only if Canadian nickel is fixed, partnered, or spun, and it lists in 2027, not "mid-2026.
Research
The Vale Base Metals dossier
Researched July 10, 2026
The verdict
A genuinely top-quartile copper growth franchise (Salobo/Sossego, sub-zero net C1 cost) shackled to a structurally impaired Canadian nickel book and a $25-30B decade capex bill — at the $26B Manara mark it is ~8x a doubling EBITDA and cheap on copper alone, but the mooted $40B IPO is a copper multiple on a book that is still ~40% nickel; it re-rates only if Canadian nickel is fixed, partnered, or spun, and it lists in 2027, not "mid-2026."
Full research
Phase A — Understand the business
Company Overview
What it is. Vale Base Metals Limited ("VBM") is the carved-out nickel-and-copper business of Brazil's Vale S.A., incorporated as a UK private limited company on 18 February 2023, registered office at 50 Broadway, London SW1H 0DB. A financing vehicle, Vale Base Metals Capital PLC, sits alongside it. Vale spun the base-metals assets into this holdco in 2023 explicitly to (a) attract strategic capital, (b) run it with a dedicated management team and independent board, and (c) create an eventually IPO-able entity separate from the iron-ore mothership.
How it makes money. VBM is a primary-metal producer — it mines and refines and sells copper (concentrate and cathode) and nickel (Class 1 refined metal, plus ferronickel), with meaningful by-product revenue in gold, cobalt, PGMs, and silver. Two commodities, radically different economics:
Copper — the value engine. FY2025 copper segment net revenue $4,509M, adjusted EBITDA $2,757M — a ~61% EBITDA margin. Crown-jewel asset is Salobo (Carajás, Pará, Brazil), a large low-cost copper-gold mine whose gold by-product drops all-in copper cash cost to ~$603/t for FY2025 and −$642/t in Q1 2026 (negative — by-product credits exceed cash cost).
Nickel — the drag. FY2025 nickel segment net revenue $4,319M but adjusted EBITDA only $714M — a ~17% margin, gutted by the collapse in the nickel price (see Lens 4/8). Nickel all-in cost was $12,158/t in FY2025, improving sharply to $8,184/t (−48% y/y) in Q1 2026 on by-product credits and cost-out.
Scale. FY2025: 382 kt copper (+9.8% y/y) and 177 kt nickel (+10.8% y/y); net operating revenue $8,273M; adjusted EBITDA $3,355M. That places VBM among the larger diversified base-metals producers globally, with an explicit ambition (Usmar) to become a top-five producer in both copper and nickel.
Customers / contract structure. End markets are construction/grid/electrification (copper), stainless and specialty alloys plus EV batteries and aerospace/defense (Class 1 nickel). A cornerstone of the 2024 recap is a long-term offtake agreement with Manara Minerals (Saudi Arabia) attached to the equity deal — Saudi Arabia is securing high-purity copper/nickel/lithium feedstock for its Vision-2030 EV/battery/aluminum build-out. Usmar has stated ~60% of VBM's high-purity nickel goes into aerospace and defense — a premium, price-insensitive channel that partly insulates the Canadian nickel from the commodity-grade glut.
Supply Chain
Map, upstream → VBM → end customer, named:
Upstream (inputs / inbound). Sulphide ore (Canada) and laterite/sulphide ore (Brazil, Indonesia) are self-mined — VBM is vertically integrated from orebody to refined metal in Canada and Brazil, so its "suppliers" are principally energy, reagents, mining consumables, and logistics, not feedstock. Key jurisdictional partners: Sumitomo Metal Mining (SMM) — 11.5% co-owner of PT Vale Indonesia and a nickel off-taker/technical partner; the Long Harbour Processing Plant (Newfoundland) is VBM's own hydromet refinery converting Voisey's Bay concentrate to finished nickel/cobalt/copper.
The company (processing chokepoints).
Sudbury (Ontario) — one of the world's largest integrated complexes: 5 mines + mill + smelter + refinery producing Ni, Cu, Co, PGMs, Au, Ag.
Long Harbour (NL) — the single refinery that finishes Voisey's Bay output → a single-point processing dependency for that ore stream.
Onça Puma (Pará) — ferronickel smelter, two furnaces (2nd started Sept 2025, +15 ktpa → 40 ktpa site capacity).
Copper concentrate from Salobo/Sossego is largely sold as concentrate (some smelted); Salobo runs at ~32 Mtpa throughput post-expansion.
Downstream (buyers / offtake). Stainless mills, alloy houses, EV cathode makers (Vale Class 1 has historically supplied Tesla low-carbon nickel ), aerospace/defense supply chains, copper cathode buyers, and the Manara/Saudi offtake channel. Manara is separately standing up a metals-trading arm, so the Saudi relationship is evolving from passive investor to active marketing partner.
Chokepoints / single-source dependencies. (1) Long Harbour as the sole finisher of Voisey's Bay ore. (2) Indonesian regulatory permission — PTVI's operating permit (IUPK) was only extended to Dec 2035 in exchange for the MIND ID divestment; VBM does not control it. (3) The Hu'u (Indonesia) Cu-Au development depends on Indonesian permitting and infrastructure. Names present at every node — this lens passes.
Competitive Advantages (moats)
Real moats:
Tier-1, long-life orebodies. Salobo and Sossego (Carajás) are large, low-strip, gold-credited copper mines; Sudbury is a 100+ year district; Voisey's Bay is high-grade nickel-copper-cobalt sulphide. Copper mineral reserves + resources grew +6% to 53 Mt in 2025. You cannot replicate these — the moat is geological scarcity plus decades of sunk development.
By-product cost moat in copper. Salobo's gold credit pushes net C1 copper cost below zero in Q1 2026 (−$642/t) — bottom-of-the-cost-curve economics that survive any copper price.
Class 1 / low-carbon nickel differentiation. VBM's Canadian sulphide nickel is >99.8% purity Class 1 with a carbon footprint of ~4.4 t CO2e/t (Long Harbour rounds, 2020) versus the Nickel Institute Class 1 average of ~13 t and Class 2 (Indonesian NPI) of ~45 t. This is a genuine product-quality/ESG moat for aerospace, defense, and Western EV supply chains that will not use Chinese-Indonesian Class 2 — but the LME nickel price is still the reference, so the moat protects volume/channel, not price.
Sovereign/strategic backing. The Saudi PIF-Ma'aden (Manara) anchor plus offtake gives VBM a patient, deep-pocketed cornerstone and a captive Western-aligned buyer.
Bargaining power. Strong over most customers in copper (structurally scarce metal). Weak in commodity nickel — VBM is a price-taker against an Indonesian-dominated market. Weak vs. the Indonesian state (had to cede PTVI control to keep the permit).
Segments
Two segments, diverging hard — this split is the whole thesis [all figures web: Vale FY2025 Base Metals segment, 2026]:
Segment
FY2025 net revenue
FY2025 adj EBITDA
Margin
FY2025 production
Trend
Copper
$4,509M
$2,757M
~61%
382 kt (+9.8%)
Accelerating — Sossego +286% EBITDA in Q1'26, Salobo record output
Nickel
$4,319M
$714M
~17%
177 kt (+10.8%)
Volume up, profit price-suppressed; Q1'26 nickel EBITDA +576% off a trough base
Total
$8,273M
$3,355M (+131% y/y)
~41%
—
EBITDA doubling on volume + cost-out
Read: revenue is near-evenly split (~54% Cu / ~46% Ni), but copper generates ~80% of EBITDA. VBM is, economically, a copper company with a large nickel appendage that currently earns a low-teens return. Geographically: Brazil (Carajás copper + Onça Puma nickel) is the profit center; Canada (Sudbury/Thompson/Voisey's Bay nickel) is high-cost and impaired; Indonesia (PTVI) is now a 33.9% associate (equity-method, deconsolidated after the 2024 MIND ID divestment) plus the 80%-owned Hu'u option. The segment trend is the bull case (copper compounding) and the bear case (nickel destroying returns) in one table.
VBM has one landmark equity event, plus a decade-scale Capital expenditureMoney spent on long-lived things — buildings, machines, servers — rather than on running costs. commitment:
July 2023 (signed): Vale agrees to sell 13% of VBM for $3.4B — Manara Minerals 10% + Engine No. 1 3% — at an implied enterprise value of $26B.
30 April 2024 (closed):Engine No. 1 cancelled its 3% tranche; only Manara's 10% for ~$2.5B completed, alongside the offtake agreement. Post-deal cap table: Vale S.A. ~90% / Manara ~10%.
Implied marks: the $26B EV against FY2024 adjusted EBITDA (~$1.45B ) = ~18x — a rich forward mark at signing. Against FY2025's actual $3,355M EBITDA, the same $26B is only ~7.7x. The turnaround grew into the 2024 valuation rather than the valuation being cheap at inception.
Capex commitment: management has flagged $25-30B of investment over the coming decade to roughly triple copper (→900 kt) and grow nickel (→300 kt). This is the funding gravity behind the IPO — VBM needs external equity to self-fund the growth program without over-levering.
Burn/health signal: VBM is strongly FCF-generative at the EBITDA line (FY2025 EBITDA $3.36B) — this is not a cash-burning startup; it is a mature miner funding a large brownfield pipeline. The "raise" logic is growth capital + liquidity for shareholders, not survival.
Founder / CEO Signal (+private swap — replaces "Earnings Calls")
No earnings calls (private), so read the CEO's public narrative. Shaun Usmar (CEO since Oct 2024) is consistent and specific across 2025-26 interviews (Fastmarkets, Kitco, Bloomberg, BNN): the message is "turnaround by operational discipline, then IPO." Recurring, verifiable claims: EBITDA lift from ~$1.3B (2024) toward >$3B (2025); copper C1 driven negative; nickel cost −48%; brownfield copper IRRs >25% (some >50%); "top-five" ambition; and IPO-readiness pulled forward from 2027 toward mid-2026. Tone has shifted over the year from "fix the base" to "accelerate growth and get listable."Caution flag: in early 2026 the Brazilian regulator (CVM) queried Usmar's IPO comments and Vale publicly walked back the immediacy ("IPO not imminent, a lot of work to be done in Canada") — a governance tell that the parent (Pimenta) controls the timeline and is more conservative than the VBM CEO's public enthusiasm.
Cap Table, Secondary Marks & Listed-Peer Comps (+private swap)
Syndicate quality. The single outside holder is Manara Minerals — a JV of Saudi Aramco-adjacent PIF + Ma'aden. This is a sovereign strategic, not a crossover fund. Notably absent: any tier-1 crossover (Fidelity / T. Rowe / Coatue) mark that would signal IPO proximity via public-market investors. The IPO-readiness tell here is operational (cost/permit/Canada), not a mutual-fund markup.
Listed-peer comp table (for implied-valuation triangulation — VBM has no traded security). Multiples `` with source, or n/a:
Company
Ticker
EV/EBITDA
Note
Freeport-McMoRan
FCX
~7.6x fwd
Copper bellwether; trades below sector
Southern Copper
SCCO
~18.5x
Premium low-cost pure-play
Non-ferrous mining industry
—
14.9x trailing; 9.2x 3-yr median
Sector context
Lundin Mining
LUN
n/a
Diversified base metals
First Quantum
FM
n/a
Copper, jurisdiction-levered
Ivanhoe Mines
IVN
n/a
Kamoa-Kakula growth
Vale Base Metals
private
~7.7x on $26B Manara mark / FY25 EBITDA
See Lens 11
Implied-valuation read: at the sector 3-yr median (~9x) VBM's FY2025 $3.36B EBITDA → ~$30B EV; at a copper-growth premium toward Southern Copper's rating (12-15x) → $40-50B, which is the territory the $40B IPO chatter occupies. The private/jurisdiction/nickel-drag discount argues for the low end.
add · Traction & Unit Economics (Phase B private add)
Unit economics improving fast: Cu all-in −$642/t (Q1'26); Ni all-in $8,184/t (−48% y/y). Q1'26 production records: 102 kt Cu (+13%), 49 kt Ni (+12%); Sossego EBITDA +286%, nickel EBITDA +576% off trough.
Interpretation: the operating leverage is real and compounding — VBM annualizes off Q1'26 toward a ~$4.8B EBITDA run-rate, which reframes the $26B mark as ~5.4x and the $40B ask as ~8.3x. The unit-economics trajectory is the strongest single argument for the bull case.
Events that move VBM's implied value (no stock, so these move the IPO mark and the Vale parent proxy):
Copper price — the dominant swing factor. Goldman sees an ex-US deficit of 640 kt in 2026, 170 kt in 2027, Grasberg + Kamoa-Kakula restarts pushed to 2028, and structural grid/AI-datacenter demand; 2026-27 price forecasts ~$12,650-13,800/t. Bullish for ~80% of VBM EBITDA.
Nickel price — the dominant drag. Indonesia is ~60% of global supply; LME nickel near $14,550/t (4-yr lows); surplus ~261 kt forecast for 2026. Every nickel impairment (see Lens 10) is a repriced catalyst.
Voisey's Bay full ramp (H2 2026) — the $2.94B underground project (Reid Brook + Eastern Deeps) completing is a volume/cost catalyst.
Thompson consortium close (by end-2026) — up to $200M partner investment concluding the Jan-2025 strategic review; de-risks Manitoba.
IPO decision (mid-2026 → 2027) — the terminal catalyst; controlled by Vale CEO Pimenta.
Phase C — Judge people & books
Management
CEO — Shaun Usmar (since Oct 2024). High-quality, financially literate operator. Founder and ex-CEO of Triple Flag Precious Metals (streaming/royalty — he built and IPO'd it), former CFO of Barrick Gold, senior finance roles at Xstrata. Exactly the "financial-discipline + IPO-execution" archetype you want for a carve-out-to-listing. Track record so far at VBM is quantified and delivering — EBITDA +131%, costs down hard, projects re-scoped cheaper (Bacaba capex cut >40%). This is a professional-manager (not founder) profile — appropriate for a turnaround-and-list mandate.
Chairman — Gustavo Pimenta (since 25 June 2025). Vale S.A.'s CEO; took the VBM chair from Mark Cutifani (ex-Anglo American CEO, inaugural VBM chairman who architected the carve-out and stepped down June 2025). Having the parent CEO chair the sub keeps the IPO decision firmly at Vale-group level — good for capital discipline, but it means VBM's timeline serves Vale's agenda, not VBM minority holders'.
Capital allocation: the visible moves are disciplined — cutting project capex intensity, bringing in partners (Thompson, PTVI/MIND ID) to share Canadian nickel risk, prioritizing high-IRR copper brownfields over greenfield nickel. Skin in the game: as a private sub, no public insider-ownership data; Usmar's alignment is via VBM comp/equity, not disclosed. n/a — private, not disclosed.
Red flags (governance): the CVM query into Usmar's IPO comments and Vale's public walk-back (Lens 6) is a mild promotional/communication flag — the CEO is more forward-leaning on timing than the parent will confirm.
Forensic Red Flags
The single biggest red flag is the Canadian nickel impairment cascade:
2024: impairment of $1,945M on Thompson + Newfoundland & Labrador nickel CGUs.
2025: further $1,745M on the Newfoundland & Labrador CGU plus $1,735M of goodwill written off across the Canadian nickel CGUs — a Q4 loss event ("Vale posts $3.8B Q4 loss on nickel impairment").
Cumulative Canadian nickel impairments ~$5.4B across 2024-25, driven explicitly by reduced long-term nickel price assumptions. This is not accounting aggression — it is honest write-down of assets the market has structurally repriced. But it tells you the carrying value of the Canadian nickel base has been halved-plus, and a book that needs $5.4B of write-offs before an IPO is a book with a valuation problem, not just a price problem.
Other forensic notes:
By-product accounting: copper's headline negative C1 cost depends on gold and nickel by-product credits — a legitimate but price-sensitive construct. If gold or nickel fall, the flattering all-in copper cost rises. Watch the by-product-credit assumption in any S-1.
Deconsolidation optics: PTVI moved from consolidated subsidiary to 33.9% equity-method associate in 2024 — a structural change that removes Indonesian nickel volume/revenue from the consolidated top line while retaining exposure. Any VBM standalone financials must be read carefully across the pre/post-2024 boundary.
Segment-reporting dependency: because VBM has no audited standalone accounts, all numbers here are parent-segment-derived. The forensic caveat is that IPO-track audited financials do not yet exist publicly — a material information gap.
Regulatory findings (required sub-section).
SEC (EDGAR): No CIK — VBM is private and files nothing with the SEC. No LR/AAER search possible.
Non-SEC / material litigation — Onça Puma (Brazil), a VBM nickel asset. Serious and live indigenous/environmental liability. Brazil's Federal Public Ministry alleged Cateté-River heavy-metal contamination (lead/mercury/nickel) affecting Xikrin and Kayapó communities; a University of Pará study found unsafe metal levels in ~all 720 surveyed people. TRF1 ordered operations suspended (Nov 2018) and R$100M compensation; settlements were signed with Xikrin (Dec 2021) and Kayapó (Feb 2022). On 21 February 2025 Brazil's Federal Prosecutor's Office filed a fresh suit against Vale, the federal government, and Pará demanding long-term health accountability. Onça Puma has been court-halted before — a recurring operational/ESG tail risk on the nickel side.
Verdict: No SEC findings (none possible). One material, recurring ESG/legal exposure (Onça Puma) that any IPO prospectus must disclose. Verified via SEC EDGAR EFTS (no CIK), web search, and public litigation records as of 2026-07-10.
Audited standalone financials across the 2024 PTVI-deconsolidation boundary — not yet public.
Fix or partner Canadian nickel — Thompson consortium (close by end-2026) and a resolution of the Sudbury/NL cost problem; management concedes "a lot of work to be done in Canada." A possible outcome is partial divestment of Canadian nickel to purify the copper story pre-IPO.
Voisey's Bay full ramp (H2 2026) delivering volume/cost proof.
A supportive commodity tape — copper firm (it is), nickel not deteriorating further.
Parent (Pimenta) green-light — the binding gate.
Estimated window: Usmar is pushing "IPO-ready by mid-2026," but the parent's public caution + the audited-financials gap + the Canadian work make a 2027 listing the realistic base case, with mid/late-2026 "readiness" and an actual float only if markets and nickel cooperate.
Implied-valuation ladder (the private analogue of an EPS projection; all ``, inputs labeled):
Anchor: Manara mark $26B EV (Apr 2024) = ~7.7x FY2025 EBITDA ($3.36B) / ~5.4x Q1'26 annualized run-rate ($4.8B).
Bear ~$24-28B: nickel stays impaired, copper multiple ~7-8x on $3.4-3.8B EBITDA. Roughly the Manara mark — no re-rate.
Base ~$32-38B: copper EBITDA compounds toward a ~$4.5-5B group EBITDA run-rate; ~8-9x blended (copper-weighted, nickel-discounted, private/jurisdiction haircut).
Bull ~$40-48B: the IPO narrative becomes "copper growth pure-play with a low-carbon nickel option," copper price >$13k/t, Canadian nickel fixed/spun, multiple re-rates to 9-10x on a $4.8-5B run-rate. This is the $40B IPO case the bankers are floating.
Forecast log: skipped — --watchlist unattended, and a private pre-IPO name has no EPS/binary to Brier-score cleanly; the IPO event and mark are the trackable objects, better logged as a our position log catalyst than a our model line.
Bull vs Bear
Bull case. VBM is one of the few Western-aligned, tier-1 copper growth stories at scale, with bottom-of-curve costs (negative net C1 at Salobo), a credible pipeline of >25% IRR brownfields (Bacaba 1H28, Salobo expansion 2029, Hu'u optionality), reserves growing (+6% to 53 Mt Cu), a doubling EBITDA, a disciplined ex-Triple-Flag CEO, a sovereign anchor (Saudi PIF) with offtake, and a low-carbon Class-1 nickel franchise levered to aerospace/defense and Western EV supply chains that structurally cannot use Indonesian Class 2. Copper is in structural deficit (Goldman 640 kt 2026). If it lists into a firm copper tape as "the Western copper compounder," a $40B mark is defensible.
Bear case (permanent-impairment candidates). (1) Canadian nickel is structurally, not cyclically, impaired — $5.4B written off in two years, high cost, court-halt-prone (Onça Puma on the Brazil side too), and Indonesia's ~60% share caps the price indefinitely. (2) Capital intensity — a $25-30B decade capex program funded partly by an IPO you haven't done yet; execution/cost-overrun risk in Brazil and Indonesia (Hu'u is only pre-feasibility). (3) The multiple is a story, not a fact — a book that is ~40% nickel revenue at ~17% margins does not deserve a copper-pure-play multiple; the gap between the $26B Manara mark and the $40B IPO hope is the nickel-and-execution risk premium.
Pre-mortem (18 months out, thesis broke): copper softened toward $8-9k/t as US tariff-driven stockpiling reversed and the 2026 surplus fears returned; nickel stayed sub-$15k with another impairment; the Canadian strategic review dragged; the IPO was postponed again to 2028; the $40B talk quietly became "$28-30B, subject to market conditions."
Are multiples too high? The aspirational IPO multiple (>10x) is too high for the current book mix. The anchor Manara multiple (~7.7x FY25 / ~5.4x run-rate) is cheap if copper holds. The market is refusing to see that VBM's near-term value is almost entirely the Brazilian copper franchise — and pricing it partly as a nickel company that keeps writing down assets.
Contrarian view: the smart pre-IPO structure is not one IPO — it's fix/spin the Canadian nickel first, list the copper franchise clean. Watch for that.
Devil's Advocate (short-seller)
Dismantling the bull case:
Revenue concentration: strip the accounting and VBM's profit is concentrated in two Brazilian copper mines (Salobo + Sossego). Carajás jurisdiction, licensing, indigenous, and hydrology risk sit under ~80% of EBITDA. Brazil is not a low-risk mining jurisdiction (see Onça Puma; see parent Vale's Brumadinho/Mariana history at group level).
The moat is price-taking on the drag: the vaunted Class-1 nickel moat protects channel, not price. VBM still marks nickel to a collapsed LME — hence $5.4B of impairments. A moat that doesn't stop you writing down half the asset base isn't protecting the P&L.
Most dangerous competitor bulls underestimate:Indonesia itself (and its Chinese-backed HPAL builders) — they have already destroyed the Western nickel price and are moving down the purity curve toward battery-grade, threatening the last redoubt of Class-1 pricing.
Worst capital-allocation exposure: a $25-30B program in Brazil + Indonesia (Hu'u), pre-IPO, with a parent that needs the cash and a sovereign minority that wants offtake — misaligned incentives between growth-for-IPO-optics and returns.
What must hold for the $40B mark: copper >$12k/t sustained, nickel not falling further, no new impairment, no Onça Puma/Carajás disruption, Canadian nickel resolved, and a receptive IPO window. That's a lot of ANDs.
If growth disappoints 20-30%: the copper-multiple narrative evaporates; VBM re-rates to a diversified-miner ~6-7x and the mark compresses toward $24-28B — i.e., you'd have paid up for a story that reverted to the Manara price.
Single permanent-impairment scenario: a sustained nickel sub-$13k combined with a Carajás licensing/hydrology shock — the copper cash engine stutters while the nickel book keeps bleeding. Plausibility: moderate; the copper leg is genuinely strong, which is why this is a "quality company, watch the price/mix" short, not a fraud short.
Management Questions (ordered by information value)
Will Canadian nickel (Sudbury, Thompson, NL) be retained, partnered, or divested before the IPO — and would you list the copper franchise separately if nickel isn't fixed?
What is the audited standalone EBITDA and net debt of VBM across the 2024 PTVI-deconsolidation boundary, on a like-for-like basis?
After $5.4B of 2024-25 nickel impairments, what long-term nickel price underpins the current carrying values, and how much further downside exists?
What is the firm IPO timeline and venue, and does the parent (Pimenta) endorse the CEO's "mid-2026" readiness given the CVM query?
How is the $25-30B decade capex funded across IPO proceeds, VBM cash flow, and parent support — and what is the assumed leverage ceiling?
What are the unlevered project IRRs and capex ranges for Bacaba, the Salobo expansion, and Hu'u at $9k/t and $12k/t copper?
What does the Manara offtake actually commit — volumes, pricing formula, tenor — and does it cap VBM's exposure to spot copper/nickel upside?
Sudbury and Thompson are decades old — what is the remaining mine life and sustaining-capital profile, and the cost curve at current nickel prices?
What is the current and post-2035 status of the PTVI IUPK permit, and VBM's governance rights as a 33.9% associate under MIND ID control?
What is the resolution path and maximum liability on Onça Puma (Feb-2025 federal suit) and other Carajás/indigenous exposures?
How much of copper's negative net C1 cost depends on gold/nickel by-product credits, and what does it look like at $2,500/oz gold and $13k/t nickel?
What share of nickel volume is contracted into aerospace/defense/premium channels at price premia vs. LME-referenced spot?
What is the decarbonization capex required to preserve the low-carbon Class-1 nickel advantage, and its cost per tonne?
What return-of-capital policy (dividend/buyback) will VBM adopt as a listed entity, given a heavy growth-capex phase?
What is the downside plan if the IPO window is unavailable in 2026-27 — does VBM stay 90% Vale-owned, seek another strategic, or slow the capex?
Company details
Industry
Critical Materials
Others in critical materials5 names
Where Vale Base Metals sits against the other names we cover on this beat. Each line is that company’s verdict, not a summary of it.