From readers
How reader reviews workRun Precision Neuroscience? Claim this page and reply to readers.
More about Precision Neuroscience
The only FDA-cleared, commercially-shipping cortical BCI — but it is selling a 30-day surgical-monitoring tool, not the chronic implant the $500M valuation is priced on; Medtronic is the real tell, IP overhang from Rapoport's Neuralink past is the real risk.
- Beat
- bci neuroscience
- Stage
- Series C
- Last valuation
- ~$500M
- Raised
- $155M
- Researched · Fresh
- 135 days ago
Company details
| Industry | Neurotech & BCI |
| Funding | |
| Stage | Series C |
| Valuation | ~$500M |
| Raised | $155M |
| Lead investors | General Equity HoldingsB CapitalDuquesne Family Office (Stanley Druckenmiller)Steadview Capital |
| Website | Visit Precision Neuroscience |
- Understand the business: Company Overview, 350 words, no filing mention
- Understand the business: Supply Chain, 285 words, no filing mention
- Understand the business: Competitive Advantages (moats), 312 words, no filing mention
- Understand the business: Segments, 85 words, no filing mention
- Measure performance: Funding & Valuation Trajectory (+private swap), 247 words, no filing mention
- Measure performance: Founder & Narrative Signal (+private swap — founder interviews, not earnings calls), 153 words, no filing mention
- Measure performance: Cap Table & Competitive Marks (+private swap), 246 words, no filing mention
- Measure performance: Catalysts & Inflection Events (price-move proxy for a private), 151 words, no filing mention
- Judge people & books: Management, 198 words, no filing mention
- Judge people & books: Forensic / Diligence Red Flags, 341 words, no filing mention
- Project & stress-test: IPO-Readiness & Path-to-Tradeable (+private swap), 268 words, 4 filing mentions
- Project & stress-test: Bull vs Bear, 509 words, no filing mention
- Project & stress-test: Devil's Advocate (short-seller), 366 words, no filing mention
- Project & stress-test: Management Questions (ordered by information value), 353 words, no filing mention
The Precision Neuroscience dossier
The verdict
The only FDA-cleared, commercially-shipping cortical BCI — but it is selling a 30-day surgical-monitoring tool, not the chronic implant the $500M valuation is priced on; Medtronic is the real tell, IP overhang from Rapoport's Neuralink past is the real risk.
Phase A — Understand the business
Company Overview
Precision Neuroscience builds a minimally-invasive cortical brain-computer interface (BCI). Its product, the Layer 7 Cortical Interface, is a thin-film microelectrode array — "one-fifth the thickness of a human hair" — that is slid onto the surface of the brain through a slit in the dura, without removing skull bone or penetrating brain tissue, and can be removed at the end of use. Each array carries 1,024 microelectrodes (50–380 µm diameter); the company has deployed up to 4,096 electrodes across four arrays in a single procedure, which it bills as "hundreds of times higher" spatial resolution than legacy clinical ECoG grids.
The business model is the most important and most misunderstood thing about this company. Precision is not, today, in the business of restoring function to paralyzed patients with a permanent implant. What it actually sells — as of the FDA clearance — is a 30-day implantable, high-resolution cortical-monitoring and mapping device aimed at the operating room and neuro-critical-care unit: intraoperative functional brain mapping (e.g. during tumor or epilepsy surgery) and short-term monitoring. The chronic, wireless, paralysis-restoration implant — the thing the press and the valuation associate with the name — is still in development, with first-in-human studies targeted for 2026.
- Founded: 2021 (founders began groundwork ~2020), HQ New York City, with offices in Santa Clara CA, Addison TX, and a MEMS fabrication facility near Dallas acquired Oct 2023 — notable: they own their thin-film manufacturing.
- Customers (today): hospitals / academic neurosurgery centers — Mount Sinai, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, West Virginia University's Rockefeller Neuroscience Institute have run procedures. This is a clinical-tool sale to surgeons, B2B/B2-hospital — not a consumer or direct-to-patient model.
- Suppliers: vertically integrated on the electrode array (own MEMS fab); the surgical-navigation layer is now Medtronic (StealthStation) via the Jan 2026 partnership.
- Competitors: Neuralink (intracortical, penetrating), Synchron (endovascular stentrode), Paradromics (intracortical), Blackrock Neurotech (legacy Utah array) — see Lens 3/7.
- Contract structure:
n/a — private, not disclosed. No pricing, no recurring-revenue disclosure, no take-or-pay. The Layer 7 is a capital/clinical device; revenue model (per-procedure consumable vs. capital placement) is undisclosed.
Supply Chain
Map: specialty polymer & thin-film substrates → Precision's own MEMS fab (Dallas) → Layer 7 array + customized hardware interface → (now) Medtronic StealthStation integration → neurosurgeon → hospital → patient.
- Upstream inputs: microfabrication-grade polyimide/thin-film + microelectrode materials. Precision owns the critical fabrication step — the MEMS facility near Dallas (acquired Oct 2023) — which is a deliberate moat choice: the hardest part of a 1,024-electrode conformal array is yield, and they took it in-house. Specific raw-material suppliers are not disclosed.
- The company: array design + AI decoding stack. ML led by Craig Mermel (ex-Apple/Google health).
- Midstream / channel: the Medtronic partnership is the single most important node added in the last 12 months. It plugs Layer 7 into the StealthStation surgical-navigation platform — i.e. into a system surgeons already have in the OR — shortening the path to clinical adoption. Medtronic is the world's largest pure-play medtech company; this is Precision's distribution chokepoint and de-risks the commercial channel enormously.
- Downstream buyers: neurosurgery departments at academic medical centers; eventually (chronic device) paralysis/ALS/stroke patients via implant centers.
- Chokepoints / single-source dependencies:
- Own MEMS fab = single point of manufacturing. Vertical integration is a moat and a single-site concentration risk.
- Medtronic as channel — powerful, but a partnership Precision does not control; terms undisclosed.
- Surgeon workflow — adoption depends on neurosurgeons changing intraoperative practice; the Medtronic integration is precisely the move to neutralize this.
Names-or-it-didn't-happen check: suppliers (raw thin-film) — undisclosed; fab — Precision (Dallas); navigation — Medtronic StealthStation; clinical sites — Mount Sinai, UPenn, WVU Rockefeller; investors — Lens 7. The genuinely missing link is the upstream materials supplier, which a private company is not obliged to name.
Competitive Advantages (moats)
Precision's wedge is a specific bet on the resolution-vs-invasiveness frontier: maximize electrode count and resolution while staying on the brain surface (reversible, no tissue penetration), rather than penetrating the cortex (Neuralink/Paradromics) or going endovascular (Synchron).
Durable moats (ranked by my confidence):
- Regulatory first-mover — the strongest real moat. Layer 7 is, per the company, the first next-generation/wireless-class BCI to receive FDA 510(k) clearance (K242618), authorizing commercial use. Neuralink and Paradromics are operating under IDE/investigational pathways; Synchron is also still investigational. A commercial clearance — even a narrow 30-day one — is a tangible, defensible lead in a field where everyone else is pre-market. It came via 510(k) predicate equivalence (faster) plus a Breakthrough Device designation (May 2023).
- Owned thin-film manufacturing (MEMS fab). High-yield conformal 1,024-electrode arrays are a hard process problem; owning the fab is a process/scale moat and a barrier to a fast follower.
- Reversibility as a clinical-safety story. Because the film sits on the surface and is removable, the immune-response / encapsulation / scar-tissue problem that degrades penetrating electrodes is structurally smaller — the literature is explicit that surface arrays have a less problematic immune response than penetrating ones. This is the safety wedge for regulators and surgeons.
- Founder pedigree / IP. Ben Rapoport is a credentialed neurosurgeon-engineer (Harvard MD, MIT PhD) and an eight-member co-founder of Neuralink who left in 2018 — the micro-slit insertion technique is his invention.
Bargaining power: weak-to-neutral today. Precision needs surgeons and Medtronic more than they need Precision; it has no installed base to lock in. Its leverage is the FDA clearance and the resolution spec. Patent estate is genuinely undisclosed — I could not source a patent count or specific claims. This is a real gap and a Lens-13 risk: the moat narrative leans on "proprietary thin-film + micro-slit," but the actual patent wall is unverified from public sources.
Segments
n/a — private, not disclosed. There is no revenue, no segment, no geography breakdown — our figures and our figures in the research layer are empty headers, and the company discloses no P&L. Functionally the company has one product line (Layer 7) at the very start of commercialization and zero disclosed revenue. Any segment table would be fabrication. The meaningful "segmentation" is by use-case stage: (a) shipping today — 30-day surgical mapping/monitoring; (b) in development — chronic wireless paralysis/ALS/stroke restoration (first-in-human target 2026). All.
Phase B — Measure performance
(Operating Phase B is swapped for the +private traction/funding lenses; there are no earnings.)
Funding & Valuation Trajectory (+private swap)
| Round | Date | Amount | Lead | Notable co-investors | Implied post-money |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Series A | May 2021 | $12M | Steadview Capital | — | n/a — not disclosed |
| Series B | Jan 2023 | $41M | Forepont Capital Partners | B Capital, Mubadala Capital, Draper Associates, Alumni Ventures, re.Mind Capital | n/a — not disclosed |
| Series C | Dec 2024 | $102M | General Equity Holdings | B Capital, Duquesne Family Office (Druckenmiller), Steadview | ~$500M |
All figures. Total raised ≈ $180–183M as of Jan 2026 (sources split: Wikipedia "$180M", Tracxn "$183M over 6 rounds / 11 investors") — I carry ~$180M and flag the $3M discrepancy rather than picking silently.
Read: the funding quality stepped up materially at Series C. Series A/B were specialist/strategic (Steadview, Mubadala, Draper). Series C added Druckenmiller's family office (Duquesne) — a serious macro/equity name — and General Equity Holdings as lead, at a clean ~$500M post-money. That is a 2024-vintage crossover-adjacent signal, though not yet a Fidelity/T. Rowe/Coatue mutual-fund mark (the classic IPO-proximity tell — see Lens 7).
Burn signal: with ~$180M raised over five years and an owned fab + ~3 offices + a clinical program across multiple hospitals + an AI team, the implied burn is heavy. Runway is undisclosed, but a $102M round in Dec 2024 plus the Nov 2025 SCI Ventures top-up suggests they were re-stocking capital ~12 months after Series C — consistent with a high-burn, pre-revenue (or near-zero-revenue) medtech. They will need another large raise to fund the chronic-implant trials; that round is the next valuation event.
Founder & Narrative Signal (+private swap — founder interviews, not earnings calls)
No earnings calls exist. The "sentiment" read is from founder communications:
- CSO Ben Rapoport's consistent message: for BCI to become clinical reality it must be "extremely safe and scalable" — he frames the entire company as a reaction to the invasiveness of penetrating approaches (implicitly, Neuralink). This is a disciplined, durable narrative — it has not drifted in 4 years, which is a credibility positive.
- CEO Michael Mager (Harvard AB, Cambridge MPhil, CFA) runs the commercial/capital story; he is an operator/investor, not a scientist — a sensible founder-pairing (scientist + capital allocator).
- Tone shift over time: the messaging has moved from "thinner than a hair / safer than Neuralink" (2023) to "FDA-cleared, commercializing, Medtronic-partnered, building the chronic device" (2025–26). That is the right maturation arc — from science-PR to commercial-execution — and the milestones (clearance, Medtronic) back the words with facts. No promotional red flags detected in the public record.
Cap Table & Competitive Marks (+private swap)
Syndicate quality (Precision): Steadview (crossover-capable), Mubadala (sovereign), B Capital, Draper, Duquesne/Druckenmiller (Series C), General Equity Holdings (lead C), plus mission-aligned SCI Ventures (Reeve Foundation-backed) in Nov 2025. Solid, escalating quality — but no tier-1 venture brand (a16z/Sequoia/Founders Fund) and no mutual-fund crossover (Fidelity/T. Rowe) on the public cap table. That matters for Lens 11: the IPO-proximity tell is absent.
Competitive valuation marks — the comp set that actually matters (by approach, not P/E; there are no earnings):
| Company | Approach | Latest known valuation / raise | Patients / status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Neuralink | Intracortical (penetrating, robotic) | ~$9.6B (May 2025, $600M round); +$650M Series E Apr 2026; ~$1.85B total | PRIME human study underway | |
| Synchron | Endovascular stentrode (no craniotomy) | ~$1B (Nov 2025, $200M Series D, Double Point Ventures) | 10 implanted, >12mo chronic | |
| Precision Neuroscience | Surface thin-film (reversible) | ~$500M (Dec 2024 Series C) | 68+ (acute/subchronic, ≤30d); FDA-cleared | |
| Paradromics | Intracortical (high-bandwidth) | ~$108M total raised (NEOM-led Feb 2025); valuation undisclosed | Early human | |
| Blackrock Neurotech | Legacy Utah array | n/a | Longest human history |
Read: Precision sits third by valuation ($500M) behind Neuralink ($9.6B) and roughly level-to-below Synchron (~$1B). It is the only one of the five with a commercial FDA clearance and the highest patient count on its specific modality (68+), yet is marked below Synchron. The market is paying for chronic-implant optionality (Neuralink, Synchron) over near-term commercial clearance (Precision) — because Precision's clearance is for a 30-day tool, not the restoration implant. That is the central valuation tension of this name.
Catalysts & Inflection Events (price-move proxy for a private)
No stock; the "what moves the mark" events are funding/clinical/regulatory:
- FDA 510(k) clearance (Apr 2025, K242618) — the franchise-defining event; first commercial BCI clearance.
- Medtronic partnership (Jan 12, 2026) — the commercial-distribution de-risk; arguably more important to the equity story than any single trial.
- Series C at ~$500M (Dec 2024) + SCI Ventures (Nov 2025) — capital + mission validation.
- Breakthrough Device designation (May 2023) and first-in-human (Jun 2023, WVU) — the credibility on-ramp.
- Patient-count milestones — 37 → 47 → 68+ across 2025 into Jan 2026 — the clinical-velocity signal.
What the "market" (private investors) actually reacts to for this name: regulatory clearances and brand-name partnerships/investors, far more than incremental patient data. The Medtronic and Druckenmiller signals moved perception more than any single recording result. Next catalysts: chronic wireless first-in-human (targeted 2026), the next (large) financing, and any expanded FDA indication beyond 30 days.
Phase C — Judge people & books
Management
- Benjamin Rapoport — Founder & CSO. Harvard MD + MIT PhD (EECS), practicing neurosurgeon, co-founder (8-member founding team) of Neuralink, left 2018. Invented the micro-slit insertion technique. Track record: genuine scientific founder, deep domain credibility, and rare dual surgeon-engineer profile. This is the asset and the liability — see Lens 10/13 on the Neuralink lineage.
- Michael Mager — Co-founder & CEO. Harvard AB, Cambridge MPhil (economic history), CFA; operator/investor background. Runs capital + commercialization. The Series A→C escalation and the Medtronic deal are points on his scorecard.
- Craig Mermel — ML lead. Senior health-ML pedigree (ex-Apple/Google health) — signals the company takes the decoding/AI layer (not just the electrode) seriously.
- Tenure / skin in the game: founders intact since inception (4–5 yrs) — high continuity, a positive. Precise insider-ownership %:
n/a — private, not disclosed. - Capital allocation: disciplined and legible — raised in proportion to milestones; the single boldest, best capital-allocation call was buying the Dallas MEMS fab (Oct 2023) to own manufacturing. No value-destructive M&A, no promotional behavior.
- Archetype: scientist-founder + professional-allocator CEO — well-suited to a clinical-stage hardware company that must both invent and navigate FDA + raise large rounds.
Forensic / Diligence Red Flags
No financial statements exist to forensically dissect (private, no filings) — so this lens re-points (per the +private/clinical spirit) to diligence and structural risks:
- Revenue-vs-narrative gap (the biggest one). The valuation and press attach to "restore movement to the paralyzed," but the cleared, shipping product is a 30-day surgical-monitoring/mapping device. An investor must underwrite the unbuilt chronic implant, not the cleared one. This is not accounting fraud — it is expectation risk, and it is large.
- Undisclosed patent estate. The moat story rests on proprietary thin-film + micro-slit IP, but no public patent count/claims are sourceable. Unverifiable IP behind a competitive-moat claim is a diligence flag.
- 510(k) predicate strategy = a ceiling, not just a shortcut. Precision reached market fast via 510(k) substantial-equivalence + a 30-day limit, explicitly avoiding the years-long chronic-implant pathway. The chronic device will face the full PMA-class regulatory burden the company has so far side-stepped — a future cost/time risk that today's clearance does not de-risk.
- Single-site manufacturing concentration (own Dallas fab) — supply continuity risk.
Regulatory findings (required sub-section). Per regulatory/regulatory-findings.md (Stage-1 pre-fetch): Precision Neuroscience has no CIK and is not an SEC filer — total_sec_findings: 0; no EDGAR Litigation Releases or AAERs are possible. Non-SEC web search ("Precision Neuroscience" (FTC OR DOJ OR FDA OR consent decree OR settlement OR fine OR penalty)) returned no enforcement actions, consent decrees, fines, or penalties. Critically, the targeted search for litigation/IP dispute between Precision and Neuralink returned nothing — despite Rapoport's Neuralink co-founder lineage and a directly competing thin-film electrode approach, no public suit, no trade-secret claim, no injunction is on record. That clean record is itself a finding: the most obvious legal landmine for this company (a Neuralink IP/trade-secret action against its own ex-co-founder) has not — yet — detonated. Conclusion: No material regulatory or legal findings — verified via SEC EDGAR EFTS (no CIK → none possible), targeted web search (FTC/DOJ/FDA/IP), and Neuralink-dispute search, as of 2026-06-18. The FDA relationship is, to date, favorable (Breakthrough designation + 510(k) clearance), not adversarial.
Phase D — Project & stress-test
IPO-Readiness & Path-to-Tradeable (+private swap)
Readiness grade: ~3 / 5 ("late-stage," not yet pre-IPO/imminent). Grading rubric from private-watch.json (3=late-stage; 4=pre-IPO/secondary-active; 5=S-1 filed). Note: Precision is not in private-watch.json — for context, the file marks BCI peers Neuralink and Synchron at readiness 3 as well; Precision belongs in the same band, arguably a half-step behind on capital scale.
The bull milestones already hit: FDA commercial clearance ✓, brand-name strategic (Medtronic) ✓, serious capital (~$180M, Druckenmiller) ✓, real clinical velocity (68+ patients) ✓.
The milestones that gate an S-1 (still open):
- Revenue. A 510(k)-cleared device with commercial revenue ramp (Medtronic-channel) is the precondition for a credible medtech IPO. Today's disclosed revenue is effectively zero. This is the binding constraint.
- Chronic-implant clinical proof. First-in-human chronic/wireless (targeted 2026) is the value-inflection event that justifies a >$1B mark and an IPO narrative beyond "surgical accessory."
- A crossover/mutual-fund round. No Fidelity/T. Rowe/Coatue mark yet — that round typically precedes a medtech S-1 by 12–24 months.
Estimated window: not before 2027–2028, and contingent on (a) the chronic-device readout and (b) a commercial-revenue base off the Medtronic channel. The nearer-term tradeable event is more likely a large private round or a strategic acquisition (Medtronic is the obvious acquirer) than an IPO. Forge/Linqto list pre-IPO secondary interest, confirming a secondary market exists but not that an IPO is scheduled.
Per the SKILL, the --watchlist loop does not log a Brier forecast and does not write back to private-watch.json (no entry exists; write-back is out of scope for this unattended wave). The scoreable binary to track on a future pass: "Precision Neuroscience files an S-1 or is acquired before 2028-06-30."
Bull vs Bear
Bull case. Precision is the only company that has converted BCI from science project to FDA-cleared commercial product, and it did so on the safest modality — reversible, surface, no tissue damage — which is the modality regulators and the broad neurosurgical market are most willing to adopt. It owns its hardest manufacturing step (the fab), it has signed the dominant medtech distributor (Medtronic) into its OR workflow, and it has a credentialed scientist-founder with a disciplined safety thesis. At ~$500M vs Neuralink's ~$9.6B and Synchron's ~$1B, it is the cheapest serious name in the category while arguably having the most de-risked near-term commercial path. If the chronic wireless device clears first-in-human in 2026 and the Medtronic channel turns the 30-day device into real revenue, the next mark re-rates toward Synchron's ~$1B+ and an IPO/acquisition window opens 2027–28. The contrarian read: the market is over-paying for penetrating-electrode "sci-fi" (Neuralink) and under-paying the company actually selling a cleared product.
Bear case. Three risks that could permanently impair the thesis:
- The resolution ceiling is physics, not effort. Surface arrays fundamentally capture less information than penetrating electrodes. If high-bandwidth restoration (fluent speech, dexterous control) requires intracortical signal, Precision's safety-first modality is structurally capped out of the highest-value applications — and is left with the lower-value surgical-monitoring niche.
- The chronic implant may never match the 30-day device's safety story. Scar tissue and electrode degradation hit all long-dwell arrays; the reversible-safety advantage that won the 510(k) erodes the moment the device is meant to stay in for years. The PMA-class regulatory burden it has so far avoided then lands in full.
- Neuralink IP overhang. Rapoport co-founded Neuralink and left in 2018; Precision competes directly in thin-film electrodes. No suit exists today — but the structural exposure does. A trade-secret or patent action from a $9.6B competitor would be existential for a $500M company.
Pre-mortem (18 months out, thesis broke): the chronic first-in-human slipped or under-read; the 30-day device generated negligible revenue because hospitals didn't change intraoperative workflow even with Medtronic; a down or flat round (or a cram-down) reset the ~$500M mark; and/or a Neuralink legal action emerged. The most likely single failure is #2 — "great surgical tool, but the restoration implant is years late and the company is just a niche OR-monitoring vendor at a venture-inflated price."
Are the marks too high? ~$500M for a pre-revenue, single-cleared-product medtech is rich on fundamentals but cheap on optionality relative to peers. It is priced as a call option on the chronic implant, not on the 30-day device. Reasonable, but it is an option, not a value.
Contrarian view — what the market refuses to see: the Medtronic deal quietly reframes Precision from "Neuralink rival" to "Medtronic's BCI on-ramp / acquisition target." The realistic exit may not be an IPO racing Neuralink at all — it may be getting bought by Medtronic once the 30-day device proves the channel. That is a good outcome at ~$500M-in, and the market is mispricing it as a moonshot when it is increasingly a strategic-M&A story.
Devil's Advocate (short-seller)
Dismantling the bull case:
- What structurally breaks the way it makes money: it doesn't make money yet. The cleared product is a 30-day surgical accessory in a market (intraoperative mapping) that already has incumbents and entrenched surgeon habits. If neurosurgeons don't re-tool — even with Medtronic — there is no revenue, and the entire valuation is back-loaded onto an unbuilt chronic device.
- Concentration risk: total dependence on one product, one modality, one fab, and now one channel partner (Medtronic). Any one cracking (a fab problem, Medtronic deprioritizing, the modality proving signal-capped) impairs the whole.
- Why the moat is weaker than bulls think: the headline moat — "proprietary thin-film + micro-slit" — has no publicly verifiable patent wall. The other moat, the FDA clearance, is a narrow 30-day 510(k) that does nothing to de-risk the hard (chronic, PMA) approval still ahead. The clearance is a marketing asset more than a competitive fortress.
- Most dangerous competitor bulls underestimate: Synchron. It already has >12-month chronic human implants without craniotomy and just raised $200M at ~$1B — i.e. it has already crossed the chronic threshold on a minimally-invasive (endovascular) approach, which is exactly the milestone Precision still has to prove. Synchron, not Neuralink, is the existential comp.
- Worst capital-allocation / governance flags: none egregious — but Rapoport's Neuralink lineage is the latent governance/legal risk any short would lean on.
- Assumptions that must hold for ~$500M: (1) surface resolution is enough for high-value restoration; (2) the chronic device clears first-in-human on schedule (2026); (3) the Medtronic channel converts to revenue; (4) no Neuralink IP action. Break any one and the mark is too high.
- If growth/clinical disappoints 20–30%: because there is no revenue to compress, the damage shows up as a down round / delayed financing — for a high-burn pre-revenue name, that is the real "valuation cut" mechanism, and it can be brutal (50%+ haircuts are common for slipped clinical-stage privates).
- Single scenario that permanently impairs: surface ECoG proves insufficient for clinically meaningful chronic restoration — Precision is then locked into a niche surgical-tool TAM at a venture price built for a restoration-implant TAM. Plausibility: moderate and the key thing to watch.
Management Questions (ordered by information value)
- The Layer 7 clearance is for a 30-day device; what is the specific FDA pathway, timeline, and cost for the chronic, wireless implant, and how much of today's 510(k) actually carries over?
- Is surface ECoG information-rich enough for clinically meaningful chronic restoration (fluent speech, dexterous control), or is there a resolution ceiling that caps the addressable use-cases vs. intracortical approaches?
- What is the commercial revenue ramp of the cleared 30-day device, and what does the Medtronic partnership economics look like (revenue share, exclusivity, who owns the customer)?
- Runway and next raise: how long does current capital last, what milestones does it fund, and is the next round expected to be a crossover/IPO-prep round?
- Patent estate: how many issued patents protect the thin-film array and micro-slit technique, and what specifically blocks a fast follower (or Neuralink)?
- Given Dr. Rapoport's Neuralink co-founding history, what is the clean-room / IP-provenance posture, and has Neuralink ever asserted (or threatened) any claim?
- What is the chronic-implant safety data to date on scar tissue / signal degradation over months, and how does it compare to the 30-day profile?
- Is the realistic exit an IPO or a strategic acquisition (e.g. Medtronic), and what would have to be true for each by 2028?
- What is the manufacturing capacity and single-site risk of the Dallas MEMS fab, and is there a second-source plan?
- How does the decoding/AI stack (Mermel's group) create durable advantage independent of the electrode — is the data moat real and proprietary?
- What reimbursement / CMS coverage path exists for both the 30-day device and a future chronic implant?
- Which indication (surgical mapping vs. ALS vs. stroke vs. paralysis) is the first real revenue driver, and on what timeline?
- How do you defend vs. Synchron, which already has >12-month chronic human implants on a minimally-invasive approach?
- What is the insider/founder ownership and the cap-table structure after Series C (option pool, preferences)?
- What would you consider the single biggest risk to the company over the next 24 months, and how are you mitigating it?
Others in bci neuroscience
5 namesWhere Precision Neuroscience sits against the other names we cover on this beat. Each line is that company’s verdict, not a summary of it.
Neuralink
The category's brand and bandwidth leader, but the bet is binary on durable signal-at-scale and CMS reimbursement
Paradromics
The highest-bandwidth intracortical BCI just put its wireless device in a human brain (17 Jun 2026)
Synchron
The safest, most surgically scalable path into the brain and the only BCI Apple made a native input
Blackrock Neurotech
The most-implanted BCI on Earth and the worst-capitalized relative to its peers
Motif Neurotech
A blueberry-sized, battery-free epidural stimulator with a Medtronic-grade team and a clean FDA IDE
28 mentions across our dossiers
- RIVALNeuralink×6
- BOTHMedtronic×5
- RIVALSynchron×4
- RIVALBlackrock Neurotech×3
- RIVALInbrain Neuroelectronics×3
- RIVALParadromics×2
- RIVALAxoft×1
- RIVALCorTec×1
- RIVALMotif Neurotech×1
- RIVALOnward Medical×1
- RIVALScience Corporation×1
“Crucially, two departures seeded the two most credible rivals: Rapoport left citing safety concerns and founded Precision Neuroscience; Hodak (ex-president) founded Science Corp.”Neuralink · RIVAL · from Neuralink’s dossier
