A newer SEC filing has been made since this research was written — check the primary sources before acting on a number here.
This is no longer a chip stock — it's a near-closed merger-arb. TI buys SLAB for $231 cash; HSR cleared and shareholders approved, only China SAMR left, ~6% gross spread to close in 1H2027. The trade is deal certainty, not IoT growth.
Price
Weekly closes
220.50USD+0.1%hardware -0.1%SLAB · 106 weekly closes to 2026-09-18
Research
The Silicon Laboratories dossier
Researched June 20, 2026
The verdict
This is no longer a chip stock — it's a near-closed merger-arb. TI buys SLAB for $231 cash; HSR cleared and shareholders approved, only China SAMR left, ~6% gross spread to close in 1H2027. The trade is deal certainty, not IoT growth.
Silicon Labs is a fabless designer of secure, low-power wireless connectivity SoCs and modules purpose-built for the IoT — "RF from silicon to cloud". It sells analog-intensive, mixed-signal ICs built in standard CMOS (a deliberate low-cost, widely-available process choice) plus the software stacks, dev tools, and ecosystem support that let device makers ship connected products fast. The portfolio spans Bluetooth LE/Mesh, Zigbee, Thread, Matter, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, sub-GHz proprietary, and multiprotocol parts — ~1,200 products across wireless standards. Its current-generation Series 3 (SiMG301) platform extends the ultra-low-power SoC line with more compute, security and RF performance.
Two reporting segments, defined by end market:
Industrial & Commercial — industrial automation, smart metering, smart street lighting, Enterprise valueWhat it would cost to buy the whole company: its market value plus its debt, minus the cash you would get with it. Often very different from market cap. supply equipment, smart retail, commercial building IoT.
Home & Life — smart home (locks, thermostats), connected health/medical, consumer wearables, lighting.
Customer/channel structure: sells direct + through distributors and contract manufacturers, on individual purchase orders — no long-term volume contracts (so revenue is real-demand-driven, not a backlog annuity). Top-10 end customers = 25% of FY2025 revenue; no single customer >10% in FY2023/24/25 — genuinely diversified, low single-name concentration. Channel mix FY2025: Distributors $560.3M / Direct $224.4M.
Why it's being bought: SLAB is the merchant wireless-connectivity layer TI lacks. TI gets ~1,200 wireless products, the smart-home/industrial-IoT/smart-cities design-win base, and a chance to reshore SLAB's wafers from external foundries (TSMC/SMIC) onto TI's own 300mm fabs — the stated source of ~$450M annual synergies in 3 years.
Supply Chain
SLAB is fully fabless — the supply chain is its key operational dependency and, ironically, the core of TI's acquisition logic.
Wafer fabrication → assembly/test → distribution → end customer, with named stakeholders:
Foundries (chokepoint, dual-source-ish):TSMC (primary) and SMIC (China) manufacture the majority of wafers. Standard submicron CMOS — deliberately chosen because capacity is "readily available from leading foundry suppliers worldwide." The SMIC dependency is geopolitically live (US export-control surface) but reduces single-foundry risk.
Assembly/test: wafers ship directly to third-party assembly subcontractors, then to final test (same or other subcontractors) — outsourced OSAT, names not disclosed in the Form 10-KA company’s audited annual report to the US regulator. The most complete thing it publishes..
Channel: independent sales reps + distributors ($560M of $785M flows through distribution) + contract manufacturers who buy on behalf of named end customers.
End markets: industrial OEMs, smart-home brands, metering/utility, medical-device makers.
The chokepoint that defines the deal: SLAB owns no fabs. TI owns one of the largest internal analog fab footprints in the world (300mm, US-based). Post-close TI intends to migrate SLAB volume in-house — capturing foundry margin and de-risking supply. This is the single biggest "why TI / why now" in the whole file.
Competitive Advantages (moats)
Moat = analog/mixed-signal design talent + multiprotocol software + a deep embedded ecosystem + switching costs from design-in. SLAB's own framing: ICs that are smaller, more integrated, hit high-performance specs at lower price points, in standard CMOS so they ship fast. The durable edges:
Switching costs / design-in lock: once a wireless SoC is designed into a door lock or smart meter (years-long product cycle, certified RF, embedded firmware), swapping vendors means a costly redesign + re-certification. The 10-K explicitly names "the need for customers to redesign their products and modify their software" as a barrier — that barrier cuts both ways and protects the installed base.
Multiprotocol + software: a single part running Bluetooth + Zigbee + Thread + Matter, with the SDK and stack maintained by SLAB, is hard for a point-solution rival to match. The named competitive factors where SLAB claims to win: integration, size, software, IP.
Analog talent scarcity: the 10-K leans hard on the "analog design expertise takes years and is in short supply" argument — a real but slow-moving moat.
Bargaining power: weak-to-moderate. No long-term contracts and 75%+ through distribution means limited pricing power; the 10-K concedes ASPs decline as products mature. Against TSMC/SMIC (suppliers) SLAB is a small buyer with little leverage — precisely the leverage gap TI's owned fabs would close. Net: a real design-in/ecosystem moat at the customer layer; a structural cost/leverage disadvantage at the supply layer.
Segments
Revenue by product category, FY ends (in $000s):
Segment
FY2025 (ended 1/3/26)
FY2024
FY2023
Industrial & Commercial
$444,914
$338,528
$496,578
Home & Life
$339,850
$245,858
$285,680
Total
$784,764
$584,386
$782,258
Read: FY2025 total revenue $784.8M, +34.3% YoY — a sharp recovery off the FY2024 inventory-correction trough ($584.4M), back to ~FY2023 levels. Both segments accelerated: I&C +31.4%, Home & Life +38.2%. The FY2024 collapse was a channel-inventory destock (post-COVID over-ordering unwinding — FY2024 Q2 revenue was down ~40.6% YoY ); FY2025 is that cycle resetting up.
Geography, FY2025 (in $000s) — heavily ex-US:
Region
FY2025
FY2024
FY2023
United States
$68,524 (8.7%)
$56,493
$92,550
China
$257,103 (32.8%)
$188,169
$219,741
Taiwan
$130,547 (16.6%)
$77,430
$90,382
Rest of world
$328,590 (41.9%)
$262,294
$379,585
Important data conflict to surface: filings show China = ~33% of revenue by ship-to geography; the deal commentary cites "~15% of SLAB sales" from China. The gap is the classic ship-to (distributor/CM location) vs. end-demand distinction — wafers shipped to a Chinese distributor or CM may end up in products sold elsewhere. For the merger-arb thesis this matters: the actual China end-demand exposure is what SAMR will weigh, and the company-reported 33% ship-to is the conservative read. Either way, China is the gating regulator and a material revenue geography — the one real deal risk.
No segment-level operating income is broken out in the research layer (our figures empty); the company reports opex centrally. n/a — segment EBIT not disclosed.
Phase B — Measure performance
Earnings Result (latest print: Q1 FY2026, quarter ended April 4, 2026)
The most recent filing is the 10-Q for Q1 FY2026 (filed 2026-05-05) — the first quarter reported after the merger was signed:
Revenue $213.5M, +20.1% YoY (vs $177.7M in Q1 FY2025). I&C $128.0M (+33%), Home & Life $85.5M (+5%).
Gross margin 59.5%, up 450bps from 55.0% YoY — overhead leveraging over higher revenue.
Operating loss $(17.1)M, improved from $(32.1)M — but now polluted by merger costs: $11.2M of merger-related advisory/legal/accounting fees hit Q1 FY2026. Ex-merger-costs, operating loss would be ~$(5.9)M — close to GAAP breakeven.
Net loss $(15.9)M, EPS $(0.48) (vs $(0.94) prior-year quarter).
Balance sheet: AR $77.1M (33 DSO), inventory $103.2M (rising), operating cash flow only $4.9M (down sharply, dragged by merger fees + working-capital build).
FY2025 full-year context: Revenue $784.8M (+$200.4M YoY); gross margin 58.2% (up from 53.4%); operating loss $(70.5)M (vs $(165.5)M); net loss $(64.9)M, EPS $(1.98); operating cash flow +$95.7M; cash + STI $443.6M; AR $64.5M (28 DSO); inventory $95.6M (113 DOI). R&D $353.2M = 45.0% of revenue (down from 56.9% as revenue recovered); gross profit $457.0M.
The key tension: SLAB is GAAP-loss-making but operating-cash-flow positive — the losses are driven by 45%-of-revenue R&D + $80.3M SBC + intangible amortization, not Cash burnHow much more cash goes out than comes in, per period. The clock on a company with no profits.. On a recovering revenue line with margin leverage, the standalone business was on a credible path back to profitability — which is exactly the value TI is buying before it fully materializes. Market reaction is now decoupled from earnings: the stock tracks the $231 deal terms and the spread, not the print.
Earnings Calls (sentiment trend)
No transcripts on disk (transcripts/ empty); sentiment read from filings + dated web.
2024 (trough): management tone defensive but forward-leaning — CEO Matt Johnson repeatedly: "we expect revenue growth to continue... as excess inventory is further reduced, design wins continue ramping, and bookings improve". The recurring frame was inventory destock → bookings recovery → design-win ramp.
2025 (recovery): the destock language drops; revenue growth re-accelerates two consecutive years; gross margin climbs 53.4%→58.2%→59.5%. Tone shifts from "weathering the cycle" to "executing the recovery."
2026 (post-signing, the tell): the language that now dominates the filings is merger-process — "merger-related costs," "subject to regulatory approvals," "expected to close in the first half of 2027." Management has stopped selling a standalone growth story because there isn't one to sell anymore — there's a closing to execute. Sentiment is no longer the read; deal-process disclosure is.
Comps
The comps lens is largely moot for the position — SLAB's price is pinned to the $231 cash deal, so its own trading multiple (~212x forward earnings on ~$1.02 trailing-EPS-base ) is a deal artifact, not a market judgment of the business. It is shown for the standalone/deal-break downside only.
Company
Ticker
Mkt cap
EV/Sales
P/E (fwd)
Div yld
5Y avg ROE
Source
Silicon Labs
SLAB
~$7.2B (at ~$217)
~9x (EV $7.5B / ~$0.85B rev)
~212x (deal-pinned, meaningless)
0%
negative (GAAP losses)
Nordic Semiconductor
NOD.OL
~$4.0B
~4x
~108x
~0%
n/a
Texas Instruments (acquirer)
TXN
~$180B+
n/a
n/a
~3%
high (analog franchise)
Espressif
688018.SH
n/a
n/a
n/a
n/a
n/a
—
Infineon / NXP / Microchip / STM / Renesas
—
(large diversified analog/MCU)
n/a
n/a
—
—
—
Stock-Price Catalysts (5-year >5% moves)
The SLAB tape over 5 years is a clean three-act structure:
Nov 2021 — cycle peak ~$210 (all-time high $210.10 on 2021-11-16), riding the post-COVID semis super-cycle and the 2021 sale of its Infrastructure & Automotive business to Skyworks (which made SLAB a pure-play IoT name).
2022–2024 — the destock bear market. −34% in 2022 ($135.67 close), −2.5% in 2023, −6% in 2024 ($124.22 close). Driven almost entirely by the inventory correction — FY2024 Q2 revenue −40.6% YoY. Every >5% down-move in this window was demand/inventory/guidance-driven.
Feb 4, 2026 — the takeout. The single largest catalyst in the company's history: TI's $231 all-cash bid, a ~69% one-day premium, repriced the stock from a depressed ~$137 area to the deal floor. Subsequent >5% moves are gone — the stock now grinds in a tight band just under $231, moving only on deal-process news (HSR clearance May 22, shareholder vote April 30).
Pattern: for five years SLAB reacted to the inventory cycle and guidance; since February 2026 it reacts to one thing — deal-closing probability. That is the entire information content of the price today.
Phase C — Judge people & books
Management
CEO: Matt Johnson (President & CEO since Jan 2022; at SLAB since 2018, originally SVP/GM of IoT products).
Track record: prior senior GM roles at NXP, Freescale, Fairchild (automotive processing, mobile solutions). At SLAB he ran the IoT division through the 2021 pure-play pivot (post-Skyworks divestiture), then steered the company through the brutal 2022–24 destock and back to +34% growth in FY2025. Elected Chair of the Semiconductor Industry Association — sector statesman credibility.
Tenure & skin in the game: ~4 years as CEO, ~8 at the company. Insider ownership not sourced from the research layer (our figures absent) — n/a; but executive equity awards convert to cash at $231 in the merger, aligning management to closing the deal.
Capital allocation: disciplined and shareholder-returning when it had cash — $213M buyback in FY2023; $535M used to retire the 2025 convertible notes (June 2023); no buybacks FY2024/FY2025 as it preserved cash through the downturn. ROE/ROIC negative on GAAP losses, but that's the R&D-investment profile, not value destruction. The ultimate capital-allocation act — selling the company at a 69% premium near a cyclical low-to-mid point — is a strong outcome for holders.
Red flags: none material. No related-party issues, no promotional behavior, clean governance, board unanimous on the sale.
Archetype:professional operator/turnaround manager (not founder). Correct archetype for a sub-scale specialist deciding the best risk-adjusted outcome is to sell to a strategic with the fabs and balance sheet to capture the synergies SLAB can't capture alone.
Forensic Red Flags
Clean. Forensic scan across the statements:
Revenue recognition: standard product-sale rev-rec; distributor sales carry rights of return/price protection (normal for the channel), explicitly reserved; "impact of performance obligations satisfied in previous periods was insignificant." No channel-stuffing tells.
Cash flow vs. earnings: the right direction — operating cash flow ($95.7M FY2025) exceeds GAAP net loss because losses are non-cash (SBC $80.3M, D&A, deferred tax). This is a positive divergence, not a manipulation flag.
Receivables/inventory vs. revenue: AR 28 DSO (FY2025) → 33 DSO (Q1 FY2026) — modest rise, benign. Inventory the one watch item: $95.6M / 113 DOI at FY2025, rising to $103.2M in Q1 FY2026 — elevated days, a residue of the destock cycle, worth monitoring but not alarming on a recovering revenue line.
SBC flattering non-GAAP: $80.3M SBC (~10% of revenue) is the standard semis-design caveat — non-GAAP profitability leans on adding it back. Disclosed, not hidden.
Goodwill/intangibles: carries acquisition intangibles (amortization runs through COGS and opex); no impairment flagged.
Regulatory findings (required):
SEC Litigation Releases:none (EDGAR EFTS, LR, since 2021-06-20).
AAERs:none.
10-K Item 3 / Note 11 Legal Proceedings:"involved in various legal proceedings that have arisen in the normal course of business... does not expect them to have a material adverse effect" — boilerplate, no named material litigation.
Non-SEC (FTC/DOJ/FDA/etc.) web search: no material enforcement actions found.
Conclusion:No material regulatory, accounting, or legal findings — verified via SEC EDGAR EFTS (LR, AAER), web search, and 10-K Item 3/Note 11 as of 2026-06-20. The only live regulatory matter is the merger antitrust/FDI review (HSR cleared; China SAMR pending) — covered in the framing note and Lens 12/13.
Phase D — Project & stress-test
Forward Projection
The standalone EPS model is secondary to the deal payoff — but it's the deal-break downside, so build it. Anchored on FY2025 actuals + the Q1 FY2026 trajectory:
R&D + SG&A ~$500M (FY2025 $527M, modest leverage, ex-merger-costs) → operating income roughly breakeven to slightly positive.
Net of interest income (~$15M on $440M cash) and tax → GAAP near-breakeven; non-GAAP EPS $1.50–$2.50**. Consensus cited: **$0.64 FY2026 / ~$2.14 FY2027 — the lower FY2026 reflects merger costs in the GAAP line.
Scenario
FY2026E rev
FY2027E rev
FY2028E non-GAAP EPS
Driver
Bull
$900M
$1,030M
~$4.00+
Full cycle re-acceleration + margin to 60%+; this is roughly the path into which TI is buying
Base
$880M
$980M
~$2.75
Steady recovery, 59–60% GM, opex leverage
Bear (deal-break)
$820M
$850M
~$1.50
Cycle stalls; stock de-rates to standalone ~$120–$150 (pre-deal trading range) — the real downside
The number that actually matters is not EPS — it's the spread payoff: buy ~$217, receive $231 at close = +6.4% gross / ~+6–8% annualized over a ~9–12 month close (1H 2027), plus the asymmetric downside protection (TI's $499M reverse breakup fee if regulators block it). Deal-break downside ≈ −35% to −45% (back to ~$120–$150 standalone). Risk-adjusted, with two of three gates already cleared, the probability-weighted return is attractive for an arb sleeve.
Brier forecast (logged conceptually; not creating our model in --watchlist): "SLAB/TI merger closes at $231 on or before 2027-09-30, p = 0.90" — rationale: HSR cleared + shareholder-approved + no financing contingency + asymmetric TI reverse fee; only residual risk is China SAMR in a tense US-China semis environment.
Bull vs Bear
Bull case (the arb): The deal is ~90% to close. It's all-cash (no financing/stock risk), unanimous boards, shareholders already approved (Apr 30), US HSR already cleared (May 22), fragmented-IoT-semis market means low substantive antitrust concern, and TI carries a $499M reverse breakup fee — i.e. TI is contractually motivated and financially exposed to getting it done. The strategic logic is airtight (reshore wafers to TI fabs, $450M synergies), so TI has no incentive to walk. Capture $231 for ~$217 with a hard cash floor.
Bear case (3 ways it permanently impairs the trade):
China SAMR blocks or slow-walks it. This is the risk. US-China semiconductor tension makes a Chinese regulator a plausible veto/leverage point on a US-US deal with material China revenue. A SAMR rejection (or an extract-concessions delay past the outside date) drops SLAB back to ~$120–$150 → −35–45%.
Outside-date / MAE friction. A deep cyclical downturn before close could theoretically trip a Material Adverse Effect argument — but MAE clauses are notoriously hard to invoke and cyclicality is usually carved out, so this is low-probability.
Standalone de-rate on a break. If the deal dies for any reason, you own a GAAP-lossmaking, sub-scale, China-exposed wireless chipmaker at a still-elevated price → mean-reversion to the pre-deal range.
Pre-mortem (18 months out, thesis broke): It's late 2027, the deal didn't close — China SAMR demanded behavioral/structural remedies TI wouldn't accept, or simply ran the clock past the outside date amid a US-China export-control escalation. TI paid the $499M reverse fee; SLAB is back trading ~$135, and the arbs who bought at $217 took a ~38% loss. The entire bear case routes through Beijing.
Are multiples too high? Irrelevant for the position — the price is the deal terms, not a multiple. If the deal breaks, yes, ~212x forward / ~9x EV-sales is far too high for the standalone and it de-rates hard.
Contrarian view — what the market refuses to see: the spread (~6%) looks "too tight to bother" to generalist investors who assume any cross-border-sensitive semis deal is China-risk roulette. But the market may be over-discounting SAMR risk on what is fundamentally a US-domestic deal in a fragmented market — if China clears routinely (as most non-strategic semis deals do), the realized annualized return on a near-certain close is a clean high-single-digit with hard downside protection. Conversely, the contrarian bear read: the tight spread is complacent given how often Beijing now uses merger review as US-China leverage — the ~6% may not compensate for a fat-tailed −40% block scenario.
Devil's Advocate (short-seller)
Dismantling the (arb) bull case:
The whole thesis is one regulator. Strip away HSR and the shareholder vote (both done, both easy) and 100% of the residual risk sits with China SAMR — an opaque, politically-instrumentalized body reviewing a US acquirer buying a US target with ~33% China ship-to revenue, mid-US-China-chip-war. That is exactly the kind of deal Beijing has slow-walked or blocked for leverage before. The 6% spread is not obviously enough for that tail.
Revenue concentration shifts the wrong way: SLAB's largest geography is China (~33% ship-to). If China demands divestitures or behavioral remedies as the price of clearance, the deal economics or timeline degrade.
Standalone, the short is easy: GAAP-lossmaking, no pricing power (ASPs decline with maturity, 75% through distribution), fab-dependent on TSMC and SMIC (export-control exposed), inventory days still elevated (113 DOI), 45%-of-revenue R&D it can't easily cut. Absent the bid, this is a sub-scale specialist with a structural cost disadvantage — fair value well below $217.
Worst capital-allocation read (steelman): none egregious — but a skeptic notes management is selling the cyclical recovery to TI right as fundamentals inflect up, arguably leaving upside on the table for a certain-but-capped $231.
What must hold for $217: China SAMR clears (with no deal-killing remedies) before the outside date. That's the single load-bearing assumption.
Single permanent-impairment scenario: SAMR block + US-China escalation → standalone de-rate. Plausibility: low-to-moderate (~10%) — non-trivial, which is why this is a position-sized arb, not an all-in.
Management Questions (ordered by information value)
What is the current status and expected timeline of China SAMR review, and have you received any second-request-equivalent or remedy signals? (The whole thesis.)
What are the specific remaining regulatory/FDI clearances beyond China, and the outside (drop-dead) date in the merger agreement?
Under what precise conditions does TI owe the $499M reverse termination fee, and does it cover a China-regulatory failure-to-close?
What is your true China end-demand exposure (vs. the ~33% ship-to geography) that regulators will actually assess?
If the deal breaks, what is the standalone capital-allocation plan (buybacks, the $440M cash, R&D pacing)?
What is the realistic standalone path to GAAP profitability and on what revenue level does operating leverage flip positive?
How exposed is the wafer supply (TSMC/SMIC) to US export controls, and what is the second-source contingency?
What portion of the $450M TI synergy target depends on reshoring SLAB wafers to TI fabs, and what's the qualification timeline/risk?
How "sticky" is the design-win base — what's the average product lifecycle and re-design switching cost for your top industrial/smart-home sockets?
Where are you in the inventory normalization (113 DOI) — is the elevated level cycle-residue or demand softening?
What is the Series 3 (SiMG301) ramp trajectory and its margin profile vs. Series 2?
How concentrated is revenue within the top-10 (25% of total) — any single socket approaching the 10% line?
What are management/employee retention terms through close, and key-talent risk if the deal slips into 2H 2027?
How do you see Matter/Thread adoption changing the competitive dynamic vs. Espressif, Nordic, and Qualcomm over the next 3 years?
What's the contingency if macro/tariff conditions deteriorate before close — any MAE exposure?