
- Beat
- energy
- Researched · Fresh
- 109 days ago
The most physically elegant fusion bet per dollar — a no-magnet, no-laser Z-pinch ~9x more capital-efficient than the tokamak leaders — but the April-2026 fission pivot is the tell: Zap is now a near-term fission-revenue company wearing a fusion halo. Underwrite the falsifiable milestones (independently-verified Q≥1 at ~650 kA; a signed 4S/fission milestone contract), not the 2030s grid dream. WATCHING · MEDIUM.
5 mentions across our dossiers
“Helion $1.5B FRC / pulsed Series G $465M @ $15.5B val; Microsoft PPA target 2028”Microsoft · TRADE · from Zap Energy’s dossier
The Zap Energy dossier
The verdict
The most physically elegant fusion bet per dollar — a no-magnet, no-laser Z-pinch ~9x more capital-efficient than the tokamak leaders — but the April-2026 fission pivot is the tell: Zap is now a near-term fission-revenue company wearing a fusion halo. Underwrite the falsifiable milestones (independently-verified Q≥1 at ~650 kA; a signed 4S/fission milestone contract), not the 2030s grid dream. WATCHING · MEDIUM.
Phase A — Understand the business
Company Overview
Zap Energy is a Seattle-founded (2017) private fusion developer commercializing the sheared-flow-stabilized (SFS) Z-pinch — a fusion concept that confines and compresses plasma using only the plasma's own axial electric current and the magnetic field that current generates, with a sheared axial flow suppressing the instabilities that killed classical Z-pinches. The one-sentence business: build a fusion core with no superconducting magnets and no high-power lasers, so the machine is "garage-sized," cheap, and mass-manufacturable rather than a stadium-scale tokamak.
- Founded: 2017, Seattle WA; labs in Everett + Mukilteo WA.
- Headcount: ~150 (2025).
- Status: private; World Economic Forum "Technology Unicorn" (>$1B) June 2023; no S-1, no IPO filed.
- The April-2026 redefinition (the single most important fact in this dossier): Zap declared itself the first "fission-fusion" company, adding a near-term nuclear-fission product line alongside the long-horizon fusion program, and installed a fission/defense-native CEO to run deployment. It now sells two products on two timelines: fission for revenue this decade, fusion for the moonshot.
Products/assets (all pre-revenue R&D devices; the "products" are milestones, not SKUs):
- FuZE / FuZE-Q / FuZE-3 — the physics line, chasing scientific breakeven (Q>1).
- Century — the engineering line: an integrated power-plant test platform proving repetitive pulsed power, flowing liquid-metal walls, and electrode survival.
- Fission reactor — to be based on the Toshiba/CRIEPI 4S ("Super-Safe, Small & Simple") sodium-cooled fast micro-reactor design.
Customers today: effectively the U.S. government (DOE Milestone program; targeted DoD/DOE fission programs) and, prospectively, power-hungry AI/data-center buyers who would pre-reserve capacity. No commercial customers, no revenue disclosed. Contract structure to date is non-dilutive, milestone-gated federal cost-share (see Lens 9).
Supply Chain
Map (upstream inputs → Zap → end use), named where public:
- Physics IP origin: University of Washington (Uri Shumlak's group) + Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL), which provided the independent 2021 neutron validation.
- Pulsed-power hardware: Zap vertically integrated a key input by acquiring the liquidated assets of pulsed-power manufacturer ICAR (June 2023) to build its own high-voltage capacitor/switch stacks in-house — a deliberate de-risking of the single most specialized supply input. This is the standout supply-chain move: pulsed-power components (capacitors, spark-gap/solid-state switches) are the scarce, long-lead item for any Z-pinch, and owning the line is a genuine chokepoint hedge.
- Electrodes / plasma-facing materials: graphite and liquid-metal-tipped cathodes — the erosion-limited consumable at the heart of the engineering risk (Lens 3/13). Liquid-metal wall + cathode systems are the mitigation Century exists to prove.
- Fuel: deuterium (D-D) today; deuterium-tritium (D-T) for a commercial plant → tritium supply + breeding is an industry-wide chokepoint Zap has not publicly solved.
- Fission leg: the 4S design is Toshiba + CRIEPI (Japan) IP — Zap does not own it outright; sodium-fast-reactor fuel + liquid-sodium systems are a separate, specialized supply chain with its own single-source Japanese heritage.
Chokepoints: (1) pulsed-power components — partially internalized via ICAR; (2) durable high-duty-cycle electrodes — unsolved, active R&D; (3) tritium — unsolved, sector-wide; (4) 4S licensing/fuel — externally owned, never US-deployed. Names present → lens satisfied; but the D-T fuel cycle and 4S fuel supply are the two thin spots.
Competitive Advantages (moats)
The Zap thesis is a cost/complexity moat, not a performance moat:
- No magnets, no lasers. Every dollar not spent on high-temperature-superconducting (HTS) magnets (Commonwealth Fusion) or a National-Ignition-Facility-class laser bay (Pacific Fusion, Xcimer, laser ICF names) is the entire pitch. Zap has reached >1 keV, gigapascal-class plasma "in systems that are a fraction of the size and cost of fusion devices of comparable performance" (VP Ben Levitt). The moat is capital efficiency per unit of scientific progress (see Lens 7 comps: ~$327M raised vs CFS's ~$3B ).
- Manufacturability / scalability. A small core is a mass-produced unit, not a megaproject — the Felix-Dennis-of-fusion argument that many cheap machines beat one heroic one.
- Foundational IP + institutional pedigree. Two-plus decades of SFS Z-pinch work at UW (ZaP → ZaP-HD → FuZE), LLNL collaboration, and peer-reviewed physics (APS DPP, Physics of Plasmas, Fusion Science & Technology) give the moat a real scientific base rather than a pitch deck.
- Bargaining power: low today — Zap needs government validation and capital far more than counterparties need Zap. The DOE Milestone stamp is used explicitly as a fundraising catalyst (Lens 9), i.e. Zap is the supplicant.
Durability test: the moat holds only if the SFS concept actually scales to Q>1 at the modest ~650 kA currents the modeling promises. If it needs 2–3x more current/energy than modeled, the "cheap and small" moat evaporates and Zap becomes a smaller, worse-funded tokamak competitor. The moat is conditional on physics not yet demonstrated.
Segments (+private → business lines, not revenue segments)
No revenue → no reportable segments. The company splits into three internal programs, now spanning two nuclear technologies:
| Program | What it proves | Status | Revenue timeline |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fusion — physics (FuZE-Q/FuZE-3) | Scientific breakeven Q>1 | Pre-breakeven; 1.6 GPa pressure Nov 2025 | 2030s (moonshot) |
| Fusion — engineering (Century) | Rep-rate, liquid-metal walls, electrode life | 0.2 Hz, 39 kW, DOE-certified | 2030s |
| Fission (4S-based micro-reactor) | Deployable baseload power | Newly announced Apr 2026 | "within a year" (revenue); market early-2030s |
The mix shift is the story: for eight years Zap was 100% fusion; as of April 2026 the near-term commercial weight moved to fission, which management frames as a bridge that funds the fusion endgame. Read generously, that is disciplined revenue-sequencing; read critically (Lens 13), it is a fusion-timeline slip dressed as strategy.
Phase B — Measure performance (+private overlay)
Funding & Valuation Trajectory (swaps "Earnings Result")
| Round | Date | Amount | Lead / notable investors |
|---|---|---|---|
| Series A | Jul 2020 | $6.5M | — |
| Series B | May 2021 | $27.5M | Addition; Energy Impact Partners; Chevron Technology Ventures; Lowercarbon Capital |
| Series C | Jun 2022 | ~$160M | Lowercarbon; Breakthrough Energy Ventures; Shell; Valor; DCVC; EIP; Chevron |
| Series D | Oct 2024 | $130M | Soros Fund Management (lead); Emerson Collective (Laurene Powell Jobs) |
| Non-dilutive | May 2023 | $5M (of $46M/8-co pool) | DOE Milestone-Based Fusion Development Program |
- Total raised: ~$323–338M — sources disagree on the exact figure (Wikipedia $323.5M; TechCrunch Jun-2026 $327M; Crunchbase ~$330M; energystartups $337.8M). Conflict surfaced, not silently resolved: the spread is the Series D exact size + whether SAFEs/grants are counted. Treat as ~$330M.
- Valuation: last public marker is >$1B (WEF unicorn, Jun 2023), before the Oct-2024 Series D. No post-money has been disclosed since. A flat-to-up Series D would imply ~$1.2–1.5B. Honest answer: n/a — post-2023 valuation not sourced.
- Burn signal: ~150 staff + heavy pulsed-power hardware.. This is a rough arithmetic estimate, not disclosed — but it frames why "fission revenue within a year" matters: the pivot is also a runway story.
Founder / Management Comms (sentiment trend) (+private → interviews/PR, not earnings calls)
No earnings calls exist. Tracking the public-communications tone across 2022→2026:
- 2022–2024 (Conway/Shumlak era): pure-play fusion optimism — "garage-sized reactors," breakeven-device first plasmas, race-to-Q>1 framing.
- 2025 (engineering proof era): tone shifts from "will it fuse" to "can we run it repeatedly" — Century, liquid metal, "lightning 12 times per minute," electrode durability. This is a maturation tell: the hard problem publicly reframed from physics to engineering duty-cycle.
- April 2026 (Johal era): decisive rhetorical break — "an integrated nuclear future: fission today, fusion tomorrow" and "revenue within a year". The vocabulary the company stopped using is telling: less "breakeven soon," more "baseload," "deployment," "milestone payments." Sentiment moved from scientific triumphalism to commercial pragmatism under AI-demand cover.
Cap Table & Peer Comps (+private → syndicate quality + funding-scale comps)
Syndicate quality (an IPO-proximity / conviction tell): climate-tier VCs (Lowercarbon, Breakthrough Energy Ventures, DCVC, Energy Impact Partners), strategic energy majors (Shell, Chevron), and — critically — crossover/marquee capital in the Series D (Soros Fund Management, Emerson Collective). Strategic-major + crossover presence is a genuine quality signal; the absence of a classic pre-IPO crossover mutual fund (Fidelity/T. Rowe) is consistent with "unicorn, but not IPO-imminent."
Funding-scale comps (private fusion, multiples are n/a — none are public; the scoreboard is capital raised):
| Company | Total raised | Approach | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Commonwealth Fusion (CFS) | ~$3.0B | Tokamak + HTS magnets | Sector leader; ~a third of all private fusion capital |
| TAE Technologies | $1.79B | Field-reversed config | Merging w/ Trump Media, ~$6B val |
| Helion | $1.5B | FRC / pulsed | Series G $465M @ $15.5B val; Microsoft PPA target 2028 |
| Pacific Fusion | >$1.0B (Series A) | Inertial / EM pulse | Milestone-gated mega-Series-A |
| Shine | $1.0B | Neutrons/isotopes → fusion | Revenue-first model |
| General Fusion | $612M | Magnetized target | Cash strain 2025; SPAC route |
| Tokamak Energy | $336M | Spherical tokamak | Supplies STEP magnets |
| Zap Energy | ~$327–330M | SFS Z-pinch (no magnets/lasers) | Mid-tier; ~9x < CFS |
| Type One | $269M | Stellarator | — |
| Marvel | $162M | Laser ICF | — |
| First Light | $108M | Projectile ICF | Pivoted to licensing |
Read: Zap is a credible mid-tier — roughly at Tokamak Energy's scale, an order of magnitude below the CFS/Helion/TAE leaders. Its whole differentiation is that $327M has to buy what rivals spend billions on. If capital efficiency is real, mid-tier funding is fine; if it isn't, Zap is under-capitalized for a magnet-or-laser fallback. Note Helion's $15.5B mark and TAE's SPAC-via-Trump-Media route show the sector's late-stage capital is concentrating in the leaders — a financing-risk backdrop for everyone below the top tier.
Perception Catalysts (funding/product/strategy events that moved the narrative) (+private → no stock, so narrative inflections)
Events that materially moved Zap's standing (no ticker; these are reputational/valuation inflections):
- Jun 2022 — FuZE-Q first plasmas + Series C: put Zap on the fusion map.
- May–Jun 2023 — DOE Milestone award + WEF unicorn + ICAR asset buy: institutional validation trifecta.
- Feb 2025 — LLNL-corroborated neutron isotropy result (evidence the neutrons are thermonuclear, not beam-target artifacts): a real physics-credibility marker that answered a standing skeptic critique of Z-pinches.
- Nov 2025 — FuZE-3 gigapascal pressure (830 MPa electron / ~1.6 GPa total): highest ever in an SFS Z-pinch.
- Mar 2026 — TIME/Statista Top GreenTech #16, highest-ranked fusion company.
- Apr 2026 — fission-fusion pivot + Zabrina Johal CEO: the single biggest strategic inflection — reframes the entire investment case from "when Q>1" to "fission revenue now".
Pattern: the market rewards independently-validated physics milestones (LLNL neutron work, gigapascal pressure) and institutional stamps (DOE, WEF). It has not yet had to price a commercial failure — because there's no commercial product to fail. The fission pivot is the first time perception hinges on execution/deployment rather than pure physics.
+private — Traction & unit economics: none disclosed. No ARR, no logos, no delivered energy sales. Century's "39 kW" is test-rig thermal-handling output, not net electricity. Unit economics are n/a — private, not disclosed and pre-product on both legs.
Phase C — Judge people & books
Management
- Zabrina Johal — CEO (Apr 2026). The pivot personified. Began as a U.S. Navy nuclear-propulsion officer/engineer; 18 years at General Atomics leading strategic development for its nuclear + defense portfolios; then AtkinsRéalis (Montreal nuclear engineering). This is a deployment/defense/fission operator, not a plasma physicist — an unambiguous signal that Zap's near-term center of gravity is government fission contracts and reactor deployment, not fusion science. Strong hire for the fission strategy; a tell about where revenue is expected.
- Benj Conway — Co-founder, President (was CEO). Non-technical founder: ex-British diplomat (Foreign & Commonwealth Office), medicine at Cambridge/Oxford, award-winning restaurateur, founder of InFrontier (frontier-markets PE). A capital-raiser/operator archetype — effective at building the company and syndicate, not a physics authority. His step-aside to President is an orderly founder-to-professional-CEO transition, common at the deployment stage.
- Uri Shumlak — Co-founder, Chief Science Officer. UW Professor of Aeronautics & Astronautics; originator of the SFS Z-pinch concept — the scientific soul of the company, deep credibility, decades of peer-reviewed work.
- Brian A. Nelson — Co-founder, CTO. Ex-UW research professor, 35+ years plasma physics.
Capital allocation: disciplined for a pre-revenue deep-tech — internalized pulsed-power manufacturing (ICAR), leaned hard on non-dilutive DOE cost-share to stretch equity, and staged Century (engineering) in parallel with FuZE (physics) rather than betting everything on breakeven-first. Skin in the game: founder-led with co-founders still in C-suite roles — good alignment; exact insider ownership n/a — private, not disclosed. Archetype: founder-scientist core (Shumlak/Nelson) + capital-operator founder (Conway), now topped by a professional deployment CEO (Johal) — the right shape for a company pivoting from lab to government-contract revenue, provided the science founders retain authority over the fusion endgame.
Forensic Red Flags + Regulatory
No audited financials exist — classic forensic-accounting analysis is not applicable (private, no filings). Reframed for a private deep-tech:
- Milestone-selectivity risk: private fusion PR emphasizes best-shot peak parameters (e.g. "1.6 GPa … sustained ~1 microsecond," "39 kW") — legitimate physics, but peak, transient, single-metric figures that don't equal sustained net performance. Not fraud; a bias to watch.
- Two-metric substitution: watch for the company leaning on the fission narrative and TIME/greentech rankings when fusion Q-progress is slow. The April-2026 pivot conveniently shifts the scoreboard from an unmet physics milestone (Q>1) to a fundable commercial one (fission revenue) — a narrative-management pattern worth flagging, not condemning.
- Regulatory (from
regulatory/regulatory-findings.md): 0 SEC findings — Zap has no CIK, is private, and is not required to file. No SEC Litigation Releases or AAERs are searchable. - Non-SEC web sweep (
"Zap Energy" (FTC/DOJ/FDA/consent decree/settlement/fine/penalty)): no material enforcement actions surfaced. - New regulatory exposure from the fission leg: entering fission means NRC licensing — and the 4S design has never completed U.S. licensing or been deployed anywhere despite decades of Japanese R&D. That is a material, forward regulatory risk Zap has voluntarily taken on.
Finding: No material regulatory or legal findings — verified via SEC EDGAR EFTS (no CIK), web enforcement search, and the absence of any public litigation, as of 2026-07-10. The real "red flag" is prospective, not historical: an unlicensed, never-deployed fission design as the near-term revenue engine.
Phase D — Project & stress-test
IPO-Readiness & Path-to-Tradeable (+private → swaps EPS projection)
There is no EPS to project (pre-revenue) and no rNPVWhat a drug might eventually be worth, multiplied by the odds it ever gets approved. A way of pricing a lottery ticket rather than a business. that isn't fiction at this stage. The lens that matters: what unlocks a tradeable security, and when?
- Current stage: late-Series-D unicorn, not IPO-ready. No S-1, no disclosed post-2023 valuation, pre-revenue on both legs.
- Milestones that would unlock an S-1 / late-stage crossover round:
- A signed, funded fission milestone contract (DoD/DOE or a data-center capacity reservation) — management's own "revenue within a year" claim; the nearest catalyst and the one most likely to be real. This is the be-early trigger.
- Independently-validated Q≥1 (scientific breakeven) at ~650 kA — the fusion prize; modeling says achievable, no date committed.
- A crossover-fund-led up round (Fidelity/T. Rowe/Coatue) at a disclosed mark — the classic IPO-proximity tell, not yet present.
- Estimated window: fission revenue 2027; fission product to market and a plausible IPO conversation early-2030s, contingent on the 4S clearing NRC. Fusion grid electricity "early 2030s" is the industry-standard aspiration and should be discounted heavily.
- Write-back: no
private-watch.jsonentry exists for zap-energy; this dossier is the first structured IPO-readiness read on the shelf. (Per wave boundaries, not editing that file in this unattended run — flag for the privates ledger: stage = late-Series-D unicorn, readiness = LOW/2030s, catalyst = first fission milestone contract 2027.)
No Brier forecast logged (per --watchlist rule + task constraint: no our model create). The scoreable claim, when logged later, should be binary on the near catalyst — e.g. "Zap Energy books first fission-program revenue by 2026-12-31."
Bull vs Bear
Bull. Zap owns the cheapest credible path to fusion. No magnets, no lasers means an order-of-magnitude less capital and a manufacturable core — and the physics is advancing on independently-corroborated markers (thermonuclear neutron isotropy, gigapascal pressure). The April-2026 fission pivot converts a pure moonshot into a funded, revenue-bearing company riding the largest energy-demand wave in a generation (AI baseload), with a defense/fission CEO who can actually win government contracts. If SFS scales to Q>1 near the modeled ~650 kA, Zap becomes the low-cost producer in a trillion-dollar market while self-funding via fission. Non-dilutive DOE validation de-risks each raise.
Bear (2–3 permanent-impairment risks). (1) The physics doesn't scale cheaply. If Q>1 needs materially more current/energy than modeling promises, the entire cost moat — the only moat — collapses and Zap is a subscale, underfunded also-ran versus CFS/Helion. (2) The rep-rate / electrode wall. A power plant needs ~50–100x Zap's current 0.2 Hz shot rate, sustained for months, with electrodes that today erode under high current. That is an unsolved engineering regime, not a funding problem. (3) The fission pivot is a tell. Reviving a never-U.S.-licensed 4S design as your near-term revenue engine, and hiring a fission CEO, is what a company does when fusion revenue is further away than the last pitch implied.
Pre-mortem (18 months out, thesis broke): FuZE-3's successor plateaus well short of Q>1; the "revenue within a year" fission contracts slip on NRC pre-licensing reality; the leaders (CFS/Helion) hit their milestones and vacuum up the late-stage capital, leaving Zap to raise a flat/down round or lean entirely on government cost-share. The company survives as a DOE-funded R&D shop — not the outcome the unicorn mark implies.
Multiples too high? n/a — no public mark to test; the >$1B (2023) unicorn tag is stale and pre-pivot.
Contrarian view (what the market refuses to see): the crowd treats the fission pivot as dilution of focus / an admission of defeat. The sharper read is the opposite — it's the most commercially rational thing any private fusion company has done: fission gives Zap a real P&L and NRC/deployment muscle years before fusion could, and that revenue is what buys the shots on Q>1. The risk isn't that Zap added fission; it's that the 4S specifically is an old, unlicensed design and the execution is unproven.
Devil's Advocate (short-seller)
Dismantling the bull case:
- Revenue is 100% concentrated in the U.S. government (DOE cost-share today; DoD/DOE fission tomorrow). One appropriations cycle or program cancellation and the "revenue within a year" story is gone. That is not diversified traction — it's a single political counterparty.
- The moat is a hypothesis, not a fact. "Cheaper because no magnets" only matters if the cheap machine reaches net gain. No SFS Z-pinch — Zap's or anyone's — has shown Q≥1. The bull case rests entirely on a scaling extrapolation from ~1-microsecond, single-shot peak-pressure data.
- Most dangerous competitor bulls underrate: Helion. Also magnet-light-ish, far better capitalized ($1.5B, $15.5B mark), with a contracted Microsoft offtake and a 2028 electricity target. If Helion delivers anything on that timeline, it defines "capital-efficient pulsed fusion" and strands Zap's differentiation.
- The fission bet imports a whole new failure surface. Zap has zero reactor-licensing track record and is reviving a design (4S) that Toshiba/CRIEPI could not get deployed in ~20 years. "Revenue within a year" from an unlicensed fast reactor is an aggressive claim; realistic first cash is likely paper study / milestone money, not deployment revenue.
- Capital-allocation risk: splitting a ~150-person, ~$330M-total company across two nuclear technologies risks doing neither at leader scale — the classic deep-tech focus-dilution trap.
- What breaks it permanently: the ~650 kA breakeven modeling proves optimistic by 2–3x (plausible — every fusion program in history has under-estimated the gap), and the leaders soak up late-stage capital. Then Zap can't fund the harder machine and is capped as a government R&D contractor. Plausibility: moderate-to-high on the physics slip; that's the base rate for fusion.
15 Management Questions (ordered by information value)
- What pinch current, plasma pressure, and confinement time does your model say Q=1 requires — and how far is FuZE-3's 1.6 GPa / ~1 µs from that, quantitatively?
- Give a date (or the specific gate) for a scientifically-independent Q≥1 demonstration. If you won't, what's the blocker?
- "Revenue within a year" from fission — is that a signed contract, a milestone/study award, or a reservation? Name the counterparty type and dollar range.
- Why the 4S specifically, given it has never completed U.S. NRC licensing? What's your realistic licensing timeline and cost, and who funds it?
- What is your current monthly burn and cash runway, and how much of the fission program is self-funded vs. government cost-share?
- Century runs at 0.2 Hz. Walk me through the concrete path to the ~10+ Hz, months-long duty cycle a plant needs — and the electrode-life data behind it.
- How does splitting ~150 people across fission and fusion not slow both? Show me the org/resource split.
- What insider/founder ownership remains post-Series-D, and what governance protects the fusion science mission under a fission/defense CEO?
- Helion has $1.5B and a Microsoft offtake for 2028. What do you do that they can't, and why won't they strand your cost moat?
- What is the tritium supply-and-breeding plan for a D-T plant, and what does it add to unit cost?
- What was the Series D post-money, and why hasn't a crossover fund led a round yet?
- Which prior public parameter forecasts did you miss, and what did that teach you about your scaling model?
- What single experimental result in the next 12 months would most change your own confidence — up or down?
- If fusion Q>1 slips past 2032, what is the standalone equity value of the fission business — and would you spin it out?
- What would make you abandon SFS Z-pinch entirely?
The research around Zap Energy
Covered in the Knowledge Base
Energy & Power
Others in energy
5 namesWhere Zap Energy sits against the other names we cover on this beat. Each line is that company’s verdict, not a summary of it.
Constellation Energy
CEGEarnings went up and the stock went nowhere.
Cash $697M
First Solar
FSLRThe subsidy thesis just got a second leg — a $0.38/W federal module price floor from the Aug 6 Section 232 proclamation now sits ABOVE First Solar's o…
Cash $1.7B
Nextpower (ex-Nextracker)
NXTThe franchise got stronger and the price got cheaper
Cash $1.2B
nVent Electric
NVTThe order line decelerated and the backlog shrank
Cash $256M
Southern Company
SOThe two mechanical bear points got repaired
Cash $3.0B